VOL. XCIV, NO. 247
BEST INVESTING TOOLS COMPARISON
Source checks: PortfoliosLab checked August 23, 2026 · Sharpely checked September 5, 2026
Tool Comparison
PortfoliosLab vs Sharpely
Start here
PortfoliosLab
Free • From $8.33/mo · Web · API
- You want an API so you can script or automate things
- You care about correlation, risk metrics, and performance attribution, things Sharpely doesn't offer
- You're a long-term investor who cares more about fundamentals than headlines
Pick Sharpely instead if
Sharpely
Free • Contact for pricing · Web · Mobile
- You do a lot of your research from your phone
Skip both if: Neither one clicks with how you research; there are strong third options.
See alternativesOutbound links may include affiliate or sponsor codes.
Our take
The bottom line
PortfoliosLab and Sharpely cover a lot of the same ground (9 shared categories, including portfolio, watchlist, and backtesting), so for the basics you won't go far wrong with either. PortfoliosLab simply does more: 17 categories to Sharpely's 9, including correlation, risk metrics, and performance attribution. Sharpely counters by being completely free.
What readers say
PortfoliosLab
No votes yet. Cast the first one.
Sharpely
No votes yet. Cast the first one.
Key differences at a glance
- Mobile app
- Sharpely
- Broader coverage
- PortfoliosLab17 vs 9 categories
- API access
- PortfoliosLab
- Free plan
- Both
See for yourself
How they stack up
The side-by-side table: pricing, platforms, data, and coverage at a glance.ShowHide
How they stack up
The side-by-side table: pricing, platforms, data, and coverage at a glance.| Attribute | ||
|---|---|---|
| Pricing & plans | ||
Starting price | Free • From $8.33/mo | Free • Contact for pricing |
Free tier | Yes | Yes |
Free trial | — | — |
Plan limits | 25 limits: Free: watchlists: 1, Free: watchlist symbols: 100 +23 more | — |
| Platforms & access | ||
Web app | Yes | Yes |
Mobile app | No | Yes |
API access | Yes | No |
Broker sync | No | No |
Integrations | MCP, ChatGPT +1 more | — |
| Audience & fit | ||
Experience level | Beginner, Intermediate, Advanced | Beginner, Intermediate, Advanced |
Best for | Retail Traders, Pro Retail +6 more | Retail Traders, Pro Retail +2 more |
Categories covered | 17 | 9 |
Regions | North America, Europe | APAC |
| Data & capabilities | ||
Data quality | 3 signals: Latency: End of Day, Granularity: EOD +1 more | 3 signals: Latency: End of Day, Granularity: EOD +1 more |
Data partners | — | RRG Research |
Capabilities | 6 signals: Factor exposure, VaR/ES +4 more | 8 signals: Custom formulas, Ranking backtests +6 more |
| Try it | Visit PortfoliosLab | Visit Sharpely |
Where each one shines
What PortfoliosLab and Sharpely each do best.ShowHide
Where each one shines
What PortfoliosLab and Sharpely each do best.What PortfoliosLab does best
- Backtest portfolios and single instruments with configurable rebalancing, benchmark comparisons, and longer historical windows on paid plans.
- Analysis of performance, drawdowns, volatility, VaR, CVaR, Sharpe, Sortino, Omega, Calmar, Martin, Treynor, and related risk-adjusted ratios.
- Comparison tools for stocks, ETFs, mutual funds, funds, crypto, and currency instruments across performance, risk, drawdown, and diversification views.
- Correlation, alpha and beta, factor, diversification, and optimization tools, including mean-variance, risk parity, HRP, and HERC.
- Screening for stocks, ETFs, and mutual funds with daily-recalculated filters, then export results where the selected plan allows it.
What Sharpely does best
- Use official Relative Rotation Graphs for Indian sectors, indices, stocks, ETFs, and other supported lists.
- The pricing page lists RRG charts under core benefits in every plan, while the public plan response does not list RRG among the Free tier's named features.
- Screen Indian stocks with more than 400 metrics and build rule-based stock, mutual-fund, and ETF strategies.
- Run historical backtests and review factor, valuation, momentum, sector, breadth, and seasonality data.
- Review stocks, mutual funds, ETFs, REITs, InvITs, AIFs, and household portfolios in WealthView.
