BEST INVESTING TOOLS COMPARISON

Checking

Checked September 24, 2026

Tool Comparison

FT Markets (Markets data - Financial Times) vs PortfoliosLab

Paid from
—
Free plan
Yes
Platforms
Web, Mobile

Best if

  • You do a lot of your research from your phone
  • You want alerts, compounding calculator, and financials.
Paid from
$8.33/mo
Free plan
Yes
Platforms
Web, API

Best if

  • You want an API so you can script or automate things
  • You want backtesting, correlation, and risk metrics.
  • You're a long-term investor who cares more about fundamentals than headlines

Pick FT Markets (Markets data - Financial Times) if

FT Markets (Markets data - Financial Times) logo

FT Markets (Markets data - Financial Times)

markets.ft.comTested

Free • Paid plans available · Web · Mobile

  • You do a lot of your research from your phone
  • You want alerts, compounding calculator, and financials.

Pick PortfoliosLab if

PortfoliosLab logo

PortfoliosLab

portfolioslab.com

Free • From $100/yr · Web · API

  • You want an API so you can script or automate things
  • You want backtesting, correlation, and risk metrics.
  • You're a long-term investor who cares more about fundamentals than headlines

Skip both if: Neither one clicks with how you research; there are strong third options.

See alternatives

Other tools you might like

Outbound links may include affiliate or sponsor codes.

Not set on either one? See the top 50 tools, ranked by user votes, or the deals page for big discounts on popular tools.

Our take

The bottom line

FT Markets (Markets data - Financial Times) and PortfoliosLab cover a lot of the same ground (6 shared categories, including portfolio, watchlist, and screeners), so for the basics you won't go far wrong with either. PortfoliosLab simply does more: 17 categories to FT Markets (Markets data - Financial Times)'s 10, including backtesting, correlation, and risk metrics. FT Markets (Markets data - Financial Times) counters by being completely free.

What readers say

FT Markets (Markets data - Financial Times)

No votes yet. Cast the first one.

PortfoliosLab

No votes yet. Cast the first one.

Key differences at a glance

Mobile app
FT Markets (Markets data - Financial Times)
Broader coverage
PortfoliosLab17 vs 10 categories
API access
PortfoliosLab
Free plan
Both
See the full side-by-side table
FT Markets (Markets data - Financial Times) logo

What FT Markets (Markets data - Financial Times) does best

  1. Tracking global equities, ETFs, mutual funds, bonds, commodities, and currencies through FT market pages.
  2. Watchlists, portfolio tracking, alerts, equity screeners, fund screeners, and a compound growth calculator from the markets tools hub.
  3. Tools for building watchlists and manual portfolios with a free FT account, then connect instrument pages to related FT news.
  4. Email alerts for 52-week highs or lows, unusual trading volume, and moves through the 15-day moving average.
  5. World Markets and sector pages for interactive charts, overlays, and performance comparisons.
PortfoliosLab logo

What PortfoliosLab does best

  1. Backtest portfolios and single instruments with configurable rebalancing, benchmark comparisons, and longer historical windows on paid plans.
  2. Analysis of performance, drawdowns, volatility, VaR, CVaR, Sharpe, Sortino, Omega, Calmar, Martin, Treynor, and related risk-adjusted ratios.
  3. Comparison tools for stocks, ETFs, mutual funds, funds, crypto, and currency instruments across performance, risk, drawdown, and diversification views.
  4. Correlation, alpha and beta, factor, diversification, and optimization tools, including mean-variance, risk parity, HRP, and HERC.
  5. Screening for stocks, ETFs, and mutual funds with daily-recalculated filters, then export results where the selected plan allows it.

