BEST INVESTING TOOLS COMPARISON

Checking

Checked Aug 23 to Sep 24, 2026

Tool Comparison

GuruFocus vs Robinhood

GuruFocus

TestedMost versatile pick
Review & pricing
Paid from
$45.75/mo
Free plan
Yes
Platforms
Web, Mobile, API

Best if

  • You'd rather start free and only pay if you outgrow it
  • You want an API so you can script or automate things
  • You want stock ideas, screeners, and ETF screeners.
Paid from
—
Free plan
No
Platforms
Mobile, Web

Best if

  • You want brokerage and wealth management.
Most versatile pick

Start here

GuruFocus logo

GuruFocus

gurufocus.comTested

Free • From $549/yr · Web · Mobile · API

  • You'd rather start free and only pay if you outgrow it
  • You want an API so you can script or automate things
  • You want stock ideas, screeners, and ETF screeners.

Pick Robinhood instead if

Robinhood logo

Robinhood

robinhood.com

Transaction-priced · Fees vary by offer and jurisdiction · Mobile · Web

  • You want brokerage and wealth management.

Skip both if: Neither one clicks with how you research; there are strong third options.

See alternatives

Outbound links may include affiliate or sponsor codes.

Not set on either one? See the top 50 tools, ranked by user votes, or the deals page for big discounts on popular tools.

Our take

The bottom line

GuruFocus and Robinhood cover a lot of the same ground (2 shared categories, portfolio and options), so for the basics you won't go far wrong with either. GuruFocus simply does more: 49 categories to Robinhood's 4, including stock ideas, screeners, and ETF screeners. Robinhood counters by keeping things simpler.

What readers say

GuruFocus

No votes yet. Cast the first one.

Robinhood

No votes yet. Cast the first one.

Key differences at a glance

Free plan
GuruFocus
Broader coverage
GuruFocus49 vs 4 categories
API access
GuruFocus
Global coverage
GuruFocus
See the full side-by-side table
GuruFocus logo

What GuruFocus does best

  1. Research coverage for global stocks with long historical financials, valuation data, charts, comparisons, market valuation indicators, economic indicators, industry data, and company-level fundamentals.
  2. The All-in-One Screener with hundreds of filters across fundamentals, valuation, profitability, growth, dividends, guru holdings, insider trades, predefined value screens, custom filters, saved screens, and downloads.
  3. ETF Screener and ETF GF Scores for filtering and comparing more than 5,000 U.S.
  4. Corporate and government bond screening by yield, maturity, ratings, coupon structure, outstanding amount, issuer, and industry, plus company-level bond tabs.
  5. Backtest screener strategies across many countries with configurable stock count, ranking metric, sort order, date range, and rebalance frequency; current membership terms give Premium the latest five years and Premium Plus/Professional history back to 2006.
Robinhood logo

What Robinhood does best

  1. Trading access for U.S. listed and OTC securities, including ETFs and closed-end funds, with $0 self-directed commissions where regulatory and other pass-through fees may still apply.
  2. Trading access for listed options after approval, with index options contract fees discounted for Robinhood Gold users.
  3. Robinhood Gold includes higher Instant Deposit limits, a preferred IRA match, the first $1,000 of margin borrowing, and discounted derivatives fees.
  4. Gold members can enroll eligible taxable accounts in the High-Yield Cash Program.
  5. Trading access for crypto through Robinhood Crypto, with costs depending on routing model, Smart Exchange Routing fees, network fees, and staking commissions where applicable.

Side by side

Pricing & plans
Starting price
Free • From $549/yr
Transaction-priced · Fees vary by offer and jurisdiction
Free tier
Yes
No
Free trial
7 days
30 days
Platforms & access
Web app
Yes
Yes
Mobile app
Yes
Yes
API access
Yes
No
Broker sync
Yes
—
Integrations
GuruFocus Data API, GuruFocus MCP Server +3 more
EDX Markets and Bitstamp USA
Coverage & data
Asset types
StocksETFsBondsMutual FundsOptionsFundsOther
StocksETFsClosed-End FundsOptionsFuturesCryptos
Target audience
Retail TradersPro RetailLong-term InvestorsValue InvestorsQuality InvestorsDividend InvestorsAnalystsQuants/Developers+3 more
Retail TradersPro Retail
Data freshness
End of Day
Not specified
Data granularity
EOD
Not specified
Export formats
CSVExcelJSON
Not specified

Pricing comparison

Free plan
Free
Free“Standard (Self-directed brokerage)”
Entry paid plan
$549/yr≈ $45.75/mo“Premium”
$50/yr≈ $4.17/mo“Robinhood Gold (Annual)”
Tier 2
$200/mo“Data API Builder”
$5/mo“Robinhood Gold (Monthly)”
Tier 3
$2000/mo“Data API Commercial”
—
Tier 4
Subscription“Premium Plus”
—
Tier 5
Subscription“Professional”
—
Top plan
$100 per unit“Data API Pay As You Go”
—
Custom / enterprise
Contact sales“Custom API / Enterprise Package”
—
Free trial
7 days
30 days