Every detail we compared
Every tracked attribute for PortfoliosLab and Sharpely, side by side.ShowHide
Every detail we compared
Every tracked attribute for PortfoliosLab and Sharpely, side by side.| Attribute | ||
|---|---|---|
| Coverage & fit | ||
Asset types | StocksETFsMutual FundsFundsCryptosCurrencies | StocksETFsMutual FundsReal EstateOther |
Experience | BeginnerIntermediateAdvanced | BeginnerIntermediateAdvanced |
Target audience | Retail TradersPro RetailInstitutional InvestorsLong-term InvestorsIndex/Passive InvestorsQuants/DevelopersAnalystsFinancial Advisors | Retail TradersPro RetailAnalystsQuants/Developers |
Regions | North AmericaEurope | APAC |
Coverage details | Countries: US and GBIdentifiers: Ticker | Countries: INExchanges: XNSE and XBOMIdentifiers: Ticker |
| Data | ||
Data freshness | End of Day | End of Day |
Data granularity | EOD | EOD |
Data partners | Not specified | RRG Research |
| Access & integrations | ||
API protocols | REST | Not specified |
API auth & delivery | Auth: NoneDocs | Not specified |
Import methods | ManualCSV | Manual |
Integrations | MCPChatGPTClaude | Not specified |
Export formats | Not specified | Excel |
| Plans & trust | ||
Capability signals | Factor exposureVaR/ESPerformance attributionRebalancingPortfolio factor exposureCorrelation | Custom formulasRanking backtestsUniverse builderFactors: Value, Quality, Momentum, Growth, LowVol, and SizeFactor exposurePortfolio attributionPortfolio factor exposureCorrelation |
Vendor & support | PortfoliosLab Analytics FZCOCountry: United Arab EmiratesSupport: Email | Mintbox Solutions Pvt. Ltd.Country: INSupport: Email and Forum |
Green tags are exclusive to that tool in this comparison.
What you'll actually pay
Plans, billing, trials, and per-month pricing for both tools.ShowHide
What you'll actually pay
Plans, billing, trials, and per-month pricing for both tools.| Tier | ||
|---|---|---|
| Free plan | Freewatchlists: 1 · watchlist symbols: 100 · +4 more | Free |
| Entry paid plan | $8.33/mo“Plus”watchlists: 5 · private portfolios: 5 · +4 more | INR 599/mo“Pro — monthly” |
| Tier 2 | $20.83/mo“Pro”watchlists: 10 · private portfolios: Unlimited · +4 more | INR 5799/yr“Pro — annual” |
| Tier 3 | $75/mo“Max”watchlists: 10 · watchlist symbols: 2,000 · +5 more | INR 1299/mo“Black — monthly” |
| Top plan | — | INR 12499/yr“Black — annual” |
| Custom / enterprise | — | Contact sales“Enterprise” |
Questions we keep getting
What's the difference between PortfoliosLab and Sharpely?
PortfoliosLab leans toward portfolio, watchlist, and backtesting, while Sharpely puts more weight on screeners, data visualizations, and stock comparison. They overlap in 9 categories, so for most people it comes down to workflow preference and price.
How much do PortfoliosLab and Sharpely cost?
Good news: both PortfoliosLab and Sharpely have free plans, so you can run them side by side and only pay if you hit a wall.
Can I use PortfoliosLab or Sharpely on my phone?
Sharpely lists a dedicated mobile app, so it travels better. PortfoliosLab doesn't list a dedicated mobile app; its documented access is web and API.
Does PortfoliosLab or Sharpely have an API?
PortfoliosLab has an API for programmatic access and custom integrations. Sharpely doesn't, so you're working through its interface.
Should I choose PortfoliosLab or Sharpely?
It depends on what you're after. Pick PortfoliosLab if correlation and risk metrics matter to you; go with Sharpely if you prefer its overall approach. And if you only need the basics both share, let price decide.
What asset classes do PortfoliosLab and Sharpely cover?
Both cover stocks, ETFs, and mutual funds. PortfoliosLab also handles funds, cryptos, and currencies. Sharpely adds real estate and other on top.
Can I export data from PortfoliosLab and Sharpely?
Sharpely exports to Excel. PortfoliosLab is stingier about getting data out.
Which has a better stock screener: PortfoliosLab or Sharpely?
Both PortfoliosLab and Sharpely include stock screeners, and they differ more in interface than raw power; try both and see which one clicks for you.
Can I track my portfolio with PortfoliosLab or Sharpely?
Yes, both do portfolio tracking: holdings, performance, and allocation in one place.
Feedback
Spot stale pricing, missing features, or a comparison that feels off? Send feedback on the verdict, table, alternatives, or recommendation.
Curation & Accuracy
This directory blends AI‑assisted discovery with human curation. Entries are reviewed, edited, and organized with the goal of expanding coverage and sharpening quality over time. Your feedback helps steer improvements (because no single human can capture everything all at once).
Details change. Pricing, features, and availability may be incomplete or out of date. Treat listings as a starting point and verify on the provider’s site before making decisions. If you spot an error or a gap, send a quick note and I’ll adjust.