BEST INVESTING TOOLS COMPARISON

Checking

Checked Aug 23 to Sep 24, 2026

Tool Comparison

N26 vs Robinhood

Paid from
—
Free plan
No
Platforms
Mobile

Best if

  • You want watchlist.
Paid from
—
Free plan
No
Platforms
Mobile, Web

Best if

  • You want portfolio and options.

Pick N26 if

N26 logo

N26

n26.com

Transaction-priced · Fees vary by offer and jurisdiction · Mobile

  • You want watchlist.

Pick Robinhood if

Robinhood logo

Robinhood

robinhood.com

Transaction-priced · Fees vary by offer and jurisdiction · Mobile · Web

  • You want portfolio and options.

Skip both if: Neither one clicks with how you research; there are strong third options.

See alternatives

Outbound links may include affiliate or sponsor codes.

Not set on either one? See the top 50 tools, ranked by user votes, or the deals page for big discounts on popular tools.

Our take

The bottom line

N26 and Robinhood cover a lot of the same ground (2 shared categories, brokerage and wealth management), so for the basics you won't go far wrong with either. N26 includes watchlist, and Robinhood includes portfolio and options.

What readers say

N26

No votes yet. Cast the first one.

Robinhood

No votes yet. Cast the first one.

Key differences at a glance

Global coverage
N26
Free trial
Robinhood30 days
Asset coverage
RobinhoodAdds closed-end funds and options
See the full side-by-side table
N26 logo

What N26 does best

  1. Stock and ETF trading inside the N26 mobile app where eligible, with transaction pricing and plan allowances per country.
  2. Fractional investing from as little as 1 euro, including recurring investment plans on supported schedules.
  3. Automated investment plans run weekly, bi-weekly, monthly, or quarterly for eligible stocks and ETFs.
  4. More than 5,000 stocks, ETFs, and ETCs on the current Spain product page.
  5. Ready-made BlackRock funds in Mindful, Balanced, and Ambitious profiles where fund investing is available.
Robinhood logo

What Robinhood does best

  1. Trading access for U.S. listed and OTC securities, including ETFs and closed-end funds, with $0 self-directed commissions where regulatory and other pass-through fees may still apply.
  2. Trading access for listed options after approval, with index options contract fees discounted for Robinhood Gold users.
  3. Robinhood Gold includes higher Instant Deposit limits, a preferred IRA match, the first $1,000 of margin borrowing, and discounted derivatives fees.
  4. Gold members can enroll eligible taxable accounts in the High-Yield Cash Program.
  5. Trading access for crypto through Robinhood Crypto, with costs depending on routing model, Smart Exchange Routing fees, network fees, and staking commissions where applicable.

Side by side

Attribute
Pricing & plans
Starting price
Transaction-priced · Fees vary by offer and jurisdiction
Transaction-priced · Fees vary by offer and jurisdiction
Free tier
No
No
Free trial
—
30 days
Platforms & access
Web app
No
Yes
Mobile app
Yes
Yes
API access
No
No
Broker sync
No
—
Integrations
Upvest Securities GmbH and Bitpanda Asset Management GmbH
EDX Markets and Bitstamp USA
Coverage & data
Asset types
StocksETFsCryptos
StocksETFsClosed-End FundsOptionsFuturesCryptos
Target audience
Not specified
Retail TradersPro Retail

Pricing comparison

Free plan
Free“Standard (Spain)”
Free“Standard (Self-directed brokerage)”
Entry paid plan
€4.90/mo“Smart (Spain)”
$50/yr≈ $4.17/mo“Robinhood Gold (Annual)”
Tier 2
€9.90/mo“Go (Spain)”
$5/mo“Robinhood Gold (Monthly)”
Top plan
€16.90/mo“Metal (Spain)”
—
Free trial
—
30 days

See for yourself

Side by side

Price, platforms, data, and market coverage.
Show
Side-by-side comparison of N26 and Robinhood
Attribute
N26 logo
N26
Robinhood logo
Robinhood
Pricing & plans
Starting price
Transaction-priced · Fees vary by offer and jurisdictionTransaction-priced · Fees vary by offer and jurisdiction
Free tier
NoNo
Free trial
—30 days
Plan limits
5 limits: Standard (Spain): stock etf etc trade fee eur: 0.9, Smart (Spain): stock etf etc trade fee eur: 0.9 +3 more5 limits: Standard (Self-directed brokerage): index options contract fee: $0.50 per contract (non-Gold), Robinhood Gold (Monthly): interest free margin borrowing: $1,000 +3 more
Platforms & access
Web app
NoYes
Mobile app
YesYes
API access
NoNo
Broker sync
No—
Integrations
Upvest Securities GmbH and Bitpanda Asset Management GmbHEDX Markets and Bitstamp USA
Audience & fit
Experience level
Beginner, Intermediate, AdvancedBeginner, Intermediate, Advanced
Best for
—Retail Traders and Pro Retail
Categories covered
34
Regions
EuropeNorth America
Data & capabilities
Data quality
Timezone: Europe/Berlin—
Data partners
—EDX Markets, Inc. and Bitstamp USA, Inc.
Capabilities
—AI summaries: News
Security
—Status page
Try itVisit N26Visit Robinhood

