BEST INVESTING TOOLS COMPARISON

Checking

Checked Aug 23 to Sep 24, 2026

Tool Comparison

MarketWatch vs Robinhood

Paid from
—
Free plan
Yes
Platforms
Web, Mobile

Best if

  • You'd rather start free and only pay if you outgrow it
  • Delayed quotes won't cut it; you need real-time data
  • You want news, alerts, and calendar.
Paid from
—
Free plan
No
Platforms
Mobile, Web

Best if

  • You want brokerage, portfolio, and wealth management.

Pick MarketWatch if

MarketWatch logo

MarketWatch

marketwatch.comTested

Free • Paid plans available · Web · Mobile

  • You'd rather start free and only pay if you outgrow it
  • Delayed quotes won't cut it; you need real-time data
  • You want news, alerts, and calendar.

Pick Robinhood if

Robinhood logo

Robinhood

robinhood.com

Transaction-priced · Fees vary by offer and jurisdiction · Mobile · Web

  • You want brokerage, portfolio, and wealth management.

Skip both if: Neither one clicks with how you research; there are strong third options.

See alternatives

Outbound links may include affiliate or sponsor codes.

Not set on either one? See the top 50 tools, ranked by user votes, or the deals page for big discounts on popular tools.

Our take

The bottom line

MarketWatch simply does more: 17 categories to Robinhood's 4, including news, alerts, and calendar. Robinhood counters by keeping things simpler. On paper they're closely matched, so let pricing, platform fit, and the details below break the tie.

What readers say

MarketWatch

No votes yet. Cast the first one.

Robinhood

No votes yet. Cast the first one.

Key differences at a glance

Free plan
MarketWatch
Free trial
Robinhood30 days
Broader coverage
MarketWatch17 vs 4 categories
Real-time data
MarketWatch
Global coverage
MarketWatch
See the full side-by-side table
MarketWatch logo

What MarketWatch does best

  1. Read market news and analysis covering equities, funds, options, futures, commodities, currencies, crypto, and rates.
  2. Quote pages, multi-quote lookup, stock and market screeners, mutual-fund research, ETF pages, fund comparisons, and basic company financial views.
  3. Tools for building free account-based watchlists that sync across web and mobile apps with customizable price and news alerts.
  4. Tracking events with calendars for U.S. economic releases, corporate earnings, IPOs, and options-expiration dates.
  5. BigCharts supports multiple timeframes and technical overlays.
Robinhood logo

What Robinhood does best

  1. Trading access for U.S. listed and OTC securities, including ETFs and closed-end funds, with $0 self-directed commissions where regulatory and other pass-through fees may still apply.
  2. Trading access for listed options after approval, with index options contract fees discounted for Robinhood Gold users.
  3. Robinhood Gold includes higher Instant Deposit limits, a preferred IRA match, the first $1,000 of margin borrowing, and discounted derivatives fees.
  4. Gold members can enroll eligible taxable accounts in the High-Yield Cash Program.
  5. Trading access for crypto through Robinhood Crypto, with costs depending on routing model, Smart Exchange Routing fees, network fees, and staking commissions where applicable.

Side by side

Pricing & plans
Starting price
Free • Paid plans available
Transaction-priced · Fees vary by offer and jurisdiction
Free tier
Yes
No
Free trial
—
30 days
Platforms & access
Web app
Yes
Yes
Mobile app
Yes
Yes
API access
No
No
Broker sync
No
—
Integrations
—
EDX Markets and Bitstamp USA
Coverage & data
Asset types
StocksETFsMutual FundsOptionsFuturesCommoditiesCurrenciesCryptos+1 more
StocksETFsClosed-End FundsOptionsFuturesCryptos
Target audience
Not specified
Retail TradersPro Retail
Data freshness
Real-time15-min DelayedEnd of Day
Not specified
Data granularity
MinuteEOD
Not specified
Export formats
CSV
Not specified

