VOL. XCIV, NO. 247
BEST INVESTING TOOLS COMPARISON
Tool details checked August 23, 2026
Tool Comparison
Koyfin vs Robinhood
Pick Koyfin if
Koyfin
Free • From $468/yr · Web · Mobile
- You'd rather start free and only pay if you outgrow it
- Delayed quotes won't cut it; you need real-time data
- You want screeners, ETF screeners, and data visualizations.
Pick Robinhood if
Robinhood
Transaction-priced · Fees vary by offer and jurisdiction · Mobile · Web
- You want brokerage, options, and wealth management.
Skip both if: Neither one clicks with how you research; there are strong third options.
See alternativesOutbound links may include affiliate or sponsor codes.
Our take
The bottom line
Koyfin simply does more: 20 categories to Robinhood's 4, including screeners, ETF screeners, and data visualizations. Robinhood counters by keeping things simpler. On paper they're closely matched, so let pricing, platform fit, and the details below break the tie.
What readers say
Koyfin
No votes yet. Cast the first one.
Robinhood
No votes yet. Cast the first one.
Key differences at a glance
- Free plan
- Koyfin
- Free trial
- Robinhood30 days
- Broader coverage
- Koyfin20 vs 4 categories
- Real-time data
- Koyfin
- Global coverage
- Koyfin
See for yourself
How they stack up
The side-by-side table: pricing, platforms, data, and coverage at a glance.ShowHide
How they stack up
The side-by-side table: pricing, platforms, data, and coverage at a glance.| Attribute | ||
|---|---|---|
| Pricing & plans | ||
Starting price | Free • From $468/yr | Transaction-priced · Fees vary by offer and jurisdiction |
Free tier | Yes | No |
Free trial | — | 30 days |
Plan limits | 24 limits: Free: watchlists: 2, Free: screens: 2 +22 more | 5 limits: Standard (Self-directed brokerage): index options contract fee: $0.50 per contract (non-Gold), Robinhood Gold (Monthly): interest free margin borrowing: $1,000 +3 more |
| Platforms & access | ||
Web app | Yes | Yes |
Mobile app | Yes | Yes |
API access | No | No |
Broker sync | Yes | — |
Integrations | Schwab, Altruist +6 more | EDX Markets and Bitstamp USA |
| Audience & fit | ||
Experience level | Beginner, Intermediate, Advanced | Beginner, Intermediate, Advanced |
Best for | Retail Traders, Pro Retail +6 more | Retail Traders and Pro Retail |
Categories covered | 20 | 4 |
Regions | North America, Europe, APAC, LatAm, Middle East, Africa | North America |
| Data & capabilities | ||
Data quality | Latency: Real-time, 15-min Delayed, and End of Day and Adjustments: TotalReturn | — |
Data partners | 6 partners: S&P Global Market Intelligence, Morningstar +4 more | EDX Markets, Inc. and Bitstamp USA, Inc. |
Capabilities | 7 signals: Universe builder, Broker sync +5 more | AI summaries: News |
Security | 4 signals: SOC2, Data residency: US +2 more | Status page |
| Try it | Visit Koyfin | Visit Robinhood |
Where each one shines
What Koyfin and Robinhood each do best.ShowHide
Where each one shines
What Koyfin and Robinhood each do best.What Koyfin does best
- Tools for building customizable dashboards, watchlists, charts, and market monitors across global equities, ETFs, funds, fixed income, FX, commodities, crypto, indices, and economics.
- Screening for more than 100,000 global securities with thousands of criteria, with stock and ETF screening on paid plans and mutual-fund screening in Advisor tiers.
- Advanced charts with technical indicators, fundamentals, valuation measures, analyst estimates, price targets, templates, sharing, and downloads where vendor licenses allow.
- Research coverage for companies with financial analysis pages, customizable financial templates, news, filings, transcripts, analyst data, short interest, and AI transcript summaries on paid plans.
- Tracking portfolios with grouping, notes, summary rows, alerts, custom data series, uploaded CSV price history, and mobile portfolio monitoring.
What Robinhood does best
- Trading access for U.S. listed and OTC securities, including ETFs and closed-end funds, with $0 self-directed commissions where regulatory and other pass-through fees may still apply.
- Trading access for listed options after approval, with index options contract fees discounted for Robinhood Gold users.
- Robinhood Gold includes higher Instant Deposit limits, a preferred IRA match, the first $1,000 of margin borrowing, and discounted derivatives fees.
- Gold members can enroll eligible taxable accounts in the High-Yield Cash Program and may qualify for the Gold Card and annual-plan mortgage offer.
- Trading access for crypto through Robinhood Crypto, with costs depending on routing model, Smart Exchange Routing fees, network fees, and staking commissions where applicable.