Standout features

The best features of N26 and Robinhood.
Show
N26 logo

What N26 does best

  1. Stock and ETF trading inside the N26 mobile app where eligible, with transaction pricing and plan allowances per country.
  2. Fractional investing from as little as 1 euro, including recurring investment plans on supported schedules.
  3. Automated investment plans run weekly, bi-weekly, monthly, or quarterly for eligible stocks and ETFs.
  4. More than 5,000 stocks, ETFs, and ETCs on the current Spain product page.
  5. Ready-made BlackRock funds in Mindful, Balanced, and Ambitious profiles where fund investing is available.
Robinhood logo

What Robinhood does best

  1. Trading access for U.S. listed and OTC securities, including ETFs and closed-end funds, with $0 self-directed commissions where regulatory and other pass-through fees may still apply.
  2. Trading access for listed options after approval, with index options contract fees discounted for Robinhood Gold users.
  3. Robinhood Gold includes higher Instant Deposit limits, a preferred IRA match, the first $1,000 of margin borrowing, and discounted derivatives fees.
  4. Gold members can enroll eligible taxable accounts in the High-Yield Cash Program.
  5. Trading access for crypto through Robinhood Crypto, with costs depending on routing model, Smart Exchange Routing fees, network fees, and staking commissions where applicable.

All details

Every attribute we track for N26 and Robinhood.
Show
Attribute
N26 logo
N26
Robinhood logo
Robinhood
Coverage & fit
Asset types
StocksETFsCryptos
StocksETFsClosed-End FundsOptionsFuturesCryptos
Experience
BeginnerIntermediateAdvanced
BeginnerIntermediateAdvanced
Target audience
Not specified
Retail TradersPro Retail
Regions
Europe
North America
Coverage details
18 countriesIdentifiers: ISIN and Ticker
Identifiers: Ticker
Data
Data partners
Not specified
EDX Markets, Inc.Bitstamp USA, Inc.
Access & integrations
Integrations
Upvest Securities GmbHBitpanda Asset Management GmbH
EDX MarketsBitstamp USA
Plans & trust
Security & compliance
Not specified
Status page
Capability signals
Not specified
AI summaries: News
Vendor & support
N26 SECountry: GermanyFounded 2013Support: Email and Chat
Robinhood Markets, Inc.Country: United States
Curation ratings
Methodology 4/5Reliability 4/5UX 4/5
Not specified

Green tags are exclusive to that tool in this comparison.

Pricing

Plans, billing, free trials, and monthly prices.
Show
Plan-by-plan pricing comparison of N26 and Robinhood
Tier
N26 logo
N26
Robinhood logo
Robinhood
Free plan
Free“Standard (Spain)”stock etf etc trade fee eur: 0.9
Free“Standard (Self-directed brokerage)”index options contract fee: $0.50 per contract (non-Gold)
Entry paid plan
€4.90/mo“Smart (Spain)”stock etf etc trade fee eur: 0.9 · spaces: 10
$50/yr≈ $4.17/mo“Robinhood Gold (Annual)”interest free margin borrowing: $1,000 · index options contract fee: $0.35 per contract (Gold)
Tier 2
€9.90/mo“Go (Spain)”free trades per month: 3
$5/mo“Robinhood Gold (Monthly)”interest free margin borrowing: $1,000 · index options contract fee: $0.35 per contract (Gold)
Top plan
€16.90/mo“Metal (Spain)”free trades per month: 10
—
Free trial—30 days

Questions we keep getting

What's the difference between N26 and Robinhood?

N26 leans toward brokerage, wealth management, and watchlist, while Robinhood puts more weight on brokerage, portfolio, and options. They overlap in 2 categories, so for most people it comes down to workflow preference and price.

How much do N26 and Robinhood cost?

Neither has a free plan, but Robinhood offers a free trial. Compare the paid tiers against your required data coverage before committing.

Should I choose N26 or Robinhood?

It depends on what you're after. Pick N26 if watchlist matter to you; go with Robinhood if you'd rather have portfolio and options. And if you only need the basics both share, let price decide.

What asset classes do N26 and Robinhood cover?

Both cover stocks, ETFs, and cryptos. Robinhood adds closed-end funds, options, and futures on top.

Which covers international markets: N26 or Robinhood?

N26 has documented international coverage (Europe), so it's the safer bet if you hold non-US stocks. Robinhood is more region-specific, mainly North America.

Can I track my portfolio with N26 or Robinhood?

Robinhood handles portfolio tracking. N26 is really a research tool; you'd track your portfolio elsewhere.

Feedback

Spot stale pricing, missing features, or a comparison that feels off? Send feedback on the verdict, table, alternatives, or recommendation.

Curation & Accuracy

This directory blends AI‑assisted discovery with human curation. Entries are reviewed, edited, and organized with the goal of expanding coverage and sharpening quality over time. Your feedback helps steer improvements (because no single human can capture everything all at once).

Details change. Pricing, features, and availability may be incomplete or out of date. Treat listings as a starting point and verify on the provider’s site before making decisions. If you spot an error or a gap, send a quick note and I’ll adjust.