Tool Comparison
Interactive Brokers (IBKR) vs Robinhood
- Paid from
- —
- Free plan
- No
- Platforms
- Web, Mobile, Desktop
Best if
- Delayed quotes won't cut it; you need real-time data
- You want an API so you can script or automate things
- You want advanced order types, smart/direct routing, and paper trading.
- Paid from
- —
- Free plan
- No
- Platforms
- Mobile, Web
Best if
- You want wealth management.
Start here
Interactive Brokers (IBKR)
Transaction-priced · Fees vary by offer and jurisdiction · Web · Mobile · Desktop
- Delayed quotes won't cut it; you need real-time data
- You want an API so you can script or automate things
- You want advanced order types, smart/direct routing, and paper trading.
Pick Robinhood instead if
Robinhood
Transaction-priced · Fees vary by offer and jurisdiction · Mobile · Web
- You want wealth management.
Skip both if: Neither one clicks with how you research; there are strong third options.
See alternativesOther tools you might like
Outbound links may include affiliate or sponsor codes.
Not set on either one? See the top 50 tools, ranked by user votes, or the deals page for big discounts on popular tools.
Our take
The bottom line
Interactive Brokers (IBKR) and Robinhood cover a lot of the same ground (3 shared categories, brokerage, options, and portfolio), so for the basics you won't go far wrong with either. Interactive Brokers (IBKR) simply does more: 14 categories to Robinhood's 4, including advanced order types, smart/direct routing, and paper trading. Robinhood counters by keeping things simpler.
What readers say
Interactive Brokers (IBKR)
No votes yet. Cast the first one.
Robinhood
No votes yet. Cast the first one.
Key differences at a glance
- Real-time data
- Interactive Brokers (IBKR)
- Free trial
- Robinhood30 days
- Broader coverage
- Interactive Brokers (IBKR)14 vs 4 categories
- Desktop app
- Interactive Brokers (IBKR)
- API access
- Interactive Brokers (IBKR)
- Global coverage
- Interactive Brokers (IBKR)
What Interactive Brokers (IBKR) does best
- Stocks, ETFs, options, futures, futures options, spot FX, bonds, mutual funds, commodities, structured products, CFDs, crypto-related products, and spot crypto where jurisdiction allows.
- Client Portal, Trader Workstation, IBKR Desktop, IBKR Mobile, GlobalTrader, paper trading, and API access cover different workflows.
- IB SmartRouting, advanced order types, conditional orders, bracket workflows, options combos, and algorithmic order tools across supported products.
- TWS API, Web API, REST, WebSocket streaming, FIX, and Flex Web Service support trading and reporting workflows.
- Paper trading with separate credentials and simulated buying power once a live account is approved.
What Robinhood does best
- Trading access for U.S. listed and OTC securities, including ETFs and closed-end funds, with $0 self-directed commissions where regulatory and other pass-through fees may still apply.
- Trading access for listed options after approval, with index options contract fees discounted for Robinhood Gold users.
- Robinhood Gold includes higher Instant Deposit limits, a preferred IRA match, the first $1,000 of margin borrowing, and discounted derivatives fees.
- Gold members can enroll eligible taxable accounts in the High-Yield Cash Program.
- Trading access for crypto through Robinhood Crypto, with costs depending on routing model, Smart Exchange Routing fees, network fees, and staking commissions where applicable.