Side by side

Pricing & plans
Starting price
Free • Paid plans available
Free • From $100/yr
Free tier
Yes
Yes
Free trial
—
—
Platforms & access
Web app
Yes
Yes
Mobile app
Yes
No
API access
No
Yes
Broker sync
No
No
Integrations
—
MCP, ChatGPT +1 more
Coverage & data
Asset types
StocksETFsMutual FundsBondsCommoditiesCurrencies
StocksETFsMutual FundsFundsCryptosCurrencies
Target audience
Not specified
Retail TradersPro RetailInstitutional InvestorsLong-term InvestorsIndex/Passive InvestorsQuants/DevelopersAnalystsFinancial Advisors
Data freshness
15-min DelayedEnd of Day
End of Day
Data granularity
EOD
EOD

Pricing comparison

Free plan
Free“Free (Registered)”
Free
Entry paid plan
Subscription“FT Digital (Subscriber)”
$100/yr≈ $8.33/mo“Plus”
Tier 2
—
$250/yr≈ $20.83/mo“Pro”
Top plan
—
$900/yr≈ $75/mo“Max”

See for yourself

Side by side

Price, platforms, data, and market coverage.
Show
Side-by-side comparison of FT Markets (Markets data - Financial Times) and PortfoliosLab
Attribute
FT Markets (Markets data - Financial Times) logo
FT Markets (Markets data - Financial Times)
PortfoliosLab logo
PortfoliosLab
Pricing & plans
Starting price
Free • Paid plans availableFree • From $100/yr
Free tier
YesYes
Free trial
——
Plan limits
—25 limits: Free: watchlists: 1, Free: watchlist symbols: 100 +23 more
Platforms & access
Web app
YesYes
Mobile app
YesNo
API access
NoYes
Broker sync
NoNo
Integrations
—MCP, ChatGPT +1 more
Audience & fit
Experience level
Beginner, Intermediate, AdvancedBeginner, Intermediate, Advanced
Best for
—Retail Traders, Pro Retail +6 more
Categories covered
1017
Regions
North America, Europe, APAC, LatAm, Middle East, AfricaNorth America, Europe
Data & capabilities
Data quality
4 signals: Latency: 15-min Delayed and End of Day, Granularity: EOD +2 more3 signals: Latency: End of Day, Granularity: EOD +1 more
Capabilities
Universe builder6 signals: Factor exposure, VaR/ES +4 more
Try itVisit FT Markets (Markets data - Financial Times)Visit PortfoliosLab

Standout features

The best features of FT Markets (Markets data - Financial Times) and PortfoliosLab.
Show
FT Markets (Markets data - Financial Times) logo

What FT Markets (Markets data - Financial Times) does best

  1. Tracking global equities, ETFs, mutual funds, bonds, commodities, and currencies through FT market pages.
  2. Watchlists, portfolio tracking, alerts, equity screeners, fund screeners, and a compound growth calculator from the markets tools hub.
  3. Tools for building watchlists and manual portfolios with a free FT account, then connect instrument pages to related FT news.
  4. Email alerts for 52-week highs or lows, unusual trading volume, and moves through the 15-day moving average.
  5. World Markets and sector pages for interactive charts, overlays, and performance comparisons.
PortfoliosLab logo

What PortfoliosLab does best

  1. Backtest portfolios and single instruments with configurable rebalancing, benchmark comparisons, and longer historical windows on paid plans.
  2. Analysis of performance, drawdowns, volatility, VaR, CVaR, Sharpe, Sortino, Omega, Calmar, Martin, Treynor, and related risk-adjusted ratios.
  3. Comparison tools for stocks, ETFs, mutual funds, funds, crypto, and currency instruments across performance, risk, drawdown, and diversification views.
  4. Correlation, alpha and beta, factor, diversification, and optimization tools, including mean-variance, risk parity, HRP, and HERC.
  5. Screening for stocks, ETFs, and mutual funds with daily-recalculated filters, then export results where the selected plan allows it.

All details

Every attribute we track for FT Markets (Markets data - Financial Times) and PortfoliosLab.
Show
Attribute
FT Markets (Markets data - Financial Times) logo
FT Markets (Markets data - Financial Times)
PortfoliosLab logo
PortfoliosLab
Coverage & fit
Asset types
StocksETFsMutual FundsBondsCommoditiesCurrencies
StocksETFsMutual FundsFundsCryptosCurrencies
Experience
BeginnerIntermediateAdvanced
BeginnerIntermediateAdvanced
Target audience
Not specified
Retail TradersPro RetailInstitutional InvestorsLong-term InvestorsIndex/Passive InvestorsQuants/DevelopersAnalystsFinancial Advisors
Regions
North AmericaEuropeAPACLatAmMiddle EastAfrica
North AmericaEurope
Coverage details
Identifiers: Ticker
Countries: US and GBIdentifiers: Ticker
Data
Data freshness
15-min DelayedEnd of Day
End of Day
Data granularity
EOD
EOD
Access & integrations
API protocols
Not specified
REST
API auth & delivery
Not specified
Auth: NoneDocs
Import methods
Manual
ManualCSV
Integrations
Not specified
MCPChatGPTClaude
Plans & trust
Capability signals
Universe builder
Factor exposureVaR/ESPerformance attributionRebalancingPortfolio factor exposureCorrelation
Vendor & support
The Financial Times Ltd.Country: United KingdomSupport: Email
PortfoliosLab Analytics FZCOCountry: United Arab EmiratesSupport: Email
Curation ratings
Methodology 4/5Reliability 4/5UX 4/5
Not specified

