Tool Comparison
Khan Academy (Economics & Finance) vs Portfolio123
- Paid from
- —
- Free plan
- Yes
- Platforms
- Web, Mobile
Best if
- You do a lot of your research from your phone
- You want courses & certs.
- Paid from
- $25/mo
- Free plan
- Yes
- Platforms
- Web, API, Desktop
Best if
- Delayed quotes won't cut it; you need real-time data
- You want an API so you can script or automate things
- You want screeners, data visualizations, and quant.
Pick Khan Academy (Economics & Finance) instead if
Khan Academy (Economics & Finance)
Free · Web · Mobile
- You do a lot of your research from your phone
- You want courses & certs.
Start here
Portfolio123
Free • From $300/yr · Web · API · Desktop
- Delayed quotes won't cut it; you need real-time data
- You want an API so you can script or automate things
- You want screeners, data visualizations, and quant.
Skip both if: Neither one clicks with how you research; there are strong third options.
See alternativesOther tools you might like
Outbound links may include affiliate or sponsor codes.
Not set on either one? See the top 50 tools, ranked by user votes, or the deals page for big discounts on popular tools.
Our take
The bottom line
Khan Academy (Economics & Finance) and Portfolio123 cover a lot of the same ground (2 shared categories, education and videos), so for the basics you won't go far wrong with either. Portfolio123 simply does more: 19 categories to Khan Academy (Economics & Finance)'s 3, including screeners, data visualizations, and quant. Khan Academy (Economics & Finance) counters by being completely free.
What readers say
Khan Academy (Economics & Finance)
No votes yet. Cast the first one.
Portfolio123
No votes yet. Cast the first one.
Key differences at a glance
- Real-time data
- Portfolio123
- Broader coverage
- Portfolio12319 vs 3 categories
- Mobile app
- Khan Academy (Economics & Finance)
- Desktop app
- Portfolio123
- API access
- Portfolio123
- Free plan
- Both
What Khan Academy (Economics & Finance) does best
- Educational resources for finance and capital-markets foundations such as stocks, bonds, interest, cash flow, valuation basics, and market concepts.
- Study microeconomics and macroeconomics through AP and college-level course paths.
- The financial-literacy and personal-finance curriculum for budgeting, saving, debt, investing, retirement planning, and real-world money decisions.
- Watch videos, read articles, and complete exercises at your own pace.
- Derivative and structured-product lessons to understand options, futures, swaps, mortgage-backed securities, and CDO concepts at an introductory level.
What Portfolio123 does best
- Build multifactor ranking systems, stock screens, ETF screens, and rules-based strategies.
- Run simulations with custom universes, buy and sell rules, position sizing, hedging, rebalancing, slippage, and commissions.
- Point-in-time data designed to avoid survivorship and look-ahead bias, with fundamentals, estimates, corporate actions, sector and industry classifications, and historical issues.
- Create ranking systems from fundamental, technical, sentiment, and macro factors, including public factor documentation and FRED-linked economic series.
- AI Factor to train machine-learning predictors for expected returns and feed those predictions into rankings, simulations, and asset-level analysis.
