BEST INVESTING TOOLS COMPARISON

Checking

Checked September 24, 2026

Tool Comparison

Interactive Brokers (IBKR) vs N26

Paid from
—
Free plan
No
Platforms
Web, Mobile, Desktop

Best if

  • Delayed quotes won't cut it; you need real-time data
  • You want an API so you can script or automate things
  • You want advanced order types, smart/direct routing, and paper trading.
Paid from
—
Free plan
No
Platforms
Mobile

Best if

  • You want wealth management.
Most versatile pick

Start here

Interactive Brokers (IBKR) logo

Interactive Brokers (IBKR)

interactivebrokers.ieTested

Transaction-priced · Fees vary by offer and jurisdiction · Web · Mobile · Desktop

  • Delayed quotes won't cut it; you need real-time data
  • You want an API so you can script or automate things
  • You want advanced order types, smart/direct routing, and paper trading.

Pick N26 instead if

N26 logo

N26

n26.com

Transaction-priced · Fees vary by offer and jurisdiction · Mobile

  • You want wealth management.

Skip both if: Neither one clicks with how you research; there are strong third options.

See alternatives

Outbound links may include affiliate or sponsor codes.

Not set on either one? See the top 50 tools, ranked by user votes, or the deals page for big discounts on popular tools.

Our take

The bottom line

Interactive Brokers (IBKR) and N26 cover a lot of the same ground (2 shared categories, brokerage and watchlist), so for the basics you won't go far wrong with either. Interactive Brokers (IBKR) simply does more: 14 categories to N26's 3, including advanced order types, smart/direct routing, and paper trading. N26 counters by keeping things simpler.

What readers say

Interactive Brokers (IBKR)

No votes yet. Cast the first one.

N26

No votes yet. Cast the first one.

Key differences at a glance

Real-time data
Interactive Brokers (IBKR)
Broader coverage
Interactive Brokers (IBKR)14 vs 3 categories
Desktop app
Interactive Brokers (IBKR)
API access
Interactive Brokers (IBKR)
Asset coverage
Interactive Brokers (IBKR)Adds options and futures
See the full side-by-side table
Interactive Brokers (IBKR) logo

What Interactive Brokers (IBKR) does best

  1. Stocks, ETFs, options, futures, futures options, spot FX, bonds, mutual funds, commodities, structured products, CFDs, crypto-related products, and spot crypto where jurisdiction allows.
  2. Client Portal, Trader Workstation, IBKR Desktop, IBKR Mobile, GlobalTrader, paper trading, and API access cover different workflows.
  3. IB SmartRouting, advanced order types, conditional orders, bracket workflows, options combos, and algorithmic order tools across supported products.
  4. TWS API, Web API, REST, WebSocket streaming, FIX, and Flex Web Service support trading and reporting workflows.
  5. Paper trading with separate credentials and simulated buying power once a live account is approved.
N26 logo

What N26 does best

  1. Stock and ETF trading inside the N26 mobile app where eligible, with transaction pricing and plan allowances per country.
  2. Fractional investing from as little as 1 euro, including recurring investment plans on supported schedules.
  3. Automated investment plans run weekly, bi-weekly, monthly, or quarterly for eligible stocks and ETFs.
  4. More than 5,000 stocks, ETFs, and ETCs on the current Spain product page.
  5. Ready-made BlackRock funds in Mindful, Balanced, and Ambitious profiles where fund investing is available.

Side by side

Pricing & plans
Starting price
Transaction-priced · Fees vary by offer and jurisdiction
Transaction-priced · Fees vary by offer and jurisdiction
Free tier
No
No
Free trial
—
—
Platforms & access
Web app
Yes
No
Desktop app
Yes
No
Mobile app
Yes
Yes
API access
Yes
No
Broker sync
—
No
Integrations
TradingView, Quicken +2 more
Upvest Securities GmbH and Bitpanda Asset Management GmbH
Coverage & data
Asset types
StocksETFsOptionsFuturesCurrenciesBondsMutual FundsCommodities+2 more
StocksETFsCryptos
Target audience
Retail TradersPro RetailInstitutional InvestorsDay TradersSwing TradersAlgo TradersLong-term InvestorsFinancial Advisors+1 more
Not specified
Data freshness
StreamingReal-time
Not specified
Data granularity
Tick
Not specified
Export formats
PDFCSVXML
Not specified

