BEST INVESTING TOOLS COMPARISON

Checking

Checked September 24, 2026

Tool Comparison

MarketInOut vs Optuma

Paid from
$359
Free plan
Yes
Platforms
Web

Best if

  • You'd rather start free and only pay if you outgrow it
  • You want alerts and APIs & data feeds.
  • You're newer to investing and want something approachable
Paid from
$810/yr, billed annually
Free plan
No
Platforms
Desktop

Best if

  • You want data visualizations, stock comparison, and ETF comparison.

Pick MarketInOut if

MarketInOut logo

MarketInOut

marketinout.com

Free • From $359 · Web

  • You'd rather start free and only pay if you outgrow it
  • You want alerts and APIs & data feeds.
  • You're newer to investing and want something approachable

Pick Optuma if

Optuma logo

Optuma

optuma.com

From $810/yr, billed annually · Desktop

  • You want data visualizations, stock comparison, and ETF comparison.

Skip both if: Neither one clicks with how you research; there are strong third options.

See alternatives

Other tools you might like

Outbound links may include affiliate or sponsor codes.

Not set on either one? See the top 50 tools, ranked by user votes, or the deals page for big discounts on popular tools.

Our take

The bottom line

MarketInOut and Optuma cover a lot of the same ground (5 shared categories, including screeners, backtesting, and watchlist), so for the basics you won't go far wrong with either. Optuma simply does more: 10 categories to MarketInOut's 7, including data visualizations, stock comparison, and ETF comparison. MarketInOut counters by letting you start free.

What readers say

MarketInOut

No votes yet. Cast the first one.

Optuma

No votes yet. Cast the first one.

Key differences at a glance

Free plan
MarketInOut
Free trial
Optuma14 days
Broader coverage
Optuma10 vs 7 categories
Desktop app
Optuma
Asset coverage
OptumaAdds mutual funds and commodities
Beginner friendly
MarketInOut
See the full side-by-side table
MarketInOut logo

What MarketInOut does best

  1. Technical and fundamental screening across global exchanges, stocks, ETFs, forex, and crypto.
  2. Filters by exchange, sector, industry, index, or watchlist, with intraday, daily, weekly, and monthly timeframes where supported.
  3. Formula Screener conditions with AND, OR, NOT logic, multi-timeframe rules, historical and range screening, ticker references, index references, and regime filters.
  4. Strategy backtests with entry rules, exit rules, stop-loss, take-profit, and position-maintenance logic.
  5. Survivorship-bias-free backtesting data that includes delisted stocks.
Optuma logo

What Optuma does best

  1. Build static or animated RRGs for securities, indices, asset classes, custom lists, and portfolios.
  2. Change tail length, comparison index, history, and daily, weekly, or monthly timeframes in RRG Lite.
  3. Use price-weighted, cap-weighted, selected-index, or fixed annual-return comparisons.
  4. Higher service levels add one-minute intraday and Forex RRGs, scripting, filters, scans, quantitative tests, and quadrant-colored bars.
  5. Connect a real-time provider for live intraday RRGs or use included and optional end-of-day market data.

Side by side

Pricing & plans
Starting price
Free • From $359
From $810/yr, billed annually
Free tier
Yes
No
Free trial
—
14 days
Platforms & access
Web app
Yes
No
Desktop app
No
Yes
Mobile app
No
No
API access
No
No
Broker sync
No
No
Integrations
—
Bloomberg
Coverage & data
Asset types
StocksETFsCurrenciesCryptos
StocksETFsMutual FundsCurrenciesCommoditiesFuturesCryptosOther
Target audience
Not specified
Pro RetailAnalystsQuants/DevelopersAsset ManagersHedge Funds
Data freshness
Real-time15-min DelayedEnd of Day
Real-timeEnd of Day
Data granularity
MinuteEOD
MinuteEOD
Export formats
Excel
ImagePDF

