Tool Comparison
N26 vs SMARTBROKER+
- Paid from
- —
- Free plan
- No
- Platforms
- Mobile
Best if
- You want wealth management.
- Paid from
- —
- Free plan
- No
- Platforms
- Web, Mobile, API
Best if
- You want an API so you can script or automate things
- You want portfolio and downloadable tax reports.
Pick N26 if
N26
Transaction-priced · Fees vary by offer and jurisdiction · Mobile
- You want wealth management.
Pick SMARTBROKER+ if
SMARTBROKER+
Transaction-priced · Fees vary by offer and jurisdiction · Web · Mobile · API
- You want an API so you can script or automate things
- You want portfolio and downloadable tax reports.
Skip both if: Neither one clicks with how you research; there are strong third options.
See alternativesOther tools you might like
Outbound links may include affiliate or sponsor codes.
Not set on either one? See the top 50 tools, ranked by user votes, or the deals page for big discounts on popular tools.
Our take
The bottom line
N26 and SMARTBROKER+ cover a lot of the same ground (2 shared categories, brokerage and watchlist), so for the basics you won't go far wrong with either. N26 includes wealth management, and SMARTBROKER+ includes portfolio and downloadable tax reports.
What readers say
N26
No votes yet. Cast the first one.
SMARTBROKER+
No votes yet. Cast the first one.
Key differences at a glance
- Asset coverage
- SMARTBROKER+Adds mutual funds and bonds
- API access
- SMARTBROKER+
What N26 does best
- Stock and ETF trading inside the N26 mobile app where eligible, with transaction pricing and plan allowances per country.
- Fractional investing from as little as 1 euro, including recurring investment plans on supported schedules.
- Automated investment plans run weekly, bi-weekly, monthly, or quarterly for eligible stocks and ETFs.
- More than 5,000 stocks, ETFs, and ETCs on the current Spain product page.
- Ready-made BlackRock funds in Mindful, Balanced, and Ambitious profiles where fund investing is available.
What SMARTBROKER+ does best
- Stocks, ETFs, ETCs, funds, bonds and exchange-traded derivatives across German and international venues.
- Conditional €0 gettex execution from €500 and €1 execution below that threshold.
- Fee-free eligible stock, ETF, ETC, fund and crypto-ETP savings-plan execution from €1.
- Separate direct-crypto wallet for eligible German residents, priced at 0.90% plus venue adjustments.
- Free securities custody, settlement account and optional foreign-currency accounts.
Side by side
Pricing comparison
See for yourself
Side by side
Price, platforms, data, and market coverage.ShowHide
Side by side
| Attribute | ||
|---|---|---|
| Pricing & plans | ||
Starting price | Transaction-priced · Fees vary by offer and jurisdiction | Transaction-priced · Fees vary by offer and jurisdiction |
Free tier | No | No |
Free trial | — | — |
Plan limits | 5 limits: Standard (Spain): stock etf etc trade fee eur: 0.9, Smart (Spain): stock etf etc trade fee eur: 0.9 +3 more | Trading API access: vip fee waiver: VIP Active or higher from 45 qualifying trades per quarter |
| Platforms & access | ||
Web app | No | Yes |
Mobile app | Yes | Yes |
API access | No | Yes |
Broker sync | No | — |
Integrations | Upvest Securities GmbH and Bitpanda Asset Management GmbH | SMARTBROKER+ REST trading API |
| Audience & fit | ||
Experience level | Beginner, Intermediate, Advanced | Beginner, Intermediate, Advanced |
Best for | — | — |
Categories covered | 3 | 4 |
Regions | Europe | Europe |
| Data & capabilities | ||
Data quality | Timezone: Europe/Berlin | — |
| Try it | Visit N26 | Visit SMARTBROKER+ |
Standout features
The best features of N26 and SMARTBROKER+.ShowHide
Standout features
What N26 does best
- Stock and ETF trading inside the N26 mobile app where eligible, with transaction pricing and plan allowances per country.
- Fractional investing from as little as 1 euro, including recurring investment plans on supported schedules.
- Automated investment plans run weekly, bi-weekly, monthly, or quarterly for eligible stocks and ETFs.