Pricing comparison

Free plan
Free
Free“Standard (Self-directed brokerage)”
Entry paid plan
Subscription“MarketWatch Digital”
$50/yr≈ $4.17/mo“Robinhood Gold (Annual)”
Top plan
Subscription“Student”
$5/mo“Robinhood Gold (Monthly)”
Free trial
—
30 days

See for yourself

Side by side

Price, platforms, data, and market coverage.
Show
Side-by-side comparison of MarketWatch and Robinhood
Attribute
MarketWatch logo
MarketWatch
Robinhood logo
Robinhood
Pricing & plans
Starting price
Free • Paid plans availableTransaction-priced · Fees vary by offer and jurisdiction
Free tier
YesNo
Free trial
—30 days
Plan limits
MarketWatch Digital: standard rate: $5/week after intro period and Student: eligibility: Student verification required; current price not publicly confirmed5 limits: Standard (Self-directed brokerage): index options contract fee: $0.50 per contract (non-Gold), Robinhood Gold (Monthly): interest free margin borrowing: $1,000 +3 more
Platforms & access
Web app
YesYes
Mobile app
YesYes
API access
NoNo
Broker sync
No—
Integrations
—EDX Markets and Bitstamp USA
Audience & fit
Experience level
Beginner, Intermediate, AdvancedBeginner, Intermediate, Advanced
Best for
—Retail Traders and Pro Retail
Categories covered
174
Regions
North America, Europe, APAC, LatAm, Middle East, AfricaNorth America
Data & capabilities
Data quality
5 signals: Latency: Real-time, 15-min Delayed, and End of Day, Granularity: Minute and EOD +3 more—
Data partners
—EDX Markets, Inc. and Bitstamp USA, Inc.
Capabilities
Yield curvesAI summaries: News
Security
—Status page
Try itVisit MarketWatchVisit Robinhood

Standout features

The best features of MarketWatch and Robinhood.
Show
MarketWatch logo

What MarketWatch does best

  1. Read market news and analysis covering equities, funds, options, futures, commodities, currencies, crypto, and rates.
  2. Quote pages, multi-quote lookup, stock and market screeners, mutual-fund research, ETF pages, fund comparisons, and basic company financial views.
  3. Tools for building free account-based watchlists that sync across web and mobile apps with customizable price and news alerts.
  4. Tracking events with calendars for U.S. economic releases, corporate earnings, IPOs, and options-expiration dates.
  5. BigCharts supports multiple timeframes and technical overlays.
Robinhood logo

What Robinhood does best

  1. Trading access for U.S. listed and OTC securities, including ETFs and closed-end funds, with $0 self-directed commissions where regulatory and other pass-through fees may still apply.
  2. Trading access for listed options after approval, with index options contract fees discounted for Robinhood Gold users.
  3. Robinhood Gold includes higher Instant Deposit limits, a preferred IRA match, the first $1,000 of margin borrowing, and discounted derivatives fees.
  4. Gold members can enroll eligible taxable accounts in the High-Yield Cash Program.
  5. Trading access for crypto through Robinhood Crypto, with costs depending on routing model, Smart Exchange Routing fees, network fees, and staking commissions where applicable.

All details

Every attribute we track for MarketWatch and Robinhood.
Show
Attribute
MarketWatch logo
MarketWatch
Robinhood logo
Robinhood
Coverage & fit
Asset types
StocksETFsMutual FundsOptionsFuturesCommoditiesCurrenciesCryptos+1 more
StocksETFsClosed-End FundsOptionsFuturesCryptos
Experience
BeginnerIntermediateAdvanced
BeginnerIntermediateAdvanced
Target audience
Not specified
Retail TradersPro Retail
Regions
North AmericaEuropeAPACLatAmMiddle EastAfrica
North America
Coverage details
Identifiers: Ticker
Identifiers: Ticker
Data
Data freshness
Real-time15-min DelayedEnd of Day
Not specified
Data granularity
MinuteEOD
Not specified
Data partners
Not specified
EDX Markets, Inc.Bitstamp USA, Inc.
Access & integrations
Integrations
Not specified
EDX MarketsBitstamp USA
Export formats
CSV
Not specified
Plans & trust
Security & compliance
Not specified
Status page
Capability signals
Yield curves
AI summaries: News
Vendor & support
MarketWatch, Inc. (Dow Jones)Country: United StatesFounded 1997Support: Email
Robinhood Markets, Inc.Country: United States
Curation ratings
Methodology 3/5Reliability 4/5UX 4/5
Not specified

