Tool Comparison
Rakuten Securities vs Scalable Capital
- Paid from
- —
- Free plan
- No
- Platforms
- Web, Mobile
Best if
- You want options.
- Paid from
- —
- Free plan
- No
- Platforms
- Web, Mobile
Best if
- You want wealth management.
Pick Rakuten Securities if
Rakuten Securities
Transaction-priced · Fees vary by offer and jurisdiction · Web · Mobile
- You want options.
Pick Scalable Capital if
Scalable Capital
Transaction-priced · Fees vary by offer and jurisdiction · Web · Mobile
- You want wealth management.
Skip both if: Neither one clicks with how you research; there are strong third options.
See alternativesOther tools you might like
Outbound links may include affiliate or sponsor codes.
Not set on either one? See the top 50 tools, ranked by user votes, or the deals page for big discounts on popular tools.
Our take
The bottom line
Rakuten Securities and Scalable Capital cover a lot of the same ground (4 shared categories, including brokerage, portfolio, and watchlist), so for the basics you won't go far wrong with either. Rakuten Securities includes options, and Scalable Capital includes wealth management.
What readers say
Rakuten Securities
No votes yet. Cast the first one.
Scalable Capital
No votes yet. Cast the first one.
Key differences at a glance
- Asset coverage
- Rakuten SecuritiesAdds options and futures
What Rakuten Securities does best
- Japanese cash equities with a conditional ¥0 Zero Course.
- U.S. stocks and ETFs at 0.495%, capped at $22 per trade.
- Kabumini eligible Japanese odd lots from one whole share; real-time trades have a 0.22% spread.
- Mutual funds, bonds, NISA and derivatives in the wider account suite.
- Free eligible real-time deposits and standard domestic withdrawals.
What Scalable Capital does best
- Stock and ETF trading through supported European venues, with FREE and PRIME+ plans using different fee rules and order-size assumptions.
- Free savings plans, including small recurring investments where supported.
- PRIME+ charges €0 for eligible European Investor Exchange orders of at least €250; Xetra and gettex orders cost €1.99 on both plans.
- Supported stocks, ETFs, mutual funds, bonds, derivatives, and crypto ETPs from a web or mobile brokerage workflow.
- Scalable Wealth runs automated ETF-based portfolios, with management fees that step down at higher account sizes.
Side by side
Pricing comparison
See for yourself
Side by side
Price, platforms, data, and market coverage.ShowHide
Side by side
| Attribute | ||
|---|---|---|
| Pricing & plans | ||
Starting price | Transaction-priced · Fees vary by offer and jurisdiction | Transaction-priced · Fees vary by offer and jurisdiction |
Free tier | No | No |
Free trial | — | — |
Plan limits | — | 5 limits: FREE: european investor exchange order from250 eur: 0.99, FREE: prime etf purchase on eix from250 eur: 0 +3 more |
| Platforms & access | ||
Web app | Yes | Yes |
Mobile app | Yes | Yes |
API access | No | No |
Broker sync | — | No |
Integrations | — | Scalable CLI and Scalable MCP |
| Audience & fit | ||
Experience level | Beginner, Intermediate, Advanced | Beginner, Intermediate, Advanced |
Best for | — | — |
Categories covered | 5 | 5 |
Regions | APAC | Europe |
| Data & capabilities | ||
Data quality | — | Timezone: Europe/Berlin |
Security | — | Status page |
| Try it | Visit Rakuten Securities | Visit Scalable Capital |
Standout features
The best features of Rakuten Securities and Scalable Capital.ShowHide
Standout features
What Rakuten Securities does best
- Japanese cash equities with a conditional ¥0 Zero Course.
- U.S. stocks and ETFs at 0.495%, capped at $22 per trade.
- Kabumini eligible Japanese odd lots from one whole share; real-time trades have a 0.22% spread.
- Mutual funds, bonds, NISA and derivatives in the wider account suite.
