BEST INVESTING TOOLS COMPARISON

Checking

Checked Aug 23 to Sep 24, 2026

Tool Comparison

Robinhood vs SoFi Invest

Paid from
—
Free plan
No
Platforms
Mobile, Web

Best if

  • You want wealth management.
  • You've outgrown the basics and want pro-level depth
Paid from
—
Free plan
No
Platforms
Web, Mobile

Best if

  • You want watchlist and downloadable tax reports.

Pick Robinhood if

Robinhood logo

Robinhood

robinhood.com

Transaction-priced · Fees vary by offer and jurisdiction · Mobile · Web

  • You want wealth management.
  • You've outgrown the basics and want pro-level depth

Pick SoFi Invest if

SoFi Invest logo

SoFi Invest

sofi.com

Transaction-priced · Fees vary by offer and jurisdiction · Web · Mobile

  • You want watchlist and downloadable tax reports.

Skip both if: Neither one clicks with how you research; there are strong third options.

See alternatives

Outbound links may include affiliate or sponsor codes.

Not set on either one? See the top 50 tools, ranked by user votes, or the deals page for big discounts on popular tools.

Our take

The bottom line

Robinhood and SoFi Invest cover a lot of the same ground (3 shared categories, brokerage, portfolio, and options), so for the basics you won't go far wrong with either. Robinhood includes wealth management, and SoFi Invest includes watchlist and downloadable tax reports.

What readers say

Robinhood

No votes yet. Cast the first one.

SoFi Invest

No votes yet. Cast the first one.

Key differences at a glance

Free trial
Robinhood30 days
See the full side-by-side table
Robinhood logo

What Robinhood does best

  1. Trading access for U.S. listed and OTC securities, including ETFs and closed-end funds, with $0 self-directed commissions where regulatory and other pass-through fees may still apply.
  2. Trading access for listed options after approval, with index options contract fees discounted for Robinhood Gold users.
  3. Robinhood Gold includes higher Instant Deposit limits, a preferred IRA match, the first $1,000 of margin borrowing, and discounted derivatives fees.
  4. Gold members can enroll eligible taxable accounts in the High-Yield Cash Program.
  5. Trading access for crypto through Robinhood Crypto, with costs depending on routing model, Smart Exchange Routing fees, network fees, and staking commissions where applicable.
SoFi Invest logo

What SoFi Invest does best

  1. Online U.S. stock, ETF, and listed-options trading with $0 stated commissions.
  2. More than 4,000 eligible stock and ETF fractions starting at $5.
  3. Individual, joint, community-property, tenancy-by-entirety, and eligible IRA registrations.
  4. Mutual funds, interval funds and tender-offer funds with product-specific transaction costs.
  5. Recurring deposits, portfolio monitoring and watchlists in the SoFi app.

Side by side

Pricing & plans
Starting price
Transaction-priced · Fees vary by offer and jurisdiction
Transaction-priced · Fees vary by offer and jurisdiction
Free tier
No
No
Free trial
30 days
—
Platforms & access
Web app
Yes
Yes
Mobile app
Yes
Yes
API access
No
No
Integrations
EDX Markets and Bitstamp USA
—
Coverage & data
Asset types
StocksETFsClosed-End FundsOptionsFuturesCryptos
StocksETFsOptionsMutual Funds
Target audience
Retail TradersPro Retail
Not specified
Export formats
Not specified
CSVPDF

Pricing comparison

Free plan
Free“Standard (Self-directed brokerage)”
—
Entry paid plan
$50/yr≈ $4.17/mo“Robinhood Gold (Annual)”
—
Top plan
$5/mo“Robinhood Gold (Monthly)”
—
Free trial
30 days
—

See for yourself

Side by side

Price, platforms, data, and market coverage.
Show
Side-by-side comparison of Robinhood and SoFi Invest
Attribute
Robinhood logo
Robinhood
SoFi Invest logo
SoFi Invest
Pricing & plans
Starting price
Transaction-priced · Fees vary by offer and jurisdictionTransaction-priced · Fees vary by offer and jurisdiction
Free tier
NoNo
Free trial
30 days—
Plan limits
5 limits: Standard (Self-directed brokerage): index options contract fee: $0.50 per contract (non-Gold), Robinhood Gold (Monthly): interest free margin borrowing: $1,000 +3 more—
Platforms & access
Web app
YesYes
Mobile app
YesYes
API access
NoNo
Integrations
EDX Markets and Bitstamp USA—
Audience & fit
Experience level
Beginner, Intermediate, AdvancedBeginner, Intermediate
Best for
Retail Traders and Pro Retail—
Categories covered
45
Regions
North AmericaNorth America
Data & capabilities
Data partners
EDX Markets, Inc. and Bitstamp USA, Inc.—
Capabilities
AI summaries: News—
Security
Status page—
Try itVisit RobinhoodVisit SoFi Invest