Pricing comparison

Free plan
Free
—
Entry paid plan
$359“2-Year Membership”
$810/yrBilled annually≈ $67.50/mo“Optuma Trader”
Tier 2
$259/yr≈ $21.58/mo“1-Year Membership”
$1350/yrBilled annually≈ $112.50/mo“Optuma Professional”
Tier 3
$159“6-Month Membership”
$2592/yrBilled annually≈ $216/mo“Optuma Enterprise”
Tier 4
$745“Professional 6-Month Membership”
—
Tier 5
$1145/yr“Professional 1-Year Membership”
—
Top plan
$1695“Professional 2-Year Membership”
—
Free trial
—
14 days

See for yourself

Side by side

Price, platforms, data, and market coverage.
Show
Side-by-side comparison of MarketInOut and Optuma
Attribute
MarketInOut logo
MarketInOut
Optuma logo
Optuma
Pricing & plans
Starting price
Free • From $359From $810/yr, billed annually
Free tier
YesNo
Free trial
—14 days
Plan limits
—6 limits: Optuma Trader: eod data groups: 5, Optuma Trader: chart styles: 24 +4 more
Platforms & access
Web app
YesNo
Desktop app
NoYes
Mobile app
NoNo
API access
NoNo
Broker sync
NoNo
Integrations
—Bloomberg
Audience & fit
Experience level
Beginner, Intermediate, AdvancedIntermediate, Advanced
Best for
—Pro Retail, Analysts +3 more
Categories covered
710
Regions
North America, Europe, APAC, Middle EastNorth America, Europe, APAC, LatAm, Middle East, Africa
Data & capabilities
Data quality
5 signals: Latency: Real-time, 15-min Delayed, and End of Day, Granularity: Minute and EOD +3 more3 signals: Latency: Real-time and End of Day, Granularity: Minute and EOD +1 more
Data partners
—RRG Research and Bloomberg
Capabilities
Custom formulas and Universe builder9 signals: Custom formulas, Ranking backtests +7 more
Try itVisit MarketInOutVisit Optuma

Standout features

The best features of MarketInOut and Optuma.
Show
MarketInOut logo

What MarketInOut does best

  1. Technical and fundamental screening across global exchanges, stocks, ETFs, forex, and crypto.
  2. Filters by exchange, sector, industry, index, or watchlist, with intraday, daily, weekly, and monthly timeframes where supported.
  3. Formula Screener conditions with AND, OR, NOT logic, multi-timeframe rules, historical and range screening, ticker references, index references, and regime filters.
  4. Strategy backtests with entry rules, exit rules, stop-loss, take-profit, and position-maintenance logic.
  5. Survivorship-bias-free backtesting data that includes delisted stocks.
Optuma logo

What Optuma does best

  1. Build static or animated RRGs for securities, indices, asset classes, custom lists, and portfolios.
  2. Change tail length, comparison index, history, and daily, weekly, or monthly timeframes in RRG Lite.
  3. Use price-weighted, cap-weighted, selected-index, or fixed annual-return comparisons.
  4. Higher service levels add one-minute intraday and Forex RRGs, scripting, filters, scans, quantitative tests, and quadrant-colored bars.
  5. Connect a real-time provider for live intraday RRGs or use included and optional end-of-day market data.

All details

Every attribute we track for MarketInOut and Optuma.
Show
Attribute
MarketInOut logo
MarketInOut
Optuma logo
Optuma
Coverage & fit
Asset types
StocksETFsCurrenciesCryptos
StocksETFsMutual FundsCurrenciesCommoditiesFuturesCryptosOther
Experience
BeginnerIntermediateAdvanced
IntermediateAdvanced
Target audience
Not specified
Pro RetailAnalystsQuants/DevelopersAsset ManagersHedge Funds
Regions
North AmericaEuropeAPACMiddle East
North AmericaEuropeAPACLatAmMiddle EastAfrica
Coverage details
Identifiers: Ticker
Identifiers: Ticker
Data
Data freshness
Real-time15-min DelayedEnd of Day
Real-timeEnd of Day
Data granularity
MinuteEOD
MinuteEOD
Data partners
Not specified
RRG ResearchBloomberg
Access & integrations
Import methods
Not specified
CSVManual
Integrations
Not specified
Bloomberg
Export formats
Excel
ImagePDF
Plans & trust
Capability signals
Custom formulasUniverse builder
Custom formulasRanking backtestsUniverse builderFactors: Value, Quality, Momentum, Growth, LowVol, and SizeFactor exposurePerformance attributionPortfolio attributionPortfolio factor exposure+1 more
Vendor & support
MarketInOut LimitedSupport: Email
Optuma Pty LtdCountry: AUSupport: Email and Forum
Curation ratings
Methodology 3/5Reliability 3/5UX 3/5
Not specified