Every detail we compared
Every tracked attribute for Koyfin and Robinhood, side by side.ShowHide
Every detail we compared
Every tracked attribute for Koyfin and Robinhood, side by side.| Attribute | ||
|---|---|---|
| Coverage & fit | ||
Asset types | StocksETFsMutual FundsClosed-End FundsBondsCurrenciesCommoditiesFutures+1 more | StocksETFsClosed-End FundsOptionsFuturesCryptos |
Experience | BeginnerIntermediateAdvanced | BeginnerIntermediateAdvanced |
Target audience | Retail TradersPro RetailInstitutional InvestorsAnalystsAsset ManagersFinancial AdvisorsRIAs / Wealth FirmsStudents/Researchers | Retail TradersPro Retail |
Regions | North AmericaEuropeAPACLatAmMiddle EastAfrica | North America |
Coverage details | Identifiers: Ticker | Identifiers: Ticker |
| Data | ||
Data freshness | Real-time15-min DelayedEnd of Day | Not specified |
Data partners | S&P Global Market IntelligenceMorningstarFREDTrading EconomicsTrueFXPolygon.io | EDX Markets, Inc.Bitstamp USA, Inc. |
| Access & integrations | ||
Import methods | ManualCSVCustodian | Not specified |
Integrations | SchwabAltruistTradePMRInteractive BrokersBlack DiamondOrionFidelityAddepar | EDX MarketsBitstamp USA |
Export formats | CSVImagePDF | Not specified |
| Plans & trust | ||
Security & compliance | SOC2Data residency: USEncryption at restEncryption in transit | Status page |
Capability signals | Universe builderBroker syncYield curvesAI summaries: TranscriptsHouseholdingModel portfoliosClient reporting | AI summaries: News |
Vendor & support | Koyfin, Inc.Country: United StatesFounded 2016Support: Email | Robinhood Markets, Inc.Country: United States |
Green tags are exclusive to that tool in this comparison.
What you'll actually pay
Plans, billing, trials, and per-month pricing for both tools.ShowHide
What you'll actually pay
Plans, billing, trials, and per-month pricing for both tools.| Tier | ||
|---|---|---|
| Free plan | Freewatchlists: 2 · screens: 2 · +5 more | Free“Standard (Self-directed brokerage)”index options contract fee: $0.50 per contract (non-Gold) |
| Entry paid plan | $468/yr≈ $39/mo“Plus”financials years: 10 · estimates years: 10 · +5 more | $50/yr≈ $4.17/mo“Robinhood Gold (Annual)”interest free margin borrowing: $1,000 · index options contract fee: $0.35 per contract (Gold) |
| Tier 2 | $948/yr≈ $79/mo“Premium”alerts: 500 · custom securities: Unlimited | $5/mo“Robinhood Gold (Monthly)”interest free margin borrowing: $1,000 · index options contract fee: $0.35 per contract (Gold) |
| Tier 3 | $2508/yr≈ $209/mo“Advisor Core”alerts: 500 · reports per month: 10 · +2 more | — |
| Top plan | $3588/yr≈ $299/mo“Advisor Pro”alerts: 500 · reports per month: 200 · +2 more | — |
| Custom / enterprise | Contact sales“Teams” | — |
| Free trial | — | 30 days |
Questions we keep getting
What's the difference between Koyfin and Robinhood?
Koyfin leans toward screeners, ETF screeners, and data visualizations, while Robinhood puts more weight on brokerage, portfolio, and options. They overlap in 1 categories, so for most people it comes down to workflow preference and price.
Is Koyfin or Robinhood free to use?
Koyfin has a free tier, so you can get started without paying anything. Robinhood is paid-only. If budget matters, start with Koyfin and see how far it takes you before opening your wallet.
Should I choose Koyfin or Robinhood?
It depends on what you're after. Pick Koyfin if screeners and ETF screeners matter to you; go with Robinhood if you'd rather have brokerage and options. And if you only need the basics both share, let price decide.
What asset classes do Koyfin and Robinhood cover?
Both cover stocks, ETFs, closed-end funds, and futures. Koyfin also handles mutual funds, bonds, and currencies. Robinhood adds options on top.
Does Koyfin or Robinhood have real-time data?
Koyfin offers real-time data, which matters if you trade actively. Robinhood runs on delayed or end-of-day data, which is perfectly fine for longer-term investors who don't live and die by the tick.
Which covers international markets: Koyfin or Robinhood?
Koyfin has documented international coverage (North America, Europe, APAC, LatAm, and more), so it's the safer bet if you hold non-US stocks. Robinhood is more region-specific, mainly North America.
Can I export data from Koyfin and Robinhood?
Koyfin exports to CSV. Robinhood is stingier about getting data out.
Which has a better stock screener: Koyfin or Robinhood?
Koyfin has a stock screener for surfacing ideas; Robinhood doesn't, and focuses its energy elsewhere.
Can I track my portfolio with Koyfin or Robinhood?
Yes, both do portfolio tracking: holdings, performance, and allocation in one place.
Feedback
Spot stale pricing, missing features, or a comparison that feels off? Send feedback on the verdict, table, alternatives, or recommendation.
Curation & Accuracy
This directory blends AI‑assisted discovery with human curation. Entries are reviewed, edited, and organized with the goal of expanding coverage and sharpening quality over time. Your feedback helps steer improvements (because no single human can capture everything all at once).
Details change. Pricing, features, and availability may be incomplete or out of date. Treat listings as a starting point and verify on the provider’s site before making decisions. If you spot an error or a gap, send a quick note and I’ll adjust.