BEST INVESTING TOOLS COMPARISON

Checking

Checked Aug 23 to Sep 24, 2026

Tool Comparison

Robinhood vs The Motley Fool

Paid from
—
Free plan
No
Platforms
Mobile, Web

Best if

  • You want brokerage, options, and wealth management.
Paid from
$199/yr, billed annually
Free plan
Yes
Platforms
Web, Mobile

Best if

  • You'd rather start free and only pay if you outgrow it
  • You want stock ideas, watchlist, and news.

Pick Robinhood if

Robinhood logo

Robinhood

robinhood.com

Transaction-priced · Fees vary by offer and jurisdiction · Mobile · Web

  • You want brokerage, options, and wealth management.

Pick The Motley Fool if

The Motley Fool logo

The Motley Fool

fool.com

Free • From $199/yr, billed annually · Web · Mobile

  • You'd rather start free and only pay if you outgrow it
  • You want stock ideas, watchlist, and news.

Skip both if: Neither one clicks with how you research; there are strong third options.

See alternatives

Outbound links may include affiliate or sponsor codes.

Not set on either one? See the top 50 tools, ranked by user votes, or the deals page for big discounts on popular tools.

Our take

The bottom line

The Motley Fool simply does more: 8 categories to Robinhood's 4, including stock ideas, watchlist, and news. Robinhood counters by keeping things simpler. On paper they're closely matched, so let pricing, platform fit, and the details below break the tie.

What readers say

Robinhood

No votes yet. Cast the first one.

The Motley Fool

No votes yet. Cast the first one.

Key differences at a glance

Free plan
The Motley Fool
Free trial
Robinhood30 days
Broader coverage
The Motley Fool8 vs 4 categories
Asset coverage
RobinhoodAdds closed-end funds and options
See the full side-by-side table
Robinhood logo

What Robinhood does best

  1. Trading access for U.S. listed and OTC securities, including ETFs and closed-end funds, with $0 self-directed commissions where regulatory and other pass-through fees may still apply.
  2. Trading access for listed options after approval, with index options contract fees discounted for Robinhood Gold users.
  3. Robinhood Gold includes higher Instant Deposit limits, a preferred IRA match, the first $1,000 of margin borrowing, and discounted derivatives fees.
  4. Gold members can enroll eligible taxable accounts in the High-Yield Cash Program.
  5. Trading access for crypto through Robinhood Crypto, with costs depending on routing model, Smart Exchange Routing fees, network fees, and staking commissions where applicable.
The Motley Fool logo

What The Motley Fool does best

  1. Reading access to free investing articles, market news, educational content, podcasts, and market snapshots on Fool.com.
  2. Stock Advisor for two new stock recommendations per month at $199/year for the annual plan.
  3. Upgrade to Epic for broader access including Rule Breakers, Dividend Investor, Hidden Gems, FoolIQ/GamePlan, AI-powered tools, and 7 monthly recommendations.
  4. Epic Plus for more recommendation volume, including 8+ monthly stock recommendations and daily Moneyball recommendations.
  5. Fool Portfolios and Fool One for real-money portfolio access, specialized research and events.

Side by side

Pricing & plans
Starting price
Transaction-priced · Fees vary by offer and jurisdiction
Free • From $199/yr, billed annually
Free tier
No
Yes
Free trial
30 days
—
Platforms & access
Web app
Yes
Yes
Mobile app
Yes
Yes
API access
No
No
Broker sync
—
No
Integrations
EDX Markets and Bitstamp USA
—
Coverage & data
Asset types
StocksETFsClosed-End FundsOptionsFuturesCryptos
StocksETFs
Target audience
Retail TradersPro Retail
Not specified

Pricing comparison

Free plan
Free“Standard (Self-directed brokerage)”
Free
Entry paid plan
$50/yrBilled annually≈ $4.17/mo“Robinhood Gold (Annual)”
$199/yrBilled annually≈ $16.58/mo“Stock Advisor annual”
Tier 2
$5/moBilled monthly“Robinhood Gold (Monthly)”
$499/yrBilled annually≈ $41.58/mo“Epic annual”
Tier 3
—
$1999/yrBilled annually≈ $166.58/mo“Epic Plus annual”
Tier 4
—
$3999/yrBilled annually≈ $333.25/mo“Fool Portfolios annual”
Top plan
—
$13999/yrBilled annually≈ $1166.58/mo“Fool One”
Free trial
30 days
—

See for yourself

Side by side

Price, platforms, data, and market coverage.
Show
Side-by-side comparison of Robinhood and The Motley Fool
Attribute
Robinhood logo
Robinhood
The Motley Fool logo
The Motley Fool
Pricing & plans
Starting price
Transaction-priced · Fees vary by offer and jurisdictionFree • From $199/yr, billed annually
Free tier
NoYes
Free trial
30 days—
Plan limits
5 limits: Standard (Self-directed brokerage): index options contract fee: $0.50 per contract (non-Gold), Robinhood Gold (Monthly): interest free margin borrowing: $1,000 +3 more—
Platforms & access
Web app
YesYes
Mobile app
YesYes
API access
NoNo
Broker sync
—No
Integrations
EDX Markets and Bitstamp USA—
Audience & fit
Experience level
Beginner, Intermediate, AdvancedBeginner, Intermediate, Advanced
Best for
Retail Traders and Pro Retail—
Categories covered
48
Regions
North America—
Data & capabilities
Data partners
EDX Markets, Inc. and Bitstamp USA, Inc.—
Capabilities
AI summaries: News—
Security
Status page—
Try itVisit RobinhoodVisit The Motley Fool