Side by side
Pricing comparison
See for yourself
Side by side
Price, platforms, data, and market coverage.ShowHide
Side by side
| Attribute | ||
|---|---|---|
| Pricing & plans | ||
Starting price | Transaction-priced · Fees vary by offer and jurisdiction | Transaction-priced · Fees vary by offer and jurisdiction |
Free tier | No | No |
Free trial | — | 30 days |
Plan limits | 8 limits: UK / Europe Stocks and ETFs: commission: £3/€3 per Western European stock or ETF trade at typical trade sizes;..., US Stocks and ETFs - IBKR Pro: tiered commission: USD 0.0005 to USD 0.0035 per share +6 more | 5 limits: Standard (Self-directed brokerage): index options contract fee: $0.50 per contract (non-Gold), Robinhood Gold (Monthly): interest free margin borrowing: $1,000 +3 more |
| Platforms & access | ||
Web app | Yes | Yes |
Desktop app | Yes | No |
Mobile app | Yes | Yes |
API access | Yes | No |
Integrations | TradingView, Quicken +2 more | EDX Markets and Bitstamp USA |
| Audience & fit | ||
Experience level | Beginner, Intermediate, Advanced | Beginner, Intermediate, Advanced |
Best for | Retail Traders, Pro Retail +7 more | Retail Traders and Pro Retail |
Categories covered | 14 | 4 |
Regions | North America, Europe, APAC | North America |
| Data & capabilities | ||
Data quality | 3 signals: Latency: Streaming and Real-time, Granularity: Tick +1 more | — |
Data partners | — | EDX Markets, Inc. and Bitstamp USA, Inc. |
Capabilities | 7 signals: Multi-leg options, Greeks +5 more | AI summaries: News |
Security | Status page and Encryption in transit | Status page |
| Try it | Visit Interactive Brokers (IBKR) | Visit Robinhood |
Standout features
The best features of Interactive Brokers (IBKR) and Robinhood.ShowHide
Standout features
What Interactive Brokers (IBKR) does best
- Stocks, ETFs, options, futures, futures options, spot FX, bonds, mutual funds, commodities, structured products, CFDs, crypto-related products, and spot crypto where jurisdiction allows.
- Client Portal, Trader Workstation, IBKR Desktop, IBKR Mobile, GlobalTrader, paper trading, and API access cover different workflows.
- IB SmartRouting, advanced order types, conditional orders, bracket workflows, options combos, and algorithmic order tools across supported products.
- TWS API, Web API, REST, WebSocket streaming, FIX, and Flex Web Service support trading and reporting workflows.
- Paper trading with separate credentials and simulated buying power once a live account is approved.
What Robinhood does best
- Trading access for U.S. listed and OTC securities, including ETFs and closed-end funds, with $0 self-directed commissions where regulatory and other pass-through fees may still apply.
- Trading access for listed options after approval, with index options contract fees discounted for Robinhood Gold users.
- Robinhood Gold includes higher Instant Deposit limits, a preferred IRA match, the first $1,000 of margin borrowing, and discounted derivatives fees.
- Gold members can enroll eligible taxable accounts in the High-Yield Cash Program.
- Trading access for crypto through Robinhood Crypto, with costs depending on routing model, Smart Exchange Routing fees, network fees, and staking commissions where applicable.
All details
Every attribute we track for Interactive Brokers (IBKR) and Robinhood.ShowHide
All details
| Attribute | ||
|---|---|---|
| Coverage & fit | ||
Asset types | StocksETFsOptionsFuturesCurrenciesBondsMutual FundsCommodities+2 more | StocksETFsClosed-End FundsOptionsFuturesCryptos |
Experience | BeginnerIntermediateAdvanced | BeginnerIntermediateAdvanced |
Target audience | Retail TradersPro RetailInstitutional InvestorsDay TradersSwing TradersAlgo TradersLong-term InvestorsFinancial Advisors+1 more | Retail TradersPro Retail |
Regions | North AmericaEuropeAPAC | North America |
Coverage details | Identifiers: Ticker | Identifiers: Ticker |
| Data | ||
Data freshness | StreamingReal-time | Not specified |
Data granularity | Tick | Not specified |
Data partners | Not specified | EDX Markets, Inc.Bitstamp USA, Inc. |
| Access & integrations | ||
API protocols | RESTWebSocket | Not specified |
API auth & delivery | Auth: OAuth2SDKs: Python600 req/minDocs | Not specified |
Integrations | TradingViewQuickenTradelogCapTools | EDX MarketsBitstamp USA |
Export formats | PDFCSVXML | Not specified |
| Plans & trust | ||
Security & compliance | Status pageEncryption in transit | Status page |
Capability signals | Multi-leg optionsGreeksVaR/ESPerformance attributionPortfolio attributionRebalancingMulti-currency | AI summaries: News |
Vendor & support | Interactive Brokers (U.K.) LimitedCountry: United KingdomSupport: Chat and Phone | Robinhood Markets, Inc.Country: United States |
Green tags are exclusive to that tool in this comparison.