Green tags are exclusive to that tool in this comparison.

Pricing

Plans, billing, free trials, and monthly prices.
Show
Plan-by-plan pricing comparison of MarketWatch and Robinhood
Tier
MarketWatch logo
MarketWatch
Robinhood logo
Robinhood
Free plan
Free
Free“Standard (Self-directed brokerage)”index options contract fee: $0.50 per contract (non-Gold)
Entry paid plan
Subscription“MarketWatch Digital”standard rate: $5/week after intro period
$50/yr≈ $4.17/mo“Robinhood Gold (Annual)”interest free margin borrowing: $1,000 · index options contract fee: $0.35 per contract (Gold)
Top plan
Subscription“Student”eligibility: Student verification required; current price not publicly confirmed
$5/mo“Robinhood Gold (Monthly)”interest free margin borrowing: $1,000 · index options contract fee: $0.35 per contract (Gold)
Free trial—30 days

Questions we keep getting

What's the difference between MarketWatch and Robinhood?

MarketWatch leans toward news, alerts, and calendar, while Robinhood puts more weight on brokerage, portfolio, and options. They overlap in 1 categories, so for most people it comes down to workflow preference and price.

Is MarketWatch or Robinhood free to use?

MarketWatch has a free tier, so you can get started without paying anything. Robinhood is paid-only. If budget matters, start with MarketWatch and see how far it takes you before opening your wallet.

Should I choose MarketWatch or Robinhood?

It depends on what you're after. Pick MarketWatch if news and alerts matter to you; go with Robinhood if you'd rather have brokerage and portfolio. And if you only need the basics both share, let price decide.

What asset classes do MarketWatch and Robinhood cover?

Both cover stocks, ETFs, options, and futures. MarketWatch also handles mutual funds, commodities, and currencies. Robinhood adds closed-end funds on top.

Does MarketWatch or Robinhood have real-time data?

MarketWatch offers real-time data, which matters if you trade actively. Robinhood runs on delayed or end-of-day data, which is perfectly fine for longer-term investors who don't live and die by the tick.

Which covers international markets: MarketWatch or Robinhood?

MarketWatch has documented international coverage (North America, Europe, APAC, LatAm, and more), so it's the safer bet if you hold non-US stocks. Robinhood is more region-specific, mainly North America.

Can I export data from MarketWatch and Robinhood?

MarketWatch exports to CSV. Robinhood is stingier about getting data out.

Which has a better stock screener: MarketWatch or Robinhood?

MarketWatch has a stock screener for surfacing ideas; Robinhood doesn't, and focuses its energy elsewhere.

Can I track my portfolio with MarketWatch or Robinhood?

Robinhood handles portfolio tracking. MarketWatch is really a research tool; you'd track your portfolio elsewhere.

Feedback

Spot stale pricing, missing features, or a comparison that feels off? Send feedback on the verdict, table, alternatives, or recommendation.

Curation & Accuracy

This directory blends AI‑assisted discovery with human curation. Entries are reviewed, edited, and organized with the goal of expanding coverage and sharpening quality over time. Your feedback helps steer improvements (because no single human can capture everything all at once).

Details change. Pricing, features, and availability may be incomplete or out of date. Treat listings as a starting point and verify on the provider’s site before making decisions. If you spot an error or a gap, send a quick note and I’ll adjust.