Standout features

The best features of Robinhood and The Motley Fool.
Show
Robinhood logo

What Robinhood does best

  1. Trading access for U.S. listed and OTC securities, including ETFs and closed-end funds, with $0 self-directed commissions where regulatory and other pass-through fees may still apply.
  2. Trading access for listed options after approval, with index options contract fees discounted for Robinhood Gold users.
  3. Robinhood Gold includes higher Instant Deposit limits, a preferred IRA match, the first $1,000 of margin borrowing, and discounted derivatives fees.
  4. Gold members can enroll eligible taxable accounts in the High-Yield Cash Program.
  5. Trading access for crypto through Robinhood Crypto, with costs depending on routing model, Smart Exchange Routing fees, network fees, and staking commissions where applicable.
The Motley Fool logo

What The Motley Fool does best

  1. Reading access to free investing articles, market news, educational content, podcasts, and market snapshots on Fool.com.
  2. Stock Advisor for two new stock recommendations per month at $199/year for the annual plan.
  3. Upgrade to Epic for broader access including Rule Breakers, Dividend Investor, Hidden Gems, FoolIQ/GamePlan, AI-powered tools, and 7 monthly recommendations.
  4. Epic Plus for more recommendation volume, including 8+ monthly stock recommendations and daily Moneyball recommendations.
  5. Fool Portfolios and Fool One for real-money portfolio access, specialized research and events.

All details

Every attribute we track for Robinhood and The Motley Fool.
Show
Attribute
Robinhood logo
Robinhood
The Motley Fool logo
The Motley Fool
Coverage & fit
Asset types
StocksETFsClosed-End FundsOptionsFuturesCryptos
StocksETFs
Experience
BeginnerIntermediateAdvanced
BeginnerIntermediateAdvanced
Target audience
Retail TradersPro Retail
Not specified
Regions
North America
Not specified
Coverage details
Identifiers: Ticker
Identifiers: Ticker
Data
Data partners
EDX Markets, Inc.Bitstamp USA, Inc.
Not specified
Access & integrations
Import methods
Not specified
Manual
Integrations
EDX MarketsBitstamp USA
Not specified
Plans & trust
Security & compliance
Status page
Not specified
Capability signals
AI summaries: News
Not specified
Vendor & support
Robinhood Markets, Inc.Country: United States
The Motley Fool, LLCCountry: USFounded 1993Support: Phone
Curation ratings
Not specified
Methodology 3/5Reliability 4/5UX 4/5

Green tags are exclusive to that tool in this comparison.

Pricing

Plans, billing, free trials, and monthly prices.
Show
Plan-by-plan pricing comparison of Robinhood and The Motley Fool
Tier
Robinhood logo
Robinhood
The Motley Fool logo
The Motley Fool
Free plan
Free“Standard (Self-directed brokerage)”index options contract fee: $0.50 per contract (non-Gold)
Free
Entry paid plan
$50/yrBilled annually≈ $4.17/mo“Robinhood Gold (Annual)”interest free margin borrowing: $1,000 · index options contract fee: $0.35 per contract (Gold)
$199/yrBilled annually≈ $16.58/mo“Stock Advisor annual”
Tier 2
$5/moBilled monthly“Robinhood Gold (Monthly)”interest free margin borrowing: $1,000 · index options contract fee: $0.35 per contract (Gold)
$499/yrBilled annually≈ $41.58/mo“Epic annual”
Tier 3—
$1999/yrBilled annually≈ $166.58/mo“Epic Plus annual”
Tier 4—
$3999/yrBilled annually≈ $333.25/mo“Fool Portfolios annual”
Top plan—
$13999/yrBilled annually≈ $1166.58/mo“Fool One”
Free trial30 days—

Questions we keep getting

What's the difference between Robinhood and The Motley Fool?

Robinhood leans toward brokerage, portfolio, and options, while The Motley Fool puts more weight on stock ideas, portfolio, and watchlist. They overlap in 1 categories, so for most people it comes down to workflow preference and price.

Is Robinhood or The Motley Fool free to use?

The Motley Fool has a free tier, so you can get started without paying anything. Robinhood is paid-only. If budget matters, start with The Motley Fool and see how far it takes you before opening your wallet.

Should I choose Robinhood or The Motley Fool?

It depends on what you're after. Pick Robinhood if brokerage and options matter to you; go with The Motley Fool if you'd rather have stock ideas and watchlist. And if you only need the basics both share, let price decide.

What asset classes do Robinhood and The Motley Fool cover?

Both cover stocks and ETFs. Robinhood also handles closed-end funds, options, and futures.

Can I track my portfolio with Robinhood or The Motley Fool?

Yes, both do portfolio tracking: holdings, performance, and allocation in one place.

Feedback

Spot stale pricing, missing features, or a comparison that feels off? Send feedback on the verdict, table, alternatives, or recommendation.

Curation & Accuracy

This directory blends AI‑assisted discovery with human curation. Entries are reviewed, edited, and organized with the goal of expanding coverage and sharpening quality over time. Your feedback helps steer improvements (because no single human can capture everything all at once).

Details change. Pricing, features, and availability may be incomplete or out of date. Treat listings as a starting point and verify on the provider’s site before making decisions. If you spot an error or a gap, send a quick note and I’ll adjust.