Tool Comparison
Robinhood vs Wealthsimple
- Paid from
- —
- Free plan
- No
- Platforms
- Mobile, Web
Best if
- You want wealth management.
- Paid from
- —
- Free plan
- No
- Platforms
- Web, Mobile
Best if
- You want watchlist and downloadable tax reports.
Pick Robinhood if
Robinhood
Transaction-priced · Fees vary by offer and jurisdiction · Mobile · Web
- You want wealth management.
Pick Wealthsimple if
Wealthsimple
Transaction-priced · Fees vary by offer and jurisdiction · Web · Mobile
- You want watchlist and downloadable tax reports.
Skip both if: Neither one clicks with how you research; there are strong third options.
See alternativesOther tools you might like
Outbound links may include affiliate or sponsor codes.
Not set on either one? See the top 50 tools, ranked by user votes, or the deals page for big discounts on popular tools.
Our take
The bottom line
Robinhood and Wealthsimple cover a lot of the same ground (3 shared categories, brokerage, portfolio, and options), so for the basics you won't go far wrong with either. Robinhood includes wealth management, and Wealthsimple includes watchlist and downloadable tax reports.
What readers say
Robinhood
No votes yet. Cast the first one.
Wealthsimple
No votes yet. Cast the first one.
What Robinhood does best
- Trading access for U.S. listed and OTC securities, including ETFs and closed-end funds, with $0 self-directed commissions where regulatory and other pass-through fees may still apply.
- Trading access for listed options after approval, with index options contract fees discounted for Robinhood Gold users.
- Robinhood Gold includes higher Instant Deposit limits, a preferred IRA match, the first $1,000 of margin borrowing, and discounted derivatives fees.
- Gold members can enroll eligible taxable accounts in the High-Yield Cash Program.
- Trading access for crypto through Robinhood Crypto, with costs depending on routing model, Smart Exchange Routing fees, network fees, and staking commissions where applicable.
What Wealthsimple does best
- Canadian and U.S. listed stocks and ETFs with $0 stated online commission.
- Supported stock and ETF fractional market orders from $1.
- TFSA, FHSA, RRSP, spousal RRSP, RRIF, LIRA, LIF, RESP and non-registered trading accounts.
- CAD and optional USD accounts with separate currency-conversion rules.
- Listed equity and ETF options with $0 standard contract fees, subject to specialized charges.
Side by side
Pricing comparison
See for yourself
Side by side
Price, platforms, data, and market coverage.ShowHide
Side by side
| Attribute | ||
|---|---|---|
| Pricing & plans | ||
Starting price | Transaction-priced · Fees vary by offer and jurisdiction | Transaction-priced · Fees vary by offer and jurisdiction |
Free tier | No | No |
Free trial | 30 days | — |
Plan limits | 5 limits: Standard (Self-directed brokerage): index options contract fee: $0.50 per contract (non-Gold), Robinhood Gold (Monthly): interest free margin borrowing: $1,000 +3 more | — |
| Platforms & access | ||
Web app | Yes | Yes |
Mobile app | Yes | Yes |
API access | No | No |
Integrations | EDX Markets and Bitstamp USA | — |
| Audience & fit | ||
Experience level | Beginner, Intermediate, Advanced | Beginner, Intermediate, Advanced |
Best for | Retail Traders and Pro Retail | — |
Categories covered | 4 | 5 |
Regions | North America | North America |
| Data & capabilities | ||
Data partners | EDX Markets, Inc. and Bitstamp USA, Inc. | — |
Capabilities | AI summaries: News | — |
Security | Status page | — |
| Try it | Visit Robinhood | Visit Wealthsimple |
Standout features
The best features of Robinhood and Wealthsimple.ShowHide
Standout features
What Robinhood does best
- Trading access for U.S. listed and OTC securities, including ETFs and closed-end funds, with $0 self-directed commissions where regulatory and other pass-through fees may still apply.
- Trading access for listed options after approval, with index options contract fees discounted for Robinhood Gold users.
- Robinhood Gold includes higher Instant Deposit limits, a preferred IRA match, the first $1,000 of margin borrowing, and discounted derivatives fees.
- Gold members can enroll eligible taxable accounts in the High-Yield Cash Program.