Green tags are exclusive to that tool in this comparison.

Pricing

Plans, billing, free trials, and monthly prices.
Show
Plan-by-plan pricing comparison of MarketInOut and Optuma
Tier
MarketInOut logo
MarketInOut
Optuma logo
Optuma
Free plan
Free
—
Entry paid plan
$359“2-Year Membership”
$810/yrBilled annually≈ $67.50/mo“Optuma Trader”eod data groups: 5 · chart styles: 24
Tier 2
$259/yr≈ $21.58/mo“1-Year Membership”
$1350/yrBilled annually≈ $112.50/mo“Optuma Professional”eod data groups: 10 · chart styles: 30
Tier 3
$159“6-Month Membership”
$2592/yrBilled annually≈ $216/mo“Optuma Enterprise”eod data groups: 45+ · chart styles: 33
Tier 4
$745“Professional 6-Month Membership”
—
Tier 5
$1145/yr“Professional 1-Year Membership”
—
Top plan
$1695“Professional 2-Year Membership”
—
Free trial—14 days

Questions we keep getting

What's the difference between MarketInOut and Optuma?

MarketInOut leans toward screeners, backtesting, and watchlist, while Optuma puts more weight on data visualizations, stock comparison, and ETF comparison. They overlap in 5 categories, so for most people it comes down to workflow preference and price.

Is MarketInOut or Optuma free to use?

MarketInOut has a free tier, so you can get started without paying anything. Optuma is paid-only. If budget matters, start with MarketInOut and see how far it takes you before opening your wallet.

Which is better for beginners: MarketInOut or Optuma?

MarketInOut is the friendlier place to start; its interface takes less getting used to. Both work fine once you're past the basics.

Should I choose MarketInOut or Optuma?

It depends on what you're after. Pick MarketInOut if alerts and APIs & data feeds matter to you; go with Optuma if you'd rather have data visualizations and stock comparison. And if you only need the basics both share, let price decide.

What asset classes do MarketInOut and Optuma cover?

Both cover stocks, ETFs, currencies, and cryptos. Optuma adds mutual funds, commodities, and futures on top.

Do MarketInOut and Optuma offer real-time data?

Yes, both serve real-time market data, so either works when timing matters.

Can I export data from MarketInOut and Optuma?

MarketInOut exports to Excel. Optuma is stingier about getting data out.

Which has a better stock screener: MarketInOut or Optuma?

Both MarketInOut and Optuma include stock screeners, and they differ more in interface than raw power; try both and see which one clicks for you.

Can I track my portfolio with MarketInOut or Optuma?

Yes, both do portfolio tracking: holdings, performance, and allocation in one place.

Feedback

Spot stale pricing, missing features, or a comparison that feels off? Send feedback on the verdict, table, alternatives, or recommendation.

Curation & Accuracy

This directory blends AI‑assisted discovery with human curation. Entries are reviewed, edited, and organized with the goal of expanding coverage and sharpening quality over time. Your feedback helps steer improvements (because no single human can capture everything all at once).

Details change. Pricing, features, and availability may be incomplete or out of date. Treat listings as a starting point and verify on the provider’s site before making decisions. If you spot an error or a gap, send a quick note and I’ll adjust.