Pricing
Plans, billing, free trials, and monthly prices.ShowHide
Pricing
| Tier | ||
|---|---|---|
| Free plan | Free“Brokerage Account” | Free“Standard (Self-directed brokerage)”index options contract fee: $0.50 per contract (non-Gold) |
| Entry paid plan | — | $50/yr≈ $4.17/mo“Robinhood Gold (Annual)”interest free margin borrowing: $1,000 · index options contract fee: $0.35 per contract (Gold) |
| Top plan | — | $5/mo“Robinhood Gold (Monthly)”interest free margin borrowing: $1,000 · index options contract fee: $0.35 per contract (Gold) |
| Free trial | — | 30 days |
Questions we keep getting
What's the difference between Interactive Brokers (IBKR) and Robinhood?
Interactive Brokers (IBKR) leans toward brokerage, advanced order types, and smart/direct routing, while Robinhood puts more weight on brokerage, portfolio, and options. They overlap in 3 categories, so for most people it comes down to workflow preference and price.
How much do Interactive Brokers (IBKR) and Robinhood cost?
Neither has a free plan, but Robinhood offers a free trial. Compare the paid tiers against your required data coverage before committing.
Does Interactive Brokers (IBKR) or Robinhood have an API?
Interactive Brokers (IBKR) has an API for programmatic access and custom integrations. Robinhood doesn't, so you're working through its interface.
Should I choose Interactive Brokers (IBKR) or Robinhood?
It depends on what you're after. Pick Interactive Brokers (IBKR) if advanced order types and smart/direct routing matter to you; go with Robinhood if you'd rather have wealth management. And if you only need the basics both share, let price decide.
What asset classes do Interactive Brokers (IBKR) and Robinhood cover?
Both cover stocks, ETFs, options, and futures. Interactive Brokers (IBKR) also handles currencies, bonds, and mutual funds. Robinhood adds closed-end funds on top.
Does Interactive Brokers (IBKR) or Robinhood have real-time data?
Interactive Brokers (IBKR) offers real-time data, which matters if you trade actively. Robinhood runs on delayed or end-of-day data, which is perfectly fine for longer-term investors who don't live and die by the tick.
Which covers international markets: Interactive Brokers (IBKR) or Robinhood?
Interactive Brokers (IBKR) has documented international coverage (North America, Europe, and APAC), so it's the safer bet if you hold non-US stocks. Robinhood is more region-specific, mainly North America.
Can I export data from Interactive Brokers (IBKR) and Robinhood?
Interactive Brokers (IBKR) exports to CSV. Robinhood is stingier about getting data out.
Is Interactive Brokers (IBKR) or Robinhood better for day trading?
Interactive Brokers (IBKR) is the one positioned more for active traders. Robinhood is the better fit if you care less about fast trading workflows and more about a calmer research process.
Which has a better stock screener: Interactive Brokers (IBKR) or Robinhood?
Interactive Brokers (IBKR) has a stock screener for surfacing ideas; Robinhood doesn't, and focuses its energy elsewhere.
Can I track my portfolio with Interactive Brokers (IBKR) or Robinhood?
Yes, both do portfolio tracking: holdings, performance, and allocation in one place.
Feedback
Spot stale pricing, missing features, or a comparison that feels off? Send feedback on the verdict, table, alternatives, or recommendation.
Curation & Accuracy
This directory blends AI‑assisted discovery with human curation. Entries are reviewed, edited, and organized with the goal of expanding coverage and sharpening quality over time. Your feedback helps steer improvements (because no single human can capture everything all at once).
Details change. Pricing, features, and availability may be incomplete or out of date. Treat listings as a starting point and verify on the provider’s site before making decisions. If you spot an error or a gap, send a quick note and I’ll adjust.