BEST INVESTING TOOLS COMPARISON

Checking

Checked Aug 23 to Sep 24, 2026

Tool Comparison

ORTEX vs Robinhood

Paid from
$39/mo
Free plan
Yes
Platforms
Web, Mobile, API

Best if

  • You'd rather start free and only pay if you outgrow it
  • Delayed quotes won't cut it; you need real-time data
  • You want an API so you can script or automate things
Paid from
—
Free plan
No
Platforms
Mobile, Web

Best if

  • You want brokerage, portfolio, and wealth management.

Pick ORTEX if

ORTEX logo

ORTEX

public.ortex.comTested

Free • From $39/mo · Web · Mobile · API

  • You'd rather start free and only pay if you outgrow it
  • Delayed quotes won't cut it; you need real-time data
  • You want an API so you can script or automate things

Pick Robinhood if

Robinhood logo

Robinhood

robinhood.com

Transaction-priced · Fees vary by offer and jurisdiction · Mobile · Web

  • You want brokerage, portfolio, and wealth management.

Skip both if: Neither one clicks with how you research; there are strong third options.

See alternatives

Outbound links may include affiliate or sponsor codes.

Not set on either one? See the top 50 tools, ranked by user votes, or the deals page for big discounts on popular tools.

Our take

The bottom line

ORTEX simply does more: 16 categories to Robinhood's 4, including short interest, insider data, and quant. Robinhood counters by keeping things simpler. On paper they're closely matched, so let pricing, platform fit, and the details below break the tie.

What readers say

ORTEX

No votes yet. Cast the first one.

Robinhood

No votes yet. Cast the first one.

Key differences at a glance

Free plan
ORTEX
Free trial
Robinhood30 days
Broader coverage
ORTEX16 vs 4 categories
API access
ORTEX
Real-time data
ORTEX
Global coverage
ORTEX
See the full side-by-side table
ORTEX logo

What ORTEX does best

  1. Monitor short interest and securities-lending conditions with utilization, cost to borrow, shares on loan, and percentage of free float on loan.
  2. Comparison tools for lending-based short-interest estimates with official U.S. exchange-reported short interest and European flagged-short disclosures.
  3. Tracking intraday and real-time estimates from ORTEX lender and broker data pools where plan access supports those views.
  4. Research coverage for options activity and flow signals using OPRA-sourced options data, with OPRA terms required before access.
  5. Rule-based Short Squeeze, EPS, RSI, MACD, and Company Events signals with historical performance shown beside each trigger.
Robinhood logo

What Robinhood does best

  1. Trading access for U.S. listed and OTC securities, including ETFs and closed-end funds, with $0 self-directed commissions where regulatory and other pass-through fees may still apply.
  2. Trading access for listed options after approval, with index options contract fees discounted for Robinhood Gold users.
  3. Robinhood Gold includes higher Instant Deposit limits, a preferred IRA match, the first $1,000 of margin borrowing, and discounted derivatives fees.
  4. Gold members can enroll eligible taxable accounts in the High-Yield Cash Program.
  5. Trading access for crypto through Robinhood Crypto, with costs depending on routing model, Smart Exchange Routing fees, network fees, and staking commissions where applicable.

Side by side

Pricing & plans
Starting price
Free • From $39/mo
Transaction-priced · Fees vary by offer and jurisdiction
Free tier
Yes
No
Free trial
—
30 days
Platforms & access
Web app
Yes
Yes
Mobile app
Yes
Yes
API access
Yes
No
Broker sync
No
—
Integrations
Microsoft Excel (Add-in), Python SDK +1 more
EDX Markets and Bitstamp USA
Coverage & data
Asset types
StocksETFsOptionsCurrencies
StocksETFsClosed-End FundsOptionsFuturesCryptos
Target audience
Not specified
Retail TradersPro Retail
Data freshness
Real-timeEnd of Day
Not specified
Data granularity
MinuteEOD
Not specified
Export formats
CSV
Not specified