- Trading access for crypto through Robinhood Crypto, with costs depending on routing model, Smart Exchange Routing fees, network fees, and staking commissions where applicable.
What Wealthsimple does best
- Canadian and U.S. listed stocks and ETFs with $0 stated online commission.
- Supported stock and ETF fractional market orders from $1.
- TFSA, FHSA, RRSP, spousal RRSP, RRIF, LIRA, LIF, RESP and non-registered trading accounts.
- CAD and optional USD accounts with separate currency-conversion rules.
- Listed equity and ETF options with $0 standard contract fees, subject to specialized charges.
All details
Every attribute we track for Robinhood and Wealthsimple.ShowHide
All details
| Attribute | ||
|---|---|---|
| Coverage & fit | ||
Asset types | StocksETFsClosed-End FundsOptionsFuturesCryptos | StocksETFsOptionsCommodities |
Experience | BeginnerIntermediateAdvanced | BeginnerIntermediateAdvanced |
Target audience | Retail TradersPro Retail | Not specified |
Regions | North America | North America |
Coverage details | Identifiers: Ticker | Countries: CAIdentifiers: Ticker |
| Data | ||
Data partners | EDX Markets, Inc.Bitstamp USA, Inc. | Not specified |
| Access & integrations | ||
Integrations | EDX MarketsBitstamp USA | Not specified |
Export formats | Not specified | CSVPDF |
| Plans & trust | ||
Security & compliance | Status page | Not specified |
Capability signals | AI summaries: News | Not specified |
Vendor & support | Robinhood Markets, Inc.Country: United States | Wealthsimple Investments Inc.Country: CanadaSupport: Chat, Phone, and Email |
Green tags are exclusive to that tool in this comparison.
Pricing
Plans, billing, free trials, and monthly prices.ShowHide
Pricing
| Tier | ||
|---|---|---|
| Free plan | Free“Standard (Self-directed brokerage)”index options contract fee: $0.50 per contract (non-Gold) | Free“Core self-directed brokerage” |
| Entry paid plan | $50/yr≈ $4.17/mo“Robinhood Gold (Annual)”interest free margin borrowing: $1,000 · index options contract fee: $0.35 per contract (Gold) | — |
| Top plan | $5/mo“Robinhood Gold (Monthly)”interest free margin borrowing: $1,000 · index options contract fee: $0.35 per contract (Gold) | — |
| Free trial | 30 days | — |
Alternatives
Free alternatives
Questions we keep getting
What's the difference between Robinhood and Wealthsimple?
Robinhood leans toward brokerage, portfolio, and options, while Wealthsimple puts more weight on brokerage, portfolio, and watchlist. They overlap in 3 categories, so for most people it comes down to workflow preference and price.
How much do Robinhood and Wealthsimple cost?
Neither has a free plan, but Robinhood offers a free trial. Compare the paid tiers against your required data coverage before committing.
Should I choose Robinhood or Wealthsimple?
It depends on what you're after. Pick Robinhood if wealth management matter to you; go with Wealthsimple if you'd rather have watchlist and downloadable tax reports. And if you only need the basics both share, let price decide.
What asset classes do Robinhood and Wealthsimple cover?
Both cover stocks, ETFs, and options. Robinhood also handles closed-end funds, futures, and cryptos. Wealthsimple adds commodities on top.
Can I export data from Robinhood and Wealthsimple?
Wealthsimple exports to CSV. Robinhood is stingier about getting data out.
Can I track my portfolio with Robinhood or Wealthsimple?
Yes, both do portfolio tracking: holdings, performance, and allocation in one place.
Feedback
Spot stale pricing, missing features, or a comparison that feels off? Send feedback on the verdict, table, alternatives, or recommendation.
Curation & Accuracy
This directory blends AI‑assisted discovery with human curation. Entries are reviewed, edited, and organized with the goal of expanding coverage and sharpening quality over time. Your feedback helps steer improvements (because no single human can capture everything all at once).
Details change. Pricing, features, and availability may be incomplete or out of date. Treat listings as a starting point and verify on the provider’s site before making decisions. If you spot an error or a gap, send a quick note and I’ll adjust.