BEST INVESTING TOOLS COMPARISON

Checking

Checked September 24, 2026

Tool Comparison

MarketWatch vs N26

MarketWatch

TestedMost versatile pick
Review & pricing
Paid from
—
Free plan
Yes
Platforms
Web, Mobile

Best if

  • You'd rather start free and only pay if you outgrow it
  • Delayed quotes won't cut it; you need real-time data
  • You want news, alerts, and calendar.
Paid from
—
Free plan
No
Platforms
Mobile

Best if

  • You want brokerage and wealth management.
Most versatile pick

Start here

MarketWatch logo

MarketWatch

marketwatch.comTested

Free • Paid plans available · Web · Mobile

  • You'd rather start free and only pay if you outgrow it
  • Delayed quotes won't cut it; you need real-time data
  • You want news, alerts, and calendar.

Pick N26 instead if

N26 logo

N26

n26.com

Transaction-priced · Fees vary by offer and jurisdiction · Mobile

  • You want brokerage and wealth management.

Skip both if: Neither one clicks with how you research; there are strong third options.

See alternatives

Other tools you might like

Outbound links may include affiliate or sponsor codes.

Not set on either one? See the top 50 tools, ranked by user votes, or the deals page for big discounts on popular tools.

Our take

The bottom line

MarketWatch simply does more: 17 categories to N26's 3, including news, alerts, and calendar. N26 counters by keeping things simpler. On paper they're closely matched, so let pricing, platform fit, and the details below break the tie.

What readers say

MarketWatch

No votes yet. Cast the first one.

N26

No votes yet. Cast the first one.

Key differences at a glance

Free plan
MarketWatch
Broader coverage
MarketWatch17 vs 3 categories
Real-time data
MarketWatch
Asset coverage
MarketWatchAdds mutual funds and options
See the full side-by-side table
MarketWatch logo

What MarketWatch does best

  1. Read market news and analysis covering equities, funds, options, futures, commodities, currencies, crypto, and rates.
  2. Quote pages, multi-quote lookup, stock and market screeners, mutual-fund research, ETF pages, fund comparisons, and basic company financial views.
  3. Tools for building free account-based watchlists that sync across web and mobile apps with customizable price and news alerts.
  4. Tracking events with calendars for U.S. economic releases, corporate earnings, IPOs, and options-expiration dates.
  5. BigCharts supports multiple timeframes and technical overlays.
N26 logo

What N26 does best

  1. Stock and ETF trading inside the N26 mobile app where eligible, with transaction pricing and plan allowances per country.
  2. Fractional investing from as little as 1 euro, including recurring investment plans on supported schedules.
  3. Automated investment plans run weekly, bi-weekly, monthly, or quarterly for eligible stocks and ETFs.
  4. More than 5,000 stocks, ETFs, and ETCs on the current Spain product page.
  5. Ready-made BlackRock funds in Mindful, Balanced, and Ambitious profiles where fund investing is available.

Side by side

Pricing & plans
Starting price
Free • Paid plans available
Transaction-priced · Fees vary by offer and jurisdiction
Free tier
Yes
No
Free trial
—
—
Platforms & access
Web app
Yes
No
Mobile app
Yes
Yes
API access
No
No
Broker sync
No
No
Integrations
—
Upvest Securities GmbH and Bitpanda Asset Management GmbH
Coverage & data
Asset types
StocksETFsMutual FundsOptionsFuturesCommoditiesCurrenciesCryptos+1 more
StocksETFsCryptos
Data freshness
Real-time15-min DelayedEnd of Day
Not specified
Data granularity
MinuteEOD
Not specified
Export formats
CSV
Not specified

Pricing comparison

Free plan
Free
Free“Standard (Spain)”
Entry paid plan
Subscription“MarketWatch Digital”
€4.90/mo“Smart (Spain)”
Tier 2
Subscription“Student”
€9.90/mo“Go (Spain)”
Top plan
—
€16.90/mo“Metal (Spain)”

See for yourself

Side by side

Price, platforms, data, and market coverage.
Show
Side-by-side comparison of MarketWatch and N26
Attribute
MarketWatch logo
MarketWatch
N26 logo
N26
Pricing & plans
Starting price
Free • Paid plans availableTransaction-priced · Fees vary by offer and jurisdiction
Free tier
YesNo
Free trial
——
Plan limits
MarketWatch Digital: standard rate: $5/week after intro period and Student: eligibility: Student verification required; current price not publicly confirmed5 limits: Standard (Spain): stock etf etc trade fee eur: 0.9, Smart (Spain): stock etf etc trade fee eur: 0.9 +3 more
Platforms & access
Web app
YesNo
Mobile app
YesYes
API access
NoNo
Broker sync
NoNo
Integrations
—Upvest Securities GmbH and Bitpanda Asset Management GmbH
Audience & fit
Experience level
Beginner, Intermediate, AdvancedBeginner, Intermediate, Advanced
Best for
——
Categories covered
173
Regions
North America, Europe, APAC, LatAm, Middle East, AfricaEurope
Data & capabilities
Data quality
5 signals: Latency: Real-time, 15-min Delayed, and End of Day, Granularity: Minute and EOD +3 moreTimezone: Europe/Berlin
Capabilities
Yield curves—
Try itVisit MarketWatchVisit N26