Pricing comparison

Free plan
Free“Brokerage Account”
Free“Standard (Spain)”
Entry paid plan
—
€4.90/mo“Smart (Spain)”
Tier 2
—
€9.90/mo“Go (Spain)”
Top plan
—
€16.90/mo“Metal (Spain)”

See for yourself

Side by side

Price, platforms, data, and market coverage.
Show
Side-by-side comparison of Interactive Brokers (IBKR) and N26
Attribute
Interactive Brokers (IBKR) logo
Interactive Brokers (IBKR)
N26 logo
N26
Pricing & plans
Starting price
Transaction-priced · Fees vary by offer and jurisdictionTransaction-priced · Fees vary by offer and jurisdiction
Free tier
NoNo
Free trial
——
Plan limits
8 limits: UK / Europe Stocks and ETFs: commission: £3/€3 per Western European stock or ETF trade at typical trade sizes;..., US Stocks and ETFs - IBKR Pro: tiered commission: USD 0.0005 to USD 0.0035 per share +6 more5 limits: Standard (Spain): stock etf etc trade fee eur: 0.9, Smart (Spain): stock etf etc trade fee eur: 0.9 +3 more
Platforms & access
Web app
YesNo
Desktop app
YesNo
Mobile app
YesYes
API access
YesNo
Broker sync
—No
Integrations
TradingView, Quicken +2 moreUpvest Securities GmbH and Bitpanda Asset Management GmbH
Audience & fit
Experience level
Beginner, Intermediate, AdvancedBeginner, Intermediate, Advanced
Best for
Retail Traders, Pro Retail +7 more—
Categories covered
143
Regions
North America, Europe, APACEurope
Data & capabilities
Data quality
3 signals: Latency: Streaming and Real-time, Granularity: Tick +1 moreTimezone: Europe/Berlin
Capabilities
7 signals: Multi-leg options, Greeks +5 more—
Security
Status page and Encryption in transit—
Try itVisit Interactive Brokers (IBKR)Visit N26

Standout features

The best features of Interactive Brokers (IBKR) and N26.
Show
Interactive Brokers (IBKR) logo

What Interactive Brokers (IBKR) does best

  1. Stocks, ETFs, options, futures, futures options, spot FX, bonds, mutual funds, commodities, structured products, CFDs, crypto-related products, and spot crypto where jurisdiction allows.
  2. Client Portal, Trader Workstation, IBKR Desktop, IBKR Mobile, GlobalTrader, paper trading, and API access cover different workflows.
  3. IB SmartRouting, advanced order types, conditional orders, bracket workflows, options combos, and algorithmic order tools across supported products.
  4. TWS API, Web API, REST, WebSocket streaming, FIX, and Flex Web Service support trading and reporting workflows.
  5. Paper trading with separate credentials and simulated buying power once a live account is approved.
N26 logo

What N26 does best

  1. Stock and ETF trading inside the N26 mobile app where eligible, with transaction pricing and plan allowances per country.
  2. Fractional investing from as little as 1 euro, including recurring investment plans on supported schedules.
  3. Automated investment plans run weekly, bi-weekly, monthly, or quarterly for eligible stocks and ETFs.
  4. More than 5,000 stocks, ETFs, and ETCs on the current Spain product page.
  5. Ready-made BlackRock funds in Mindful, Balanced, and Ambitious profiles where fund investing is available.