Side by side
Pricing comparison
See for yourself
Side by side
Price, platforms, data, and market coverage.ShowHide
Side by side
| Attribute | ||
|---|---|---|
| Pricing & plans | ||
Starting price | Free | Free • From $300/yr |
Free tier | Yes | Yes |
Free trial | — | — |
Plan limits | — | 25 limits: Free Screener & Backtesting Access: duration days: 30, Screener (Annual): backtest history years: 5 +23 more |
| Platforms & access | ||
Web app | Yes | Yes |
Desktop app | No | Yes |
Mobile app | Yes | No |
API access | No | Yes |
Broker sync | — | Yes |
Integrations | — | Interactive Brokers and Tradier |
| Audience & fit | ||
Experience level | Beginner, Intermediate, Advanced | Beginner, Intermediate, Advanced |
Best for | — | Retail Traders, Pro Retail +5 more |
Categories covered | 3 | 19 |
Regions | — | North America, Europe |
| Data & capabilities | ||
Data quality | — | 5 signals: Latency: Real-time and End of Day, Granularity: EOD +3 more |
Data partners | — | 4 partners: FactSet, S&P Global Market Intelligence +2 more |
Capabilities | — | 6 signals: Custom formulas, Ranking backtests +4 more |
| Try it | Visit Khan Academy (Economics & Finance) | Visit Portfolio123 |
Standout features
The best features of Khan Academy (Economics & Finance) and Portfolio123.ShowHide
Standout features
What Khan Academy (Economics & Finance) does best
- Educational resources for finance and capital-markets foundations such as stocks, bonds, interest, cash flow, valuation basics, and market concepts.
- Study microeconomics and macroeconomics through AP and college-level course paths.
- The financial-literacy and personal-finance curriculum for budgeting, saving, debt, investing, retirement planning, and real-world money decisions.
- Watch videos, read articles, and complete exercises at your own pace.
- Derivative and structured-product lessons to understand options, futures, swaps, mortgage-backed securities, and CDO concepts at an introductory level.
What Portfolio123 does best
- Build multifactor ranking systems, stock screens, ETF screens, and rules-based strategies.
- Run simulations with custom universes, buy and sell rules, position sizing, hedging, rebalancing, slippage, and commissions.
- Point-in-time data designed to avoid survivorship and look-ahead bias, with fundamentals, estimates, corporate actions, sector and industry classifications, and historical issues.
- Create ranking systems from fundamental, technical, sentiment, and macro factors, including public factor documentation and FRED-linked economic series.
- AI Factor to train machine-learning predictors for expected returns and feed those predictions into rankings, simulations, and asset-level analysis.
All details
Every attribute we track for Khan Academy (Economics & Finance) and Portfolio123.ShowHide
All details
| Attribute | ||
|---|---|---|
| Coverage & fit | ||
Asset types | StocksBondsOptionsETFsMutual Funds | StocksETFsClosed-End Funds |
Experience | BeginnerIntermediateAdvanced | BeginnerIntermediateAdvanced |
Target audience | Not specified | Retail TradersPro RetailInstitutional InvestorsAnalystsQuants/DevelopersFinancial AdvisorsStudents/Researchers |
Regions | Not specified | North AmericaEurope |
Coverage details | Not specified | Countries: US and CAIdentifiers: Ticker |
| Data | ||
Data freshness | Not specified | Real-timeEnd of Day |
Data granularity | Not specified | EOD |
Data partners | Not specified | FactSetS&P Global Market IntelligenceICE Data ServicesFRED |
| Access & integrations | ||
API protocols | Not specified | REST |
API auth & delivery | Not specified | Auth: APIKeyDocs |
Import methods | Not specified | BrokerOAuthCSV |
Integrations | Not specified | Interactive BrokersTradier |
Export formats | Not specified | CSVJSON |
| Plans & trust | ||
Capability signals | Not specified | Custom formulasRanking backtestsUniverse builderBroker syncRebalancingCorrelation |
Vendor & support | Khan AcademyCountry: USFounded 2008 | Portfolio123Support: Forum |
Curation ratings | Methodology 4/5Reliability 5/5UX 5/5 | Not specified |
Green tags are exclusive to that tool in this comparison.
