BEST INVESTING TOOLS COMPARISON

Checking

Checked September 24, 2026

Tool Comparison

AmiBroker vs Optuma

Paid from
—
Free plan
No
Platforms
Desktop

Best if

  • You want monte carlo, risk metrics, and alerts.
  • You trade often and need tooling built for speed
Paid from
$810/yr, billed annually
Free plan
No
Platforms
Desktop

Best if

  • You want stock comparison, ETF comparison, and watchlist.

Pick AmiBroker if

AmiBroker logo logo placeholder

AmiBroker

amibroker.com

One-time · Desktop

  • You want monte carlo, risk metrics, and alerts.
  • You trade often and need tooling built for speed

Pick Optuma if

Optuma logo

Optuma

optuma.com

From $810/yr, billed annually · Desktop

  • You want stock comparison, ETF comparison, and watchlist.

Skip both if: Neither one clicks with how you research; there are strong third options.

See alternatives

Other tools you might like

Outbound links may include affiliate or sponsor codes.

Not set on either one? See the top 50 tools, ranked by user votes, or the deals page for big discounts on popular tools.

Our take

The bottom line

AmiBroker and Optuma cover a lot of the same ground (5 shared categories, including data visualizations, screeners, and backtesting), so for the basics you won't go far wrong with either. AmiBroker includes monte carlo and risk metrics, and Optuma includes stock comparison and ETF comparison.

What readers say

AmiBroker

No votes yet. Cast the first one.

Optuma

No votes yet. Cast the first one.

Key differences at a glance

Asset coverage
OptumaAdds ETFs and commodities
Broker sync
AmiBroker
See the full side-by-side table
AmiBroker logo logo placeholder

What AmiBroker does best

  1. Charts support indicators, drawing tools, multiple time frames, and configurable bar intervals.
  2. AFL scripting to create custom indicators, explorations, trading systems, scans, and portfolio backtests.
  3. Portfolio backtests support position sizing, account constraints, equity and drawdown charts, custom reports, and custom procedures.
  4. Validation tools include optimization, walk-forward testing, and Monte Carlo simulation.
  5. Scans and explorations filter the local database and export results to CSV.
Optuma logo

What Optuma does best

  1. Build static or animated RRGs for securities, indices, asset classes, custom lists, and portfolios.
  2. Change tail length, comparison index, history, and daily, weekly, or monthly timeframes in RRG Lite.
  3. Use price-weighted, cap-weighted, selected-index, or fixed annual-return comparisons.
  4. Higher service levels add one-minute intraday and Forex RRGs, scripting, filters, scans, quantitative tests, and quadrant-colored bars.
  5. Connect a real-time provider for live intraday RRGs or use included and optional end-of-day market data.

Side by side

Pricing & plans
Starting price
One-time
From $810/yr, billed annually
Free tier
No
No
Free trial
30 days
14 days
Platforms & access
Web app
No
No
Desktop app
Yes
Yes
Mobile app
No
No
API access
No
No
Broker sync
Yes
No
Integrations
Interactive Brokers, IQFeed +5 more
Bloomberg
Coverage & data
Asset types
StocksFuturesMutual FundsCurrencies
StocksETFsMutual FundsCurrenciesCommoditiesFuturesCryptosOther
Target audience
Retail TradersPro RetailDay TradersSwing TradersAlgo TradersQuants/Developers
Pro RetailAnalystsQuants/DevelopersAsset ManagersHedge Funds
Data freshness
End of DayStreaming
Real-timeEnd of Day
Data granularity
EODMinuteSecondTick
MinuteEOD
Export formats
CSV
ImagePDF

Pricing comparison

Entry paid plan
$299 once“Standard Edition”
$810/yrBilled annually≈ $67.50/mo“Optuma Trader”
Tier 2
$379 once“Professional Edition”
$1350/yrBilled annually≈ $112.50/mo“Optuma Professional”
Top plan
$499 once“Ultimate Pack Pro”
$2592/yrBilled annually≈ $216/mo“Optuma Enterprise”
Free trial
30 days
14 days

See for yourself

Side by side

Price, platforms, data, and market coverage.
Show
Side-by-side comparison of AmiBroker and Optuma
Attribute
AmiBroker logo logo placeholder
AmiBroker
Optuma logo
Optuma
Pricing & plans
Starting price
One-timeFrom $810/yr, billed annually
Free tier
NoNo
Free trial
30 days14 days
Plan limits
8 limits: Standard Edition: real time quote symbols: 10, Standard Edition: time and sales symbols: 1 +6 more6 limits: Optuma Trader: eod data groups: 5, Optuma Trader: chart styles: 24 +4 more
Platforms & access
Web app
NoNo
Desktop app
YesYes
Mobile app
NoNo
API access
NoNo
Broker sync
YesNo
Integrations
Interactive Brokers, IQFeed +5 moreBloomberg
Audience & fit
Experience level
Intermediate, AdvancedIntermediate, Advanced
Best for
Retail Traders, Pro Retail +4 morePro Retail, Analysts +3 more
Categories covered
1110
Regions
—North America, Europe, APAC, LatAm, Middle East, Africa
Data & capabilities
Data quality
3 signals: Latency: End of Day and Streaming, Granularity: EOD, Minute, Second, and Tick +1 more3 signals: Latency: Real-time and End of Day, Granularity: Minute and EOD +1 more
Data partners
—RRG Research and Bloomberg
Capabilities
—9 signals: Custom formulas, Ranking backtests +7 more
Try itVisit AmiBrokerVisit Optuma