See for yourself

Side by side

Price, platforms, data, and market coverage.
Show
Side-by-side comparison of GuruFocus and Robinhood
Attribute
GuruFocus logo
GuruFocus
Robinhood logo
Robinhood
Pricing & plans
Starting price
Free • From $549/yrTransaction-priced · Fees vary by offer and jurisdiction
Free tier
YesNo
Free trial
7 days30 days
Plan limits
57 limits: Free: portfolio limit: Up to 3 portfolios with 25 stocks each for free members, Free: data api requests: 100/month included in the Free API package +55 more5 limits: Standard (Self-directed brokerage): index options contract fee: $0.50 per contract (non-Gold), Robinhood Gold (Monthly): interest free margin borrowing: $1,000 +3 more
Platforms & access
Web app
YesYes
Mobile app
YesYes
API access
YesNo
Broker sync
Yes—
Integrations
GuruFocus Data API, GuruFocus MCP Server +3 moreEDX Markets and Bitstamp USA
Audience & fit
Experience level
Beginner, Intermediate, AdvancedBeginner, Intermediate, Advanced
Best for
Retail Traders, Pro Retail +9 moreRetail Traders and Pro Retail
Categories covered
494
Regions
North America, Europe, APAC, LatAm, Middle East, AfricaNorth America
Data & capabilities
Data quality
5 signals: Latency: End of Day, Granularity: EOD +3 more—
Data partners
5 partners: QuoteMedia, Morningstar +3 moreEDX Markets, Inc. and Bitstamp USA, Inc.
Capabilities
9 signals: Custom formulas, Ranking backtests +7 moreAI summaries: News
Security
Status page and Encryption in transitStatus page
Try itVisit GuruFocusVisit Robinhood

Standout features

The best features of GuruFocus and Robinhood.
Show
GuruFocus logo

What GuruFocus does best

  1. Research coverage for global stocks with long historical financials, valuation data, charts, comparisons, market valuation indicators, economic indicators, industry data, and company-level fundamentals.
  2. The All-in-One Screener with hundreds of filters across fundamentals, valuation, profitability, growth, dividends, guru holdings, insider trades, predefined value screens, custom filters, saved screens, and downloads.
  3. ETF Screener and ETF GF Scores for filtering and comparing more than 5,000 U.S.
  4. Corporate and government bond screening by yield, maturity, ratings, coupon structure, outstanding amount, issuer, and industry, plus company-level bond tabs.
  5. Backtest screener strategies across many countries with configurable stock count, ranking metric, sort order, date range, and rebalance frequency; current membership terms give Premium the latest five years and Premium Plus/Professional history back to 2006.
Robinhood logo

What Robinhood does best

  1. Trading access for U.S. listed and OTC securities, including ETFs and closed-end funds, with $0 self-directed commissions where regulatory and other pass-through fees may still apply.
  2. Trading access for listed options after approval, with index options contract fees discounted for Robinhood Gold users.
  3. Robinhood Gold includes higher Instant Deposit limits, a preferred IRA match, the first $1,000 of margin borrowing, and discounted derivatives fees.
  4. Gold members can enroll eligible taxable accounts in the High-Yield Cash Program.
  5. Trading access for crypto through Robinhood Crypto, with costs depending on routing model, Smart Exchange Routing fees, network fees, and staking commissions where applicable.

All details

Every attribute we track for GuruFocus and Robinhood.
Show
Attribute
GuruFocus logo
GuruFocus
Robinhood logo
Robinhood
Coverage & fit
Asset types
StocksETFsBondsMutual FundsOptionsFundsOther
StocksETFsClosed-End FundsOptionsFuturesCryptos
Experience
BeginnerIntermediateAdvanced
BeginnerIntermediateAdvanced
Target audience
Retail TradersPro RetailLong-term InvestorsValue InvestorsQuality InvestorsDividend InvestorsAnalystsQuants/Developers+3 more
Retail TradersPro Retail
Regions
North AmericaEuropeAPACLatAmMiddle EastAfrica
North America
Coverage details
Identifiers: Ticker and CIK
Identifiers: Ticker
Data
Data freshness
End of Day
Not specified
Data granularity
EOD
Not specified
Pricing sources
ExchangeVendorModel
Not specified
Data partners
QuoteMediaMorningstarRefinitivFREDSEC / local regulators
EDX Markets, Inc.Bitstamp USA, Inc.
Access & integrations
API protocols
REST
Not specified
API auth & delivery
Auth: APIKeySDKs: Python and GoDocs
Not specified
Import methods
CSVBrokerOAuthManual
Not specified
Integrations
GuruFocus Data APIGuruFocus MCP ServerGuruFocus Excel Add-inGuruFocus Google Sheets Add-onSnapTrade
EDX MarketsBitstamp USA
Export formats
CSVExcelJSON
Not specified
Plans & trust
Security & compliance
Status pageEncryption in transit
Status page
Capability signals
Custom formulasRanking backtestsUniverse builderFactors: Value, Quality, Momentum, and GrowthBroker syncMulti-currencyYield curvesCredit ratings+1 more
AI summaries: News
Vendor & support
GuruFocus.com, LLCCountry: United StatesFounded 2004Support: Email, Chat, Phone, and Forum
Robinhood Markets, Inc.Country: United States

