BEST INVESTING TOOLS COMPARISON

Checking

Checked September 24, 2026

Tool Comparison

Ghostfolio vs rotki

Paid from
$48/yr, billed annually
Free plan
Yes
Platforms
Web, Mobile, API

Best if

  • You want an API so you can script or automate things
  • You want data visualizations and APIs & data feeds.
  • You're newer to investing and want something approachable
Paid from
On request
Free plan
Yes
Platforms
Web, Desktop, Mobile

Best if

  • You want on-chain analytics, wallet / address monitoring, and downloadable tax reports.

Pick Ghostfolio if

Ghostfolio logo

Ghostfolio

ghostfol.io

Free • From $48/yr, billed annually · Web · Mobile · API

  • You want an API so you can script or automate things
  • You want data visualizations and APIs & data feeds.
  • You're newer to investing and want something approachable

Pick rotki if

rotki logo

rotki

rotki.com

Free • Contact for pricing · Web · Desktop · Mobile

  • You want on-chain analytics, wallet / address monitoring, and downloadable tax reports.

Skip both if: Neither one clicks with how you research; there are strong third options.

See alternatives

Outbound links may include affiliate or sponsor codes.

Not set on either one? See the top 50 tools, ranked by user votes, or the deals page for big discounts on popular tools.

Our take

The bottom line

Ghostfolio includes data visualizations and APIs & data feeds, and rotki includes on-chain analytics and wallet / address monitoring. On paper they're closely matched, so let pricing, platform fit, and the details below break the tie.

What readers say

Ghostfolio

No votes yet. Cast the first one.

rotki

No votes yet. Cast the first one.

Key differences at a glance

API access
Ghostfolio
Desktop app
rotki
Beginner friendly
Ghostfolio
Free plan
Both
See the full side-by-side table
Ghostfolio logo

What Ghostfolio does best

  1. Self-host an AGPL-3.0 open-source portfolio and personal finance dashboard, or use free Basic or paid Premium cloud hosting.
  2. Tracking net worth across cash, stocks, ETFs, cryptocurrencies, custom assets, accounts, and platforms.
  3. Management tools for portfolio activity with transaction create/read/update/delete workflows, imports, exports, charts, static risk analysis, and standard performance timeframes.
  4. The progressive web app and Android wrapper for mobile-first access to the same Ghostfolio instance.
  5. Deploy with official Docker images for common architectures and community templates for home-server platforms.
rotki logo

What rotki does best

  1. Local encrypted storage for portfolio, exchange, wallet, DeFi, and accounting data.
  2. Read-only exchange API connections, blockchain accounts, RPC endpoints, and CSV imports.
  3. Readable transaction decoding, history events, asset and liability views, and net-worth tracking.
  4. Configurable profit-and-loss accounting and tax-report exports for supported activity.
  5. Free AGPLv3 desktop application with optional Premium limits, analytics, encrypted sync, and data enrichment.

Side by side

Pricing & plans
Starting price
Free • From $48/yr, billed annually
Free • Contact for pricing
Free tier
Yes
Yes
Free trial
—
—
Platforms & access
Web app
Yes
Yes
Desktop app
No
Yes
Mobile app
Yes
Yes
API access
Yes
No
Broker sync
—
No
Integrations
—
Centralized exchanges, EVM networks +4 more
Coverage & data
Asset types
StocksETFsCryptosOther
CryptosCurrenciesOther
Target audience
Retail TradersLong-term Investors
Retail TradersPro RetailQuants/Developers
Export formats
JSON
CSV

Pricing comparison

Free plan
Free“Self-hosted (Open Source)”
Free“Starter”
Entry paid plan
$48/yrBilled annually≈ $4/mo“Ghostfolio Premium (Cloud)”
€9/moBilled monthly“Supporter (Monthly)”
Tier 2
—
€90/yrBilled annually“Supporter (Annual)”
Tier 3
—
€25/moBilled monthly“Basic (Monthly)”
Tier 4
—
€250/yrBilled annually“Basic (Annual)”
Tier 5
—
€45/moBilled monthly“Advanced (Monthly)”
Top plan
—
€450/yrBilled annually“Advanced (Annual)”
Custom / enterprise
—
Contact sales“Custom”

See for yourself

Side by side

Price, platforms, data, and market coverage.
Show
Side-by-side comparison of Ghostfolio and rotki
Attribute
Ghostfolio logo
Ghostfolio
rotki logo
rotki
Pricing & plans
Starting price
Free • From $48/yr, billed annuallyFree • Contact for pricing
Free tier
YesYes
Free trial
——
Plan limits
—21 limits: Starter: recent events: 1,000, Supporter (Monthly): recent events: 3,000 +19 more
Platforms & access
Web app
YesYes
Desktop app
NoYes
Mobile app
YesYes
API access
YesNo
Broker sync
—No
Integrations
—Centralized exchanges, EVM networks +4 more
Audience & fit
Experience level
Beginner, Intermediate, AdvancedIntermediate, Advanced
Best for
Retail Traders and Long-term InvestorsRetail Traders, Pro Retail +1 more
Categories covered
35
Regions
——
Data & capabilities
Data partners
Yahoo Finance and CoinGecko—
Capabilities
—DEX data and Wallet tracking
Security
Status page—
Try itVisit GhostfolioVisit rotki