Pricing comparison

Free plan
Free
Free“Standard (Self-directed brokerage)”
Entry paid plan
$39/mo“Basic Annual”
$50/yr≈ $4.17/mo“Robinhood Gold (Annual)”
Tier 2
$49/mo“Basic Monthly”
$5/mo“Robinhood Gold (Monthly)”
Tier 3
$99/mo“Advanced Annual”
—
Tier 4
$149/mo“Advanced Monthly”
—
Tier 5
$49/mo“API Trader”
—
Tier 6
$149/mo“API Quant”
—
Top plan
$499/mo“API Developer”
—
Custom / enterprise
Contact sales“API Enterprise”
—
Free trial
—
30 days

See for yourself

Side by side

Price, platforms, data, and market coverage.
Show
Side-by-side comparison of ORTEX and Robinhood
Attribute
ORTEX logo
ORTEX
Robinhood logo
Robinhood
Pricing & plans
Starting price
Free • From $39/moTransaction-priced · Fees vary by offer and jurisdiction
Free tier
YesNo
Free trial
—30 days
Plan limits
6 limits: API Trader: rate limit: 1 req/s, API Trader: scope: Single-stock APIs +4 more5 limits: Standard (Self-directed brokerage): index options contract fee: $0.50 per contract (non-Gold), Robinhood Gold (Monthly): interest free margin borrowing: $1,000 +3 more
Platforms & access
Web app
YesYes
Mobile app
YesYes
API access
YesNo
Broker sync
No—
Integrations
Microsoft Excel (Add-in), Python SDK +1 moreEDX Markets and Bitstamp USA
Audience & fit
Experience level
Beginner, Intermediate, AdvancedBeginner, Intermediate, Advanced
Best for
—Retail Traders and Pro Retail
Categories covered
164
Regions
North America, Europe, APACNorth America
Data & capabilities
Data quality
3 signals: Latency: Real-time and End of Day, Granularity: Minute and EOD +1 more—
Data partners
—EDX Markets, Inc. and Bitstamp USA, Inc.
Capabilities
4 signals: Universe builder, Multi-leg options +2 moreAI summaries: News
Security
—Status page
Try itVisit ORTEXVisit Robinhood

Standout features

The best features of ORTEX and Robinhood.
Show
ORTEX logo

What ORTEX does best

  1. Monitor short interest and securities-lending conditions with utilization, cost to borrow, shares on loan, and percentage of free float on loan.
  2. Comparison tools for lending-based short-interest estimates with official U.S. exchange-reported short interest and European flagged-short disclosures.
  3. Tracking intraday and real-time estimates from ORTEX lender and broker data pools where plan access supports those views.
  4. Research coverage for options activity and flow signals using OPRA-sourced options data, with OPRA terms required before access.
  5. Rule-based Short Squeeze, EPS, RSI, MACD, and Company Events signals with historical performance shown beside each trigger.
Robinhood logo

What Robinhood does best

  1. Trading access for U.S. listed and OTC securities, including ETFs and closed-end funds, with $0 self-directed commissions where regulatory and other pass-through fees may still apply.
  2. Trading access for listed options after approval, with index options contract fees discounted for Robinhood Gold users.
  3. Robinhood Gold includes higher Instant Deposit limits, a preferred IRA match, the first $1,000 of margin borrowing, and discounted derivatives fees.
  4. Gold members can enroll eligible taxable accounts in the High-Yield Cash Program.
  5. Trading access for crypto through Robinhood Crypto, with costs depending on routing model, Smart Exchange Routing fees, network fees, and staking commissions where applicable.

All details

Every attribute we track for ORTEX and Robinhood.
Show
Attribute
ORTEX logo
ORTEX
Robinhood logo
Robinhood
Coverage & fit
Asset types
StocksETFsOptionsCurrencies
StocksETFsClosed-End FundsOptionsFuturesCryptos
Experience
BeginnerIntermediateAdvanced
BeginnerIntermediateAdvanced
Target audience
Not specified
Retail TradersPro Retail
Regions
North AmericaEuropeAPAC
North America
Coverage details
Identifiers: Ticker
Identifiers: Ticker
Data
Data freshness
Real-timeEnd of Day
Not specified
Data granularity
MinuteEOD
Not specified
Data partners
Not specified
EDX Markets, Inc.Bitstamp USA, Inc.
Access & integrations
API protocols
REST
Not specified
API auth & delivery
Auth: APIKeySDKs: Python
Not specified
Integrations
Microsoft Excel (Add-in)Python SDKMCP
EDX MarketsBitstamp USA
Export formats
CSV
Not specified
Plans & trust
Security & compliance
Not specified
Status page
Capability signals
Universe builderMulti-leg optionsGreeksEarnings vol edge
AI summaries: News
Vendor & support
Ortex Technologies LimitedCountry: United KingdomSupport: Email and Phone
Robinhood Markets, Inc.Country: United States
Curation ratings
Methodology 4/5Reliability 4/5UX 4/5
Not specified

Green tags are exclusive to that tool in this comparison.