- Free eligible real-time deposits and standard domestic withdrawals.
What Scalable Capital does best
- Stock and ETF trading through supported European venues, with FREE and PRIME+ plans using different fee rules and order-size assumptions.
- Free savings plans, including small recurring investments where supported.
- PRIME+ charges €0 for eligible European Investor Exchange orders of at least €250; Xetra and gettex orders cost €1.99 on both plans.
- Supported stocks, ETFs, mutual funds, bonds, derivatives, and crypto ETPs from a web or mobile brokerage workflow.
- Scalable Wealth runs automated ETF-based portfolios, with management fees that step down at higher account sizes.
All details
Every attribute we track for Rakuten Securities and Scalable Capital.ShowHide
All details
| Attribute | ||
|---|---|---|
| Coverage & fit | ||
Asset types | StocksETFsMutual FundsBondsOptionsFutures | StocksETFsMutual FundsBonds |
Experience | BeginnerIntermediateAdvanced | BeginnerIntermediateAdvanced |
Regions | APAC | Europe |
Coverage details | Countries: JPExchanges: XTKS, XNAS, and XNYSIdentifiers: Ticker and ISIN | 6 countriesExchanges: XETR, XMUN, and European Investor ExchangeIdentifiers: Ticker |
| Access & integrations | ||
Integrations | Not specified | Scalable CLIScalable MCP |
Export formats | CSVPDF | CSVPDF |
| Plans & trust | ||
Security & compliance | Not specified | Status page |
Vendor & support | Rakuten Securities, Inc.Country: JapanSupport: Phone and Chat | Scalable Capital GmbHCountry: GermanyFounded 2014Support: Email |
Curation ratings | Not specified | Methodology 3/5Reliability 4/5UX 4/5 |
Green tags are exclusive to that tool in this comparison.
Pricing
Plans, billing, free trials, and monthly prices.ShowHide
Pricing
| Tier | ||
|---|---|---|
| Free plan | — | Freeeuropean investor exchange order from250 eur: 0.99 · prime etf purchase on eix from250 eur: 0 · +1 more |
| Entry paid plan | — | €4.99/mo“PRIME+ Broker”european investor exchange order from250 eur: 0 · xetra and gettex order eur: 1.99 |
Questions we keep getting
What's the difference between Rakuten Securities and Scalable Capital?
Rakuten Securities leans toward brokerage, portfolio, and watchlist, while Scalable Capital puts more weight on brokerage, wealth management, and portfolio. They overlap in 4 categories, so for most people it comes down to workflow preference and price.
How much do Rakuten Securities and Scalable Capital cost?
Neither has a free plan; you'll need a paid subscription for the full feature set of either. Check each tool's current plan details before buying.
Should I choose Rakuten Securities or Scalable Capital?
It depends on what you're after. Pick Rakuten Securities if options matter to you; go with Scalable Capital if you'd rather have wealth management. And if you only need the basics both share, let price decide.
What asset classes do Rakuten Securities and Scalable Capital cover?
Both cover stocks, ETFs, mutual funds, and bonds. Rakuten Securities also handles options and futures.
Can I export data from Rakuten Securities and Scalable Capital?
Yes, both export to spreadsheets (CSV), which is handy if you like running your own numbers.
Can I track my portfolio with Rakuten Securities or Scalable Capital?
Yes, both do portfolio tracking: holdings, performance, and allocation in one place.
Feedback
Spot stale pricing, missing features, or a comparison that feels off? Send feedback on the verdict, table, alternatives, or recommendation.
Curation & Accuracy
This directory blends AI‑assisted discovery with human curation. Entries are reviewed, edited, and organized with the goal of expanding coverage and sharpening quality over time. Your feedback helps steer improvements (because no single human can capture everything all at once).
Details change. Pricing, features, and availability may be incomplete or out of date. Treat listings as a starting point and verify on the provider’s site before making decisions. If you spot an error or a gap, send a quick note and I’ll adjust.