- More than 5,000 stocks, ETFs, and ETCs on the current Spain product page.
- Ready-made BlackRock funds in Mindful, Balanced, and Ambitious profiles where fund investing is available.
What SMARTBROKER+ does best
- Stocks, ETFs, ETCs, funds, bonds and exchange-traded derivatives across German and international venues.
- Conditional €0 gettex execution from €500 and €1 execution below that threshold.
- Fee-free eligible stock, ETF, ETC, fund and crypto-ETP savings-plan execution from €1.
- Separate direct-crypto wallet for eligible German residents, priced at 0.90% plus venue adjustments.
- Free securities custody, settlement account and optional foreign-currency accounts.
All details
Every attribute we track for N26 and SMARTBROKER+.ShowHide
All details
| Attribute | ||
|---|---|---|
| Coverage & fit | ||
Asset types | StocksETFsCryptos | StocksETFsMutual FundsBondsCryptos |
Experience | BeginnerIntermediateAdvanced | BeginnerIntermediateAdvanced |
Regions | Europe | Europe |
Coverage details | 18 countriesIdentifiers: ISIN and Ticker | 9 countriesIdentifiers: Ticker and ISIN |
| Access & integrations | ||
Integrations | Upvest Securities GmbHBitpanda Asset Management GmbH | SMARTBROKER+ REST trading API |
Export formats | Not specified | CSVPDF |
| Plans & trust | ||
Vendor & support | N26 SECountry: GermanyFounded 2013Support: Email and Chat | Smartbroker AGCountry: GermanySupport: Phone and Email |
Curation ratings | Methodology 4/5Reliability 4/5UX 4/5 | Not specified |
Green tags are exclusive to that tool in this comparison.
Pricing
Plans, billing, free trials, and monthly prices.ShowHide
Pricing
| Tier | ||
|---|---|---|
| Free plan | Free“Standard (Spain)”stock etf etc trade fee eur: 0.9 | Free“Brokerage account” |
| Entry paid plan | €4.90/mo“Smart (Spain)”stock etf etc trade fee eur: 0.9 · spaces: 10 | — |
| Tier 2 | €9.90/mo“Go (Spain)”free trades per month: 3 | — |
| Top plan | €16.90/mo“Metal (Spain)”free trades per month: 10 | — |
Alternatives
Free alternatives
Questions we keep getting
What's the difference between N26 and SMARTBROKER+?
N26 leans toward brokerage, wealth management, and watchlist, while SMARTBROKER+ puts more weight on brokerage, portfolio, and watchlist. They overlap in 2 categories, so for most people it comes down to workflow preference and price.
How much do N26 and SMARTBROKER+ cost?
Neither has a free plan; you'll need a paid subscription for the full feature set of either. Check each tool's current plan details before buying.
Does N26 or SMARTBROKER+ have an API?
SMARTBROKER+ has an API for programmatic access and custom integrations. N26 doesn't, so you're working through its interface.
Should I choose N26 or SMARTBROKER+?
It depends on what you're after. Pick N26 if wealth management matter to you; go with SMARTBROKER+ if you'd rather have portfolio and downloadable tax reports. And if you only need the basics both share, let price decide.
What asset classes do N26 and SMARTBROKER+ cover?
Both cover stocks, ETFs, and cryptos. SMARTBROKER+ adds mutual funds and bonds on top.
Can I export data from N26 and SMARTBROKER+?
SMARTBROKER+ exports to CSV. N26 is stingier about getting data out.
Can I track my portfolio with N26 or SMARTBROKER+?
SMARTBROKER+ handles portfolio tracking. N26 is really a research tool; you'd track your portfolio elsewhere.
Feedback
Spot stale pricing, missing features, or a comparison that feels off? Send feedback on the verdict, table, alternatives, or recommendation.
Curation & Accuracy
This directory blends AI‑assisted discovery with human curation. Entries are reviewed, edited, and organized with the goal of expanding coverage and sharpening quality over time. Your feedback helps steer improvements (because no single human can capture everything all at once).
Details change. Pricing, features, and availability may be incomplete or out of date. Treat listings as a starting point and verify on the provider’s site before making decisions. If you spot an error or a gap, send a quick note and I’ll adjust.