Standout features

The best features of Robinhood and SoFi Invest.
Show
Robinhood logo

What Robinhood does best

  1. Trading access for U.S. listed and OTC securities, including ETFs and closed-end funds, with $0 self-directed commissions where regulatory and other pass-through fees may still apply.
  2. Trading access for listed options after approval, with index options contract fees discounted for Robinhood Gold users.
  3. Robinhood Gold includes higher Instant Deposit limits, a preferred IRA match, the first $1,000 of margin borrowing, and discounted derivatives fees.
  4. Gold members can enroll eligible taxable accounts in the High-Yield Cash Program.
  5. Trading access for crypto through Robinhood Crypto, with costs depending on routing model, Smart Exchange Routing fees, network fees, and staking commissions where applicable.
SoFi Invest logo

What SoFi Invest does best

  1. Online U.S. stock, ETF, and listed-options trading with $0 stated commissions.
  2. More than 4,000 eligible stock and ETF fractions starting at $5.
  3. Individual, joint, community-property, tenancy-by-entirety, and eligible IRA registrations.
  4. Mutual funds, interval funds and tender-offer funds with product-specific transaction costs.
  5. Recurring deposits, portfolio monitoring and watchlists in the SoFi app.

All details

Every attribute we track for Robinhood and SoFi Invest.
Show
Attribute
Robinhood logo
Robinhood
SoFi Invest logo
SoFi Invest
Coverage & fit
Asset types
StocksETFsClosed-End FundsOptionsFuturesCryptos
StocksETFsOptionsMutual Funds
Experience
BeginnerIntermediateAdvanced
BeginnerIntermediate
Target audience
Retail TradersPro Retail
Not specified
Regions
North America
North America
Coverage details
Identifiers: Ticker
Identifiers: Ticker
Data
Data partners
EDX Markets, Inc.Bitstamp USA, Inc.
Not specified
Access & integrations
Integrations
EDX MarketsBitstamp USA
Not specified
Export formats
Not specified
CSVPDF
Plans & trust
Security & compliance
Status page
Not specified
Capability signals
AI summaries: News
Not specified
Vendor & support
Robinhood Markets, Inc.Country: United States
SoFi Securities LLCCountry: United StatesSupport: Phone and Chat

Green tags are exclusive to that tool in this comparison.

Pricing

Plans, billing, free trials, and monthly prices.
Show
Plan-by-plan pricing comparison of Robinhood and SoFi Invest
Tier
Robinhood logo
Robinhood
SoFi Invest logo
SoFi Invest
Free plan
Free“Standard (Self-directed brokerage)”index options contract fee: $0.50 per contract (non-Gold)
—
Entry paid plan
$50/yr≈ $4.17/mo“Robinhood Gold (Annual)”interest free margin borrowing: $1,000 · index options contract fee: $0.35 per contract (Gold)
—
Top plan
$5/mo“Robinhood Gold (Monthly)”interest free margin borrowing: $1,000 · index options contract fee: $0.35 per contract (Gold)
—
Free trial30 days—

Questions we keep getting

What's the difference between Robinhood and SoFi Invest?

Robinhood leans toward brokerage, portfolio, and options, while SoFi Invest puts more weight on brokerage, portfolio, and watchlist. They overlap in 3 categories, so for most people it comes down to workflow preference and price.

How much do Robinhood and SoFi Invest cost?

Neither has a free plan, but Robinhood offers a free trial. Compare the paid tiers against your required data coverage before committing.

Which is better for beginners: Robinhood or SoFi Invest?

Honestly, neither is aimed at beginners. Expect a learning curve either way; that's the trade-off for the depth they offer.

Should I choose Robinhood or SoFi Invest?

It depends on what you're after. Pick Robinhood if wealth management matter to you; go with SoFi Invest if you'd rather have watchlist and downloadable tax reports. And if you only need the basics both share, let price decide.

What asset classes do Robinhood and SoFi Invest cover?

Both cover stocks, ETFs, and options. Robinhood also handles closed-end funds, futures, and cryptos. SoFi Invest adds mutual funds on top.

Can I export data from Robinhood and SoFi Invest?

SoFi Invest exports to CSV. Robinhood is stingier about getting data out.

Can I track my portfolio with Robinhood or SoFi Invest?

Yes, both do portfolio tracking: holdings, performance, and allocation in one place.

Feedback

Spot stale pricing, missing features, or a comparison that feels off? Send feedback on the verdict, table, alternatives, or recommendation.

Curation & Accuracy

This directory blends AI‑assisted discovery with human curation. Entries are reviewed, edited, and organized with the goal of expanding coverage and sharpening quality over time. Your feedback helps steer improvements (because no single human can capture everything all at once).

Details change. Pricing, features, and availability may be incomplete or out of date. Treat listings as a starting point and verify on the provider’s site before making decisions. If you spot an error or a gap, send a quick note and I’ll adjust.