Green tags are exclusive to that tool in this comparison.

Pricing

Plans, billing, free trials, and monthly prices.
Show
Plan-by-plan pricing comparison of GuruFocus and Robinhood
Tier
GuruFocus logo
GuruFocus
Robinhood logo
Robinhood
Free plan
Freeportfolio limit: Up to 3 portfolios with 25 stocks each for free members · data api requests: 100/month included in the Free API package · +1 more
Free“Standard (Self-directed brokerage)”index options contract fee: $0.50 per contract (non-Gold)
Entry paid plan
$549/yr≈ $45.75/mo“Premium”billing: Annual only · region price: $549/year for USA, Asia, or Europe; $369/year for several other regions · +7 more
$50/yr≈ $4.17/mo“Robinhood Gold (Annual)”interest free margin borrowing: $1,000 · index options contract fee: $0.35 per contract (Gold)
Tier 2
$200/mo“Data API Builder”billing: Billed annually · monthly request limit: No limit · +12 more
$5/mo“Robinhood Gold (Monthly)”interest free margin borrowing: $1,000 · index options contract fee: $0.35 per contract (Gold)
Tier 3
$2000/mo“Data API Commercial”billing: Billed annually · monthly request limit: No limit · +1 more
—
Tier 4
Subscription“Premium Plus”billing: Annual only · public price: Current rendered pricing could not establish the Premium Plus amount · +4 more
—
Tier 5
Subscription“Professional”billing: Annual only · public price: Current rendered pricing could not establish the Professional amount · +1 more
—
Top plan
$100 per unit“Data API Pay As You Go”initial top up: $100 credit · stock daily prices: $0.05/request · +16 more
—
Custom / enterprise
Contact sales“Custom API / Enterprise Package”
—
Free trial7 days30 days

Questions we keep getting

What's the difference between GuruFocus and Robinhood?

GuruFocus leans toward stock ideas, screeners, and ETF screeners, while Robinhood puts more weight on brokerage, portfolio, and options. They overlap in 2 categories, so for most people it comes down to workflow preference and price.

Is GuruFocus or Robinhood free to use?

GuruFocus has a free tier, so you can get started without paying anything. Robinhood is paid-only. If budget matters, start with GuruFocus and see how far it takes you before opening your wallet.

Does GuruFocus or Robinhood have an API?

GuruFocus has an API for programmatic access and custom integrations. Robinhood doesn't, so you're working through its interface.

Should I choose GuruFocus or Robinhood?

It depends on what you're after. Pick GuruFocus if stock ideas and screeners matter to you; go with Robinhood if you'd rather have brokerage and wealth management. And if you only need the basics both share, let price decide.

What asset classes do GuruFocus and Robinhood cover?

Both cover stocks, ETFs, and options. GuruFocus also handles bonds, mutual funds, and funds. Robinhood adds closed-end funds, futures, and cryptos on top.

Which covers international markets: GuruFocus or Robinhood?

GuruFocus has documented international coverage (North America, Europe, APAC, LatAm, and more), so it's the safer bet if you hold non-US stocks. Robinhood is more region-specific, mainly North America.

Can I export data from GuruFocus and Robinhood?

GuruFocus exports to CSV and Excel. Robinhood is stingier about getting data out.

Which has a better stock screener: GuruFocus or Robinhood?

GuruFocus has a stock screener for surfacing ideas; Robinhood doesn't, and focuses its energy elsewhere.

Can I track my portfolio with GuruFocus or Robinhood?

Yes, both do portfolio tracking: holdings, performance, and allocation in one place.

Feedback

Spot stale pricing, missing features, or a comparison that feels off? Send feedback on the verdict, table, alternatives, or recommendation.

Curation & Accuracy

This directory blends AI‑assisted discovery with human curation. Entries are reviewed, edited, and organized with the goal of expanding coverage and sharpening quality over time. Your feedback helps steer improvements (because no single human can capture everything all at once).

Details change. Pricing, features, and availability may be incomplete or out of date. Treat listings as a starting point and verify on the provider’s site before making decisions. If you spot an error or a gap, send a quick note and I’ll adjust.