Green tags are exclusive to that tool in this comparison.

Pricing

Plans, billing, free trials, and monthly prices.
Show
Plan-by-plan pricing comparison of FT Markets (Markets data - Financial Times) and PortfoliosLab
Tier
FT Markets (Markets data - Financial Times) logo
FT Markets (Markets data - Financial Times)Cheaper start
PortfoliosLab logo
PortfoliosLab
Free plan
Free“Free (Registered)”
Freewatchlists: 1 · watchlist symbols: 100 · +4 more
Entry paid plan
Subscription“FT Digital (Subscriber)”
$100/yr≈ $8.33/mo“Plus”watchlists: 5 · private portfolios: 5 · +4 more
Tier 2—
$250/yr≈ $20.83/mo“Pro”watchlists: 10 · private portfolios: Unlimited · +4 more
Top plan—
$900/yr≈ $75/mo“Max”watchlists: 10 · watchlist symbols: 2,000 · +5 more

Questions we keep getting

What's the difference between FT Markets (Markets data - Financial Times) and PortfoliosLab?

FT Markets (Markets data - Financial Times) leans toward portfolio, watchlist, and alerts, while PortfoliosLab puts more weight on portfolio, watchlist, and backtesting. They overlap in 6 categories, so for most people it comes down to workflow preference and price.

How much do FT Markets (Markets data - Financial Times) and PortfoliosLab cost?

Good news: both FT Markets (Markets data - Financial Times) and PortfoliosLab have free plans, so you can run them side by side and only pay if you hit a wall.

Can I use FT Markets (Markets data - Financial Times) or PortfoliosLab on my phone?

FT Markets (Markets data - Financial Times) lists a dedicated mobile app, so it travels better. PortfoliosLab doesn't list a dedicated mobile app; its documented access is web and API.

Does FT Markets (Markets data - Financial Times) or PortfoliosLab have an API?

PortfoliosLab has an API for programmatic access and custom integrations. FT Markets (Markets data - Financial Times) doesn't, so you're working through its interface.

Should I choose FT Markets (Markets data - Financial Times) or PortfoliosLab?

It depends on what you're after. Pick FT Markets (Markets data - Financial Times) if alerts and compounding calculator matter to you; go with PortfoliosLab if you'd rather have backtesting and correlation. And if you only need the basics both share, let price decide.

What asset classes do FT Markets (Markets data - Financial Times) and PortfoliosLab cover?

Both cover stocks, ETFs, mutual funds, and currencies. FT Markets (Markets data - Financial Times) also handles bonds and commodities. PortfoliosLab adds funds and cryptos on top.

Which has a better stock screener: FT Markets (Markets data - Financial Times) or PortfoliosLab?

Both FT Markets (Markets data - Financial Times) and PortfoliosLab include stock screeners, and they differ more in interface than raw power; try both and see which one clicks for you.

Can I track my portfolio with FT Markets (Markets data - Financial Times) or PortfoliosLab?

Yes, both do portfolio tracking: holdings, performance, and allocation in one place.

Feedback

Spot stale pricing, missing features, or a comparison that feels off? Send feedback on the verdict, table, alternatives, or recommendation.

Curation & Accuracy

This directory blends AI‑assisted discovery with human curation. Entries are reviewed, edited, and organized with the goal of expanding coverage and sharpening quality over time. Your feedback helps steer improvements (because no single human can capture everything all at once).

Details change. Pricing, features, and availability may be incomplete or out of date. Treat listings as a starting point and verify on the provider’s site before making decisions. If you spot an error or a gap, send a quick note and I’ll adjust.