BEST INVESTING TOOLS COMPARISON

Checking

Source checks: Optuma checked September 5, 2026 · PortfoliosLab checked August 23, 2026

Tool Comparison

Optuma vs PortfoliosLab

Pick Optuma instead if

Optuma logo

Optuma

optuma.com

From $810/yr · Desktop

  • Delayed quotes won't cut it; you need real-time data
Most versatile pick

Start here

PortfoliosLab logo

PortfoliosLab

portfolioslab.com

Free • From $8.33/mo · Web · API

  • You'd rather start free and only pay if you outgrow it
  • You want the cheaper way in: plans start at $8.33/mo instead of $67.5/mo
  • You want an API so you can script or automate things

Skip both if: Neither one clicks with how you research; there are strong third options.

See alternatives

Outbound links may include affiliate or sponsor codes.

Our take

The bottom line

Optuma and PortfoliosLab cover a lot of the same ground (10 shared categories, including data visualizations, stock comparison, and ETF comparison), so for the basics you won't go far wrong with either. PortfoliosLab simply does more: 17 categories to Optuma's 10, including risk metrics, performance attribution, and ETF screeners. Optuma counters by keeping things simpler.

What readers say

Optuma

No votes yet. Cast the first one.

PortfoliosLab

No votes yet. Cast the first one.

Key differences at a glance

Free plan
PortfoliosLab
Cheaper paid plan
PortfoliosLab$8.33/mo vs $67.5/mo
Free trial
Optuma14 days
Broader coverage
PortfoliosLab17 vs 10 categories
Desktop app
Optuma
API access
PortfoliosLab
See the full side-by-side table

See for yourself

How they stack up

The side-by-side table: pricing, platforms, data, and coverage at a glance.
Show
Side-by-side comparison of Optuma and PortfoliosLab
Attribute
Optuma logo
Optuma
PortfoliosLab logo
PortfoliosLab
Pricing & plans
Starting price
From $810/yrFree • From $8.33/mo
Free tier
NoYes
Free trial
14 days
Plan limits
25 limits: Free: watchlists: 1, Free: watchlist symbols: 100 +23 more
Platforms & access
Web app
NoYes
Desktop app
YesNo
Mobile app
NoNo
API access
NoYes
Broker sync
NoNo
Integrations
BloombergMCP, ChatGPT +1 more
Audience & fit
Experience level
Intermediate, AdvancedBeginner, Intermediate, Advanced
Best for
Pro Retail, Analysts +3 moreRetail Traders, Pro Retail +6 more
Categories covered
1017
Regions
North America, Europe, APAC, LatAm, Middle East, AfricaNorth America, Europe
Data & capabilities
Data quality
3 signals: Latency: Real-time and End of Day, Granularity: Minute and EOD +1 more3 signals: Latency: End of Day, Granularity: EOD +1 more
Data partners
RRG Research and Bloomberg
Capabilities
9 signals: Custom formulas, Ranking backtests +7 more6 signals: Factor exposure, VaR/ES +4 more
Try itVisit OptumaVisit PortfoliosLab

Where each one shines

What Optuma and PortfoliosLab each do best.
Show
Optuma logo

What Optuma does best

  1. Build static or animated RRGs for securities, indices, asset classes, custom lists, and portfolios.
  2. Change tail length, comparison index, history, and daily, weekly, or monthly timeframes in RRG Lite.
  3. Use price-weighted, cap-weighted, selected-index, or fixed annual-return comparisons.
  4. Higher service levels add one-minute intraday and Forex RRGs, scripting, filters, scans, quantitative tests, and quadrant-colored bars.
  5. Connect a real-time provider for live intraday RRGs or use included and optional end-of-day market data.
PortfoliosLab logo

What PortfoliosLab does best

  1. Backtest portfolios and single instruments with configurable rebalancing, benchmark comparisons, and longer historical windows on paid plans.
  2. Analysis of performance, drawdowns, volatility, VaR, CVaR, Sharpe, Sortino, Omega, Calmar, Martin, Treynor, and related risk-adjusted ratios.
  3. Comparison tools for stocks, ETFs, mutual funds, funds, crypto, and currency instruments across performance, risk, drawdown, and diversification views.
  4. Correlation, alpha and beta, factor, diversification, and optimization tools, including mean-variance, risk parity, HRP, and HERC.
  5. Screening for stocks, ETFs, and mutual funds with daily-recalculated filters, then export results where the selected plan allows it.