Pricing
Plans, billing, free trials, and monthly prices.ShowHide
Pricing
| Tier | ||
|---|---|---|
| Free plan | Free | Free“Manage (Free)” |
| Entry paid plan | — | $300/yr≈ $25/mo“Screener (Annual)”backtest history years: 5 · resource units: 400 · +1 more |
| Tier 2 | — | $35/mo“Screener (Monthly)”backtest history years: 5 · resource units: 400 · +1 more |
| Tier 3 | — | $1000/yr≈ $83.33/mo“Backtest (Annual)”backtest history years: 10 · resource units: 1,000 · +1 more |
| Tier 4 | — | $116/mo“Backtest (Monthly)”backtest history years: 10 · resource units: 1,000 · +1 more |
| Tier 5 | — | $1500/yr≈ $125/mo“Portfolio (Annual)”backtest history years: 15 · resource units: 5,000 · +1 more |
| Tier 6 | — | $174/mo“Portfolio (Monthly)”backtest history years: 15 · resource units: 5,000 · +1 more |
| Tier 7 | — | $2400/yr≈ $200/mo“Ultimate (Annual)”backtest history years: 20 · resource units: 10,000 · +1 more |
| Top plan | — | $278/mo“Ultimate (Monthly)”backtest history years: 20 · resource units: 10,000 · +1 more |
| Custom / enterprise | — | Contact sales“Professional / API & Data Licenses” |
Questions we keep getting
What's the difference between Khan Academy (Economics & Finance) and Portfolio123?
Khan Academy (Economics & Finance) leans toward education, courses & certs, and videos, while Portfolio123 puts more weight on screeners, data visualizations, and quant. They overlap in 2 categories, so for most people it comes down to workflow preference and price.
How much do Khan Academy (Economics & Finance) and Portfolio123 cost?
Good news: both Khan Academy (Economics & Finance) and Portfolio123 have free plans, so you can run them side by side and only pay if you hit a wall.
Can I use Khan Academy (Economics & Finance) or Portfolio123 on my phone?
Khan Academy (Economics & Finance) lists a dedicated mobile app, so it travels better. Portfolio123 doesn't list a dedicated mobile app; its documented access is web, API, and desktop.
Does Khan Academy (Economics & Finance) or Portfolio123 have an API?
Portfolio123 has an API for programmatic access and custom integrations. Khan Academy (Economics & Finance) doesn't, so you're working through its interface.
Should I choose Khan Academy (Economics & Finance) or Portfolio123?
It depends on what you're after. Pick Khan Academy (Economics & Finance) if courses & certs matter to you; go with Portfolio123 if you'd rather have screeners and data visualizations. And if you only need the basics both share, let price decide.
What asset classes do Khan Academy (Economics & Finance) and Portfolio123 cover?
Both cover stocks and ETFs. Khan Academy (Economics & Finance) also handles bonds, options, and mutual funds. Portfolio123 adds closed-end funds on top.
Does Khan Academy (Economics & Finance) or Portfolio123 have real-time data?
Portfolio123 offers real-time data, which matters if you trade actively. Khan Academy (Economics & Finance) runs on delayed or end-of-day data, which is perfectly fine for longer-term investors who don't live and die by the tick.
Can I export data from Khan Academy (Economics & Finance) and Portfolio123?
Portfolio123 exports to CSV. Khan Academy (Economics & Finance) is stingier about getting data out.
Which has a better stock screener: Khan Academy (Economics & Finance) or Portfolio123?
Portfolio123 has a stock screener for surfacing ideas; Khan Academy (Economics & Finance) doesn't, and focuses its energy elsewhere.
Can I track my portfolio with Khan Academy (Economics & Finance) or Portfolio123?
Portfolio123 handles portfolio tracking. Khan Academy (Economics & Finance) is really a research tool; you'd track your portfolio elsewhere.
Feedback
Spot stale pricing, missing features, or a comparison that feels off? Send feedback on the verdict, table, alternatives, or recommendation.
Curation & Accuracy
This directory blends AI‑assisted discovery with human curation. Entries are reviewed, edited, and organized with the goal of expanding coverage and sharpening quality over time. Your feedback helps steer improvements (because no single human can capture everything all at once).
Details change. Pricing, features, and availability may be incomplete or out of date. Treat listings as a starting point and verify on the provider’s site before making decisions. If you spot an error or a gap, send a quick note and I’ll adjust.