Pricing

Plans, billing, free trials, and monthly prices.
Show
Plan-by-plan pricing comparison of ORTEX and Robinhood
Tier
ORTEX logo
ORTEX
Robinhood logo
Robinhood
Free plan
Free
Free“Standard (Self-directed brokerage)”index options contract fee: $0.50 per contract (non-Gold)
Entry paid plan
$39/mo“Basic Annual”
$50/yr≈ $4.17/mo“Robinhood Gold (Annual)”interest free margin borrowing: $1,000 · index options contract fee: $0.35 per contract (Gold)
Tier 2
$49/mo“Basic Monthly”
$5/mo“Robinhood Gold (Monthly)”interest free margin borrowing: $1,000 · index options contract fee: $0.35 per contract (Gold)
Tier 3
$99/mo“Advanced Annual”
—
Tier 4
$149/mo“Advanced Monthly”
—
Tier 5
$49/mo“API Trader”rate limit: 1 req/s · scope: Single-stock APIs
—
Tier 6
$149/mo“API Quant”rate limit: 5 req/s · scope: All APIs including bulk endpoints
—
Top plan
$499/mo“API Developer”rate limit: 50 req/s · scope: All APIs including bulk endpoints
—
Custom / enterprise
Contact sales“API Enterprise”
—
Free trial—30 days

Questions we keep getting

What's the difference between ORTEX and Robinhood?

ORTEX leans toward short interest, insider data, and quant, while Robinhood puts more weight on brokerage, portfolio, and options. They overlap in 1 categories, so for most people it comes down to workflow preference and price.

Is ORTEX or Robinhood free to use?

ORTEX has a free tier, so you can get started without paying anything. Robinhood is paid-only. If budget matters, start with ORTEX and see how far it takes you before opening your wallet.

Does ORTEX or Robinhood have an API?

ORTEX has an API for programmatic access and custom integrations. Robinhood doesn't, so you're working through its interface.

Should I choose ORTEX or Robinhood?

It depends on what you're after. Pick ORTEX if short interest and insider data matter to you; go with Robinhood if you'd rather have brokerage and portfolio. And if you only need the basics both share, let price decide.

What asset classes do ORTEX and Robinhood cover?

Both cover stocks, ETFs, and options. ORTEX also handles currencies. Robinhood adds closed-end funds, futures, and cryptos on top.

Does ORTEX or Robinhood have real-time data?

ORTEX offers real-time data, which matters if you trade actively. Robinhood runs on delayed or end-of-day data, which is perfectly fine for longer-term investors who don't live and die by the tick.

Which covers international markets: ORTEX or Robinhood?

ORTEX has documented international coverage (North America, Europe, and APAC), so it's the safer bet if you hold non-US stocks. Robinhood is more region-specific, mainly North America.

Can I export data from ORTEX and Robinhood?

ORTEX exports to CSV. Robinhood is stingier about getting data out.

Which has a better stock screener: ORTEX or Robinhood?

ORTEX has a stock screener for surfacing ideas; Robinhood doesn't, and focuses its energy elsewhere.

Can I track my portfolio with ORTEX or Robinhood?

Robinhood handles portfolio tracking. ORTEX is really a research tool; you'd track your portfolio elsewhere.

Feedback

Spot stale pricing, missing features, or a comparison that feels off? Send feedback on the verdict, table, alternatives, or recommendation.

Curation & Accuracy

This directory blends AI‑assisted discovery with human curation. Entries are reviewed, edited, and organized with the goal of expanding coverage and sharpening quality over time. Your feedback helps steer improvements (because no single human can capture everything all at once).

Details change. Pricing, features, and availability may be incomplete or out of date. Treat listings as a starting point and verify on the provider’s site before making decisions. If you spot an error or a gap, send a quick note and I’ll adjust.