Standout features

The best features of AmiBroker and Optuma.
Show
AmiBroker logo logo placeholder

What AmiBroker does best

  1. Charts support indicators, drawing tools, multiple time frames, and configurable bar intervals.
  2. AFL scripting to create custom indicators, explorations, trading systems, scans, and portfolio backtests.
  3. Portfolio backtests support position sizing, account constraints, equity and drawdown charts, custom reports, and custom procedures.
  4. Validation tools include optimization, walk-forward testing, and Monte Carlo simulation.
  5. Scans and explorations filter the local database and export results to CSV.
Optuma logo

What Optuma does best

  1. Build static or animated RRGs for securities, indices, asset classes, custom lists, and portfolios.
  2. Change tail length, comparison index, history, and daily, weekly, or monthly timeframes in RRG Lite.
  3. Use price-weighted, cap-weighted, selected-index, or fixed annual-return comparisons.
  4. Higher service levels add one-minute intraday and Forex RRGs, scripting, filters, scans, quantitative tests, and quadrant-colored bars.
  5. Connect a real-time provider for live intraday RRGs or use included and optional end-of-day market data.

All details

Every attribute we track for AmiBroker and Optuma.
Show
Attribute
AmiBroker logo logo placeholder
AmiBroker
Optuma logo
Optuma
Coverage & fit
Asset types
StocksFuturesMutual FundsCurrencies
StocksETFsMutual FundsCurrenciesCommoditiesFuturesCryptosOther
Experience
IntermediateAdvanced
IntermediateAdvanced
Target audience
Retail TradersPro RetailDay TradersSwing TradersAlgo TradersQuants/Developers
Pro RetailAnalystsQuants/DevelopersAsset ManagersHedge Funds
Regions
Not specified
North AmericaEuropeAPACLatAmMiddle EastAfrica
Coverage details
Identifiers: Ticker
Identifiers: Ticker
Data
Data freshness
End of DayStreaming
Real-timeEnd of Day
Data granularity
EODMinuteSecondTick
MinuteEOD
Data partners
Not specified
RRG ResearchBloomberg
Access & integrations
Import methods
Not specified
CSVManual
Integrations
Interactive BrokersIQFeedeSignalQChartsDDEODBC/SQLOLE Automation (COM)
Bloomberg
Export formats
CSV
ImagePDF
Plans & trust
Capability signals
Not specified
Custom formulasRanking backtestsUniverse builderFactors: Value, Quality, Momentum, Growth, LowVol, and SizeFactor exposurePerformance attributionPortfolio attributionPortfolio factor exposure+1 more
Vendor & support
AmiBroker.comCountry: PolandSupport: Email
Optuma Pty LtdCountry: AUSupport: Email and Forum

Green tags are exclusive to that tool in this comparison.

Pricing

Plans, billing, free trials, and monthly prices.
Show
Plan-by-plan pricing comparison of AmiBroker and Optuma
Tier
AmiBroker logo logo placeholder
AmiBroker
Optuma logo
Optuma
Entry paid plan
$299 once“Standard Edition”real time quote symbols: 10 · time and sales symbols: 1 · +2 more
$810/yrBilled annually≈ $67.50/mo“Optuma Trader”eod data groups: 5 · chart styles: 24
Tier 2
$379 once“Professional Edition”real time quote symbols: Unlimited · time and sales symbols: Unlimited · +2 more
$1350/yrBilled annually≈ $112.50/mo“Optuma Professional”eod data groups: 10 · chart styles: 30
Top plan
$499 once“Ultimate Pack Pro”
$2592/yrBilled annually≈ $216/mo“Optuma Enterprise”eod data groups: 45+ · chart styles: 33
Free trial30 days14 days

Questions we keep getting

What's the difference between AmiBroker and Optuma?

AmiBroker leans toward data visualizations, screeners, and backtesting, while Optuma puts more weight on data visualizations, stock comparison, and ETF comparison. They overlap in 5 categories, so for most people it comes down to workflow preference and price.

How much do AmiBroker and Optuma cost?

Neither has a free plan, but both offer a free trial. Compare the paid tiers against your required data coverage before committing.

Should I choose AmiBroker or Optuma?

It depends on what you're after. Pick AmiBroker if monte carlo and risk metrics matter to you; go with Optuma if you'd rather have stock comparison and ETF comparison. And if you only need the basics both share, let price decide.

What asset classes do AmiBroker and Optuma cover?

Both cover stocks, futures, mutual funds, and currencies. Optuma adds ETFs, commodities, and cryptos on top.

Do AmiBroker and Optuma offer real-time data?

Yes, both serve real-time market data, so either works when timing matters.

Can I export data from AmiBroker and Optuma?

AmiBroker exports to CSV. Optuma is stingier about getting data out.

Can AmiBroker or Optuma connect to my broker?

AmiBroker syncs with brokers automatically. With Optuma, you're entering holdings by hand or importing files.

Is AmiBroker or Optuma better for day trading?

AmiBroker is the one positioned more for active traders. Optuma is the better fit if you care less about fast trading workflows and more about a calmer research process.

Which has a better stock screener: AmiBroker or Optuma?

Both AmiBroker and Optuma include stock screeners, and they differ more in interface than raw power; try both and see which one clicks for you.

Can I track my portfolio with AmiBroker or Optuma?

Optuma handles portfolio tracking. AmiBroker is really a research tool; you'd track your portfolio elsewhere.

Feedback

Spot stale pricing, missing features, or a comparison that feels off? Send feedback on the verdict, table, alternatives, or recommendation.

Curation & Accuracy

This directory blends AI‑assisted discovery with human curation. Entries are reviewed, edited, and organized with the goal of expanding coverage and sharpening quality over time. Your feedback helps steer improvements (because no single human can capture everything all at once).

Details change. Pricing, features, and availability may be incomplete or out of date. Treat listings as a starting point and verify on the provider’s site before making decisions. If you spot an error or a gap, send a quick note and I’ll adjust.