Standout features

The best features of Ghostfolio and rotki.
Show
Ghostfolio logo

What Ghostfolio does best

  1. Self-host an AGPL-3.0 open-source portfolio and personal finance dashboard, or use free Basic or paid Premium cloud hosting.
  2. Tracking net worth across cash, stocks, ETFs, cryptocurrencies, custom assets, accounts, and platforms.
  3. Management tools for portfolio activity with transaction create/read/update/delete workflows, imports, exports, charts, static risk analysis, and standard performance timeframes.
  4. The progressive web app and Android wrapper for mobile-first access to the same Ghostfolio instance.
  5. Deploy with official Docker images for common architectures and community templates for home-server platforms.
rotki logo

What rotki does best

  1. Local encrypted storage for portfolio, exchange, wallet, DeFi, and accounting data.
  2. Read-only exchange API connections, blockchain accounts, RPC endpoints, and CSV imports.
  3. Readable transaction decoding, history events, asset and liability views, and net-worth tracking.
  4. Configurable profit-and-loss accounting and tax-report exports for supported activity.
  5. Free AGPLv3 desktop application with optional Premium limits, analytics, encrypted sync, and data enrichment.

All details

Every attribute we track for Ghostfolio and rotki.
Show
Attribute
Ghostfolio logo
Ghostfolio
rotki logo
rotki
Coverage & fit
Asset types
StocksETFsCryptosOther
CryptosCurrenciesOther
Experience
BeginnerIntermediateAdvanced
IntermediateAdvanced
Target audience
Retail TradersLong-term Investors
Retail TradersPro RetailQuants/Developers
Coverage details
Identifiers: Ticker
Not specified
Data
Data partners
Yahoo FinanceCoinGecko
Not specified
Access & integrations
API protocols
REST
Not specified
API auth & delivery
Auth: APIKeyDocs
Not specified
Import methods
CSVManual
CSVManual
Integrations
Not specified
Centralized exchangesEVM networksBitcoin accountsGnosis PayMoneriumDocker
Export formats
JSON
CSV
Plans & trust
Security & compliance
Status page
Not specified
Capability signals
Not specified
DEX dataWallet tracking
Vendor & support
Ghostfolio GmbHCountry: SwitzerlandFounded 2025Support: Email, Chat, and Forum
Rotki Solutions GmbHCountry: DESupport: Email and Forum

Green tags are exclusive to that tool in this comparison.

Pricing

Plans, billing, free trials, and monthly prices.
Show
Plan-by-plan pricing comparison of Ghostfolio and rotki
Tier
Ghostfolio logo
Ghostfolio
rotki logo
rotki
Free plan
Free“Self-hosted (Open Source)”
Free“Starter”recent events: 1,000
Entry paid plan
$48/yrBilled annually≈ $4/mo“Ghostfolio Premium (Cloud)”
€9/moBilled monthly“Supporter (Monthly)”recent events: 3,000 · devices: 1
Tier 2—
€90/yrBilled annually“Supporter (Annual)”recent events: 3,000 · devices: 1
Tier 3—
€25/moBilled monthly“Basic (Monthly)”recent events: 30,000 · devices: 2 · +2 more
Tier 4—
€250/yrBilled annually“Basic (Annual)”recent events: 30,000 · devices: 2 · +2 more
Tier 5—
€45/moBilled monthly“Advanced (Monthly)”recent events: 100,000 · devices: 4 · +2 more
Top plan—
€450/yrBilled annually“Advanced (Annual)”recent events: 100,000 · devices: 4 · +2 more
Custom / enterprise—
Contact sales“Custom”

Questions we keep getting

What's the difference between Ghostfolio and rotki?

Ghostfolio leans toward portfolio, data visualizations, and APIs & data feeds, while rotki puts more weight on portfolio, on-chain analytics, and wallet / address monitoring. They overlap in 1 categories, so for most people it comes down to workflow preference and price.

How much do Ghostfolio and rotki cost?

Good news: both Ghostfolio and rotki have free plans, so you can run them side by side and only pay if you hit a wall.

Which is better for beginners: Ghostfolio or rotki?

Ghostfolio is the friendlier place to start; its interface takes less getting used to. Both work fine once you're past the basics.

Does Ghostfolio or rotki have an API?

Ghostfolio has an API for programmatic access and custom integrations. rotki doesn't, so you're working through its interface.

Should I choose Ghostfolio or rotki?

It depends on what you're after. Pick Ghostfolio if data visualizations and APIs & data feeds matter to you; go with rotki if you'd rather have on-chain analytics and wallet / address monitoring. And if you only need the basics both share, let price decide.

What asset classes do Ghostfolio and rotki cover?

Both cover cryptos and other. Ghostfolio also handles stocks and ETFs. rotki adds currencies on top.

Can I export data from Ghostfolio and rotki?

rotki exports to CSV. Ghostfolio is stingier about getting data out.

Can I track my portfolio with Ghostfolio or rotki?

Yes, both do portfolio tracking: holdings, performance, and allocation in one place.

Feedback

Spot stale pricing, missing features, or a comparison that feels off? Send feedback on the verdict, table, alternatives, or recommendation.

Curation & Accuracy

This directory blends AI‑assisted discovery with human curation. Entries are reviewed, edited, and organized with the goal of expanding coverage and sharpening quality over time. Your feedback helps steer improvements (because no single human can capture everything all at once).

Details change. Pricing, features, and availability may be incomplete or out of date. Treat listings as a starting point and verify on the provider’s site before making decisions. If you spot an error or a gap, send a quick note and I’ll adjust.