Standout features

The best features of MarketWatch and N26.
Show
MarketWatch logo

What MarketWatch does best

  1. Read market news and analysis covering equities, funds, options, futures, commodities, currencies, crypto, and rates.
  2. Quote pages, multi-quote lookup, stock and market screeners, mutual-fund research, ETF pages, fund comparisons, and basic company financial views.
  3. Tools for building free account-based watchlists that sync across web and mobile apps with customizable price and news alerts.
  4. Tracking events with calendars for U.S. economic releases, corporate earnings, IPOs, and options-expiration dates.
  5. BigCharts supports multiple timeframes and technical overlays.
N26 logo

What N26 does best

  1. Stock and ETF trading inside the N26 mobile app where eligible, with transaction pricing and plan allowances per country.
  2. Fractional investing from as little as 1 euro, including recurring investment plans on supported schedules.
  3. Automated investment plans run weekly, bi-weekly, monthly, or quarterly for eligible stocks and ETFs.
  4. More than 5,000 stocks, ETFs, and ETCs on the current Spain product page.
  5. Ready-made BlackRock funds in Mindful, Balanced, and Ambitious profiles where fund investing is available.

All details

Every attribute we track for MarketWatch and N26.
Show
Attribute
MarketWatch logo
MarketWatch
N26 logo
N26
Coverage & fit
Asset types
StocksETFsMutual FundsOptionsFuturesCommoditiesCurrenciesCryptos+1 more
StocksETFsCryptos
Experience
BeginnerIntermediateAdvanced
BeginnerIntermediateAdvanced
Regions
North AmericaEuropeAPACLatAmMiddle EastAfrica
Europe
Coverage details
Identifiers: Ticker
18 countriesIdentifiers: ISIN and Ticker
Data
Data freshness
Real-time15-min DelayedEnd of Day
Not specified
Data granularity
MinuteEOD
Not specified
Access & integrations
Integrations
Not specified
Upvest Securities GmbHBitpanda Asset Management GmbH
Export formats
CSV
Not specified
Plans & trust
Capability signals
Yield curves
Not specified
Vendor & support
MarketWatch, Inc. (Dow Jones)Country: United StatesFounded 1997Support: Email
N26 SECountry: GermanyFounded 2013Support: Email and Chat
Curation ratings
Methodology 3/5Reliability 4/5UX 4/5
Methodology 4/5Reliability 4/5UX 4/5

Green tags are exclusive to that tool in this comparison.

Pricing

Plans, billing, free trials, and monthly prices.
Show
Plan-by-plan pricing comparison of MarketWatch and N26
Tier
MarketWatch logo
MarketWatch
N26 logo
N26
Free plan
Free
Free“Standard (Spain)”stock etf etc trade fee eur: 0.9
Entry paid plan
Subscription“MarketWatch Digital”standard rate: $5/week after intro period
€4.90/mo“Smart (Spain)”stock etf etc trade fee eur: 0.9 · spaces: 10
Tier 2
Subscription“Student”eligibility: Student verification required; current price not publicly confirmed
€9.90/mo“Go (Spain)”free trades per month: 3
Top plan—
€16.90/mo“Metal (Spain)”free trades per month: 10

Questions we keep getting

What's the difference between MarketWatch and N26?

MarketWatch leans toward news, alerts, and calendar, while N26 puts more weight on brokerage, wealth management, and watchlist. They overlap in 1 categories, so for most people it comes down to workflow preference and price.

Is MarketWatch or N26 free to use?

MarketWatch has a free tier, so you can get started without paying anything. N26 is paid-only. If budget matters, start with MarketWatch and see how far it takes you before opening your wallet.

Should I choose MarketWatch or N26?

It depends on what you're after. Pick MarketWatch if news and alerts matter to you; go with N26 if you'd rather have brokerage and wealth management. And if you only need the basics both share, let price decide.

What asset classes do MarketWatch and N26 cover?

Both cover stocks, ETFs, and cryptos. MarketWatch also handles mutual funds, options, and futures.

Does MarketWatch or N26 have real-time data?

MarketWatch offers real-time data, which matters if you trade actively. N26 runs on delayed or end-of-day data, which is perfectly fine for longer-term investors who don't live and die by the tick.

Can I export data from MarketWatch and N26?

MarketWatch exports to CSV. N26 is stingier about getting data out.

Which has a better stock screener: MarketWatch or N26?

MarketWatch has a stock screener for surfacing ideas; N26 doesn't, and focuses its energy elsewhere.

Feedback

Spot stale pricing, missing features, or a comparison that feels off? Send feedback on the verdict, table, alternatives, or recommendation.

Curation & Accuracy

This directory blends AI‑assisted discovery with human curation. Entries are reviewed, edited, and organized with the goal of expanding coverage and sharpening quality over time. Your feedback helps steer improvements (because no single human can capture everything all at once).

Details change. Pricing, features, and availability may be incomplete or out of date. Treat listings as a starting point and verify on the provider’s site before making decisions. If you spot an error or a gap, send a quick note and I’ll adjust.