All details

Every attribute we track for Interactive Brokers (IBKR) and N26.
Show
Attribute
Interactive Brokers (IBKR) logo
Interactive Brokers (IBKR)
N26 logo
N26
Coverage & fit
Asset types
StocksETFsOptionsFuturesCurrenciesBondsMutual FundsCommodities+2 more
StocksETFsCryptos
Experience
BeginnerIntermediateAdvanced
BeginnerIntermediateAdvanced
Target audience
Retail TradersPro RetailInstitutional InvestorsDay TradersSwing TradersAlgo TradersLong-term InvestorsFinancial Advisors+1 more
Not specified
Regions
North AmericaEuropeAPAC
Europe
Coverage details
Identifiers: Ticker
18 countriesIdentifiers: ISIN and Ticker
Data
Data freshness
StreamingReal-time
Not specified
Data granularity
Tick
Not specified
Access & integrations
API protocols
RESTWebSocket
Not specified
API auth & delivery
Auth: OAuth2SDKs: Python600 req/minDocs
Not specified
Integrations
TradingViewQuickenTradelogCapTools
Upvest Securities GmbHBitpanda Asset Management GmbH
Export formats
PDFCSVXML
Not specified
Plans & trust
Security & compliance
Status pageEncryption in transit
Not specified
Capability signals
Multi-leg optionsGreeksVaR/ESPerformance attributionPortfolio attributionRebalancingMulti-currency
Not specified
Vendor & support
Interactive Brokers (U.K.) LimitedCountry: United KingdomSupport: Chat and Phone
N26 SECountry: GermanyFounded 2013Support: Email and Chat
Curation ratings
Not specified
Methodology 4/5Reliability 4/5UX 4/5

Green tags are exclusive to that tool in this comparison.

Pricing

Plans, billing, free trials, and monthly prices.
Show
Plan-by-plan pricing comparison of Interactive Brokers (IBKR) and N26
Tier
Interactive Brokers (IBKR) logo
Interactive Brokers (IBKR)
N26 logo
N26
Free plan
Free“Brokerage Account”
Free“Standard (Spain)”stock etf etc trade fee eur: 0.9
Entry paid plan—
€4.90/mo“Smart (Spain)”stock etf etc trade fee eur: 0.9 · spaces: 10
Tier 2—
€9.90/mo“Go (Spain)”free trades per month: 3
Top plan—
€16.90/mo“Metal (Spain)”free trades per month: 10

Questions we keep getting

What's the difference between Interactive Brokers (IBKR) and N26?

Interactive Brokers (IBKR) leans toward brokerage, advanced order types, and smart/direct routing, while N26 puts more weight on brokerage, wealth management, and watchlist. They overlap in 2 categories, so for most people it comes down to workflow preference and price.

How much do Interactive Brokers (IBKR) and N26 cost?

Neither has a free plan; you'll need a paid subscription for the full feature set of either. Check each tool's current plan details before buying.

Does Interactive Brokers (IBKR) or N26 have an API?

Interactive Brokers (IBKR) has an API for programmatic access and custom integrations. N26 doesn't, so you're working through its interface.

Should I choose Interactive Brokers (IBKR) or N26?

It depends on what you're after. Pick Interactive Brokers (IBKR) if advanced order types and smart/direct routing matter to you; go with N26 if you'd rather have wealth management. And if you only need the basics both share, let price decide.

What asset classes do Interactive Brokers (IBKR) and N26 cover?

Both cover stocks, ETFs, and cryptos. Interactive Brokers (IBKR) also handles options, futures, and currencies.

Does Interactive Brokers (IBKR) or N26 have real-time data?

Interactive Brokers (IBKR) offers real-time data, which matters if you trade actively. N26 runs on delayed or end-of-day data, which is perfectly fine for longer-term investors who don't live and die by the tick.

Can I export data from Interactive Brokers (IBKR) and N26?

Interactive Brokers (IBKR) exports to CSV. N26 is stingier about getting data out.

Is Interactive Brokers (IBKR) or N26 better for day trading?

Interactive Brokers (IBKR) is the one positioned more for active traders. N26 is the better fit if you care less about fast trading workflows and more about a calmer research process.

Which has a better stock screener: Interactive Brokers (IBKR) or N26?

Interactive Brokers (IBKR) has a stock screener for surfacing ideas; N26 doesn't, and focuses its energy elsewhere.

Can I track my portfolio with Interactive Brokers (IBKR) or N26?

Interactive Brokers (IBKR) handles portfolio tracking. N26 is really a research tool; you'd track your portfolio elsewhere.

Feedback

Spot stale pricing, missing features, or a comparison that feels off? Send feedback on the verdict, table, alternatives, or recommendation.

Curation & Accuracy

This directory blends AI‑assisted discovery with human curation. Entries are reviewed, edited, and organized with the goal of expanding coverage and sharpening quality over time. Your feedback helps steer improvements (because no single human can capture everything all at once).

Details change. Pricing, features, and availability may be incomplete or out of date. Treat listings as a starting point and verify on the provider’s site before making decisions. If you spot an error or a gap, send a quick note and I’ll adjust.