Every detail we compared

Every tracked attribute for Optuma and PortfoliosLab, side by side.
Show
Attribute
Optuma logo
Optuma
PortfoliosLab logo
PortfoliosLab
Coverage & fit
Asset types
StocksETFsMutual FundsCurrenciesCommoditiesFuturesCryptosOther
StocksETFsMutual FundsFundsCryptosCurrencies
Experience
IntermediateAdvanced
BeginnerIntermediateAdvanced
Target audience
Pro RetailAnalystsQuants/DevelopersAsset ManagersHedge Funds
Retail TradersPro RetailInstitutional InvestorsLong-term InvestorsIndex/Passive InvestorsQuants/DevelopersAnalystsFinancial Advisors
Regions
North AmericaEuropeAPACLatAmMiddle EastAfrica
North AmericaEurope
Coverage details
Identifiers: Ticker
Countries: US and GBIdentifiers: Ticker
Data
Data freshness
Real-timeEnd of Day
End of Day
Data granularity
MinuteEOD
EOD
Data partners
RRG ResearchBloomberg
Not specified
Access & integrations
API protocols
Not specified
REST
API auth & delivery
Not specified
Auth: NoneDocs
Import methods
CSVManual
ManualCSV
Integrations
Bloomberg
MCPChatGPTClaude
Export formats
ImagePDF
Not specified
Plans & trust
Capability signals
Custom formulasRanking backtestsUniverse builderFactors: Value, Quality, Momentum, Growth, LowVol, and SizeFactor exposurePerformance attributionPortfolio attributionPortfolio factor exposure+1 more
Factor exposureVaR/ESPerformance attributionRebalancingPortfolio factor exposureCorrelation
Vendor & support
Optuma Pty LtdCountry: AUSupport: Email and Forum
PortfoliosLab Analytics FZCOCountry: United Arab EmiratesSupport: Email

Green tags are exclusive to that tool in this comparison.

What you'll actually pay

Plans, billing, trials, and per-month pricing for both tools.
Show
Plan-by-plan pricing comparison of Optuma and PortfoliosLab
Tier
Optuma logo
Optuma
PortfoliosLab logo
PortfoliosLabCheaper start
Free plan
Freewatchlists: 1 · watchlist symbols: 100 · +4 more
Entry paid plan
$810/yr$67.50/moTrader Services — annual renewal
$8.33/moPluswatchlists: 5 · private portfolios: 5 · +4 more
Tier 2
$75/moTrader Services — monthly renewal
$20.83/moProwatchlists: 10 · private portfolios: Unlimited · +4 more
Top plan
$995/yrTrader Services — first 12 months
$75/moMaxwatchlists: 10 · watchlist symbols: 2,000 · +5 more
Free trial14 days

Questions we keep getting

What's the difference between Optuma and PortfoliosLab?

Optuma leans toward data visualizations, stock comparison, and ETF comparison, while PortfoliosLab puts more weight on portfolio, watchlist, and backtesting. They overlap in 10 categories, so for most people it comes down to workflow preference and price.

Is Optuma or PortfoliosLab free to use?

PortfoliosLab has a free tier, so you can get started without paying anything. Optuma is paid-only. If budget matters, start with PortfoliosLab and see how far it takes you before opening your wallet.

Which is better for beginners: Optuma or PortfoliosLab?

PortfoliosLab is the friendlier place to start; its interface takes less getting used to. Both work fine once you're past the basics.

Does Optuma or PortfoliosLab have an API?

PortfoliosLab has an API for programmatic access and custom integrations. Optuma doesn't, so you're working through its interface.

Should I choose Optuma or PortfoliosLab?

It depends on what you're after. Pick Optuma if you prefer its overall approach; go with PortfoliosLab if you'd rather have risk metrics and performance attribution. And if you only need the basics both share, let price decide.

What asset classes do Optuma and PortfoliosLab cover?

Both cover stocks, ETFs, mutual funds, and currencies. Optuma also handles commodities, futures, and other. PortfoliosLab adds funds on top.

Does Optuma or PortfoliosLab have real-time data?

Optuma offers real-time data, which matters if you trade actively. PortfoliosLab runs on delayed or end-of-day data, which is perfectly fine for longer-term investors who don't live and die by the tick.

Which has a better stock screener: Optuma or PortfoliosLab?

Both Optuma and PortfoliosLab include stock screeners, and they differ more in interface than raw power; try both and see which one clicks for you.

Can I track my portfolio with Optuma or PortfoliosLab?

Yes, both do portfolio tracking: holdings, performance, and allocation in one place.

Feedback

Spot stale pricing, missing features, or a comparison that feels off? Send feedback on the verdict, table, alternatives, or recommendation.

Curation & Accuracy

This directory blends AI‑assisted discovery with human curation. Entries are reviewed, edited, and organized with the goal of expanding coverage and sharpening quality over time. Your feedback helps steer improvements (because no single human can capture everything all at once).

Details change. Pricing, features, and availability may be incomplete or out of date. Treat listings as a starting point and verify on the provider’s site before making decisions. If you spot an error or a gap, send a